Research Guides: ECED 131 Early Child Development Theory : Books

Useful Keywords & Search Terms

Child Development Theorists
Development psychologist
Educational theorists
Attachment Theory AND Bowlby - (John Bowlby)
Cognitive Development AND Piaget - (Jean Piaget)
Ecological Systems AND Bronfenbrenner - (Urie Bronfenbrenner)
Hierarchy of Needs AND Maslow - (Abraham Maslow)
Sociocultural Theory AND Vygotsky - (Lev Vygotsky)

Reference Materials

E-books via Ebook Central

Ebook Central

The Academic Complete collection contains over 70,000 ebooks from 16 key subject areas. All ebooks are readable online from a single easy-to-use interface & download ebrary content onto various devices.

*If you access e-books from off-campus, you will need to login with you UH username and password.

Options include downloading a chapter, a range of pages or the full ebook. How-To Videos

E-books

Pioneers of Child Psychoanalysis by Marc Stephan Reubins (Editor); Beatriz Markman Reubins
This book describes the lives and theories of the pioneer child psychoanalysts who created the field of child psychoanalysis and contributed to the understanding of child development. It aims to expose emerging professionals in the field of psychoanalysis to theories of infant experiences.
Donald Winnicott and John Bowlby by Bruce Hauptmann; Judith Issroff (Editor); Christopher Reeves
A fascinating book that sets Bowlby and Winnicott in context and relation to one another to provide a new perspective on both, as well as providing a welcome testimony to their enduring legacy.
The Ecology of Human Development by Urie Bronfenbrenner
ISBN: 0674224574

This book offers an important blueprint for constructing such a new and ecologically valid psychology of development. The blueprint includes a complete conceptual framework for analysing the layers of the environment that have a formative influence on the child.
Attachment Theory and Research by Tommie Forslund (Editor); Robbie Duschinsky (Editor)
ISBN: 9781119657903

Attachment Theory and Research: A Reader presents a carefully curated selection of book chapters and journal articles on the subject--complemented by previously unpublished material by the founder of the theory. This valuable new resource provides practitioners, students, policymakers, and general readers an accessible and up-to-date view of the concepts, development, and diversity of attachment theory.

Library Search

Library Search
Discover Books, Articles, & More

Remember to sign in using your UH login if using library resources off-campus. Forgot username or password?

Physical Books - in the library

Theories of Childhood by Carol Garhart Mooney
Call Number: Circulating Collection (2nd floor) ; LB1139.23 .M64 2000

A look at the ideas of five educational theorists in relation to early childhood care. An easy-to-learn overview of the theorist opens each chapter. The author then distills the theorists' work to reveal how it relates to child care and children.
Psychology by Andrea Bonior
Call Number: Circulating Collection (2nd floor) ; BF81 .B64 2016

Bridging the gap between the theoretical and real-life, Bonior looks at the biggest names, ideas, and studies in the history of psychology and translates their meaning to everyday situations and relationships.
Tools of the Mind by Elena Bodrova; Deborah J. Leong
Call Number: Circulating Collection (2nd floor) ; LB1139.23 .B63 2007

This unique text provides in-depth information about major concepts and principles of the cultural-historical theory developed by Lev Vygotsky, his students and colleagues, as well as three generations of neo-Vygotskian scholars in Russia and in the West. Tools of the Mind enables teachers to arm young children with the mental tools necessary for learning