Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Honolulu Community College Library
Research Databases - ARTICLES
Before you Google, use a library subscription database. These databases will help you locate full text articles from magazines, journals, and newspapers.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Research across all subject areas from more than 9,000 full text journals; over 13,800 indexed & abstracted journals. Selected PDF content dating back as far as 1887. Updated daily.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive database covering information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods. This is the world's largest full text psychology database offering full text coverage for nearly 400 journals.
Science Direct This link opens in a new window
Selected full-text scholarly journal titles available from the following subject collections: business, management, accounting; earth/planetary sciences; health sciences; physics and astronomy; and agricultural and biological sciences.
Magazine vs. Journal...What's the difference?
|Its purpose is to
inform or entertain
|Its aim is to report on scholarly research
|Articles typically short in length
||Longer articles with in-depth analysis
|Written by a reporter,
journalist, or staff writer
|Written by a scholarly expert
or specialist (credentials provided)
|Articles are reviewed
by editorial staff
|Articles are peer-reviewed
& critically evaluated by scholars
|Little or no references are included as support
||Sources are always cited
in a formal bibliography
|Slick & attractive in appearance with advertisements & glossy photos
||Very structured format: abstract, methodology, literature review,
results, conclusion. No frills.
|Examples: Psychology Today, US News and World Report,
Examples: New England Journal of Medicine, Psychology Journal, Psychology, Crime & Law
Journals and Magazines [print & online]
Print magazine subscription in the library...
- Psychology Today - Founded in 1967, Psychology Today covers all aspects of human behavior and mental health, from the workings of the mind to the bonds between people and the larger cultural forces that drive our most intimate decisions.
The two most recent issues are on display in the library. Back issues are available by request at the Circulation Counter.
Other online titles of interest...
- Scientific American - Mind - Quarterly magazine focusing on the workings of the mind and brain. Topics covered include autism, depression, schizophrenia, neuroscience, perception, brain development, intelligence, psychology and more.
- ScienceDaily: Psychology News - View news, articles and videos about psychology - updated daily - subscribe to the RSS to find breaking news about any subject.
- e! Science News - Find the latest science news articles here...featured psychology news from universities, journals, and other organizations.
PsycPORT: Psychology Newswire
News from Social Psychology Network
874 Dillingham Boulevard, Honolulu, HI 96817
Email: firstname.lastname@example.org Web: http://honolulu.hawaii.edu/library