Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Honolulu Community College Library
Browse topics in these resources...
Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
This database features continuously updated viewpoints (pro/con arguments), topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
Issues & Controversies This link opens in a new window
This database presents extensive, objective, and comprehensive coverage of today's hot-button issues—a credible resource that provides current context for research papers, debate preparation, and persuasive writing assignments.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
In-depth reports on current and controversial issues, with overviews, outlooks, background information, pros and cons, bibliographies and more.
Picking Your Topic Is Research [Runtime 3:11]
Finding Background Information
Britannica Academic This link opens in a new window
High quality encyclopedia articles, videos, audios, with related Web links, magazines, newspapers/news feeds, atlas, statistics & biographical information.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Search across hundreds of reference ebooks. This collection includes 3 million entries from notable subject encyclopedias, handbooks, guides, companions and readers covering over 80 major subject disciplines and more than 6 million research concepts. Training Materials
Finding More Articles
Before you Google, begin your research with the library's resources. The selected databases below will help you locate credible full-text articles from magazines, journals, newspapers, and more.
Honolulu Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Find full text articles from the Honolulu's local newspapers, past and present.
US West Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Regional news content, as well as archives which stretch back to the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, and news sites in active full-text format.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This database is a leading resource for scholarly content and supports high-level research across thousands of full text journals, magazines, newspapers, and more.
874 Dillingham Boulevard, Honolulu, HI 96817
Email: email@example.com Web: http://honolulu.hawaii.edu/library