Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Honolulu Community College Library
Research Databases -- ARTICLES
Before you Google, try a library database!
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Research across all subject areas from more than 9,000 full text journals; over 13,800 indexed & abstracted journals. Selected PDF content dating back as far as 1887. Updated daily.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Archival journal collections include more than 2,000 journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. JSTOR offers 15 Arts & Sciences collections that span 60 disciplines, and the Life Science Collection comprises more than 160 journals in the field sciences, and broad coverage of the health sciences. [For calendar year 2022.]
History Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Full text from more than 1,620 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books, cover to cover full text for more than 150 leading history periodicals, nearly 57,000 historical documents, and more than 78,000 biographies of historical figures.
Each library database may provide varying options for searching its content. Here are some useful tips...
- Limit your searches to FULL TEXT articles. EBSCO & InfoTrac databases allow you to limit your searches to full text content...be sure to select the correct "check box."
- Start your research with KEYWORDS, then see what SUBJECT TERMS or DESCRIPTORS are actually assigned to specific articles. Many databases use a controlled vocabulary of subject terms when indexing an article. Look for these terms and write them down; redo your search with the subject terms and notice how refined your results have become. Keyword searches give you flexibility; subject term searches find results with greater relevance.
General History Websites
Center for Oral History, UH Manoa
COH preserves the recollections of Hawai‘i’s people through oral interviews and disseminates oral history transcripts to researchers, students, and the general community. COH also develops books, articles, catalogs, brochures, photo displays, and videotapes based on oral histories, serves as a resource center for oral history materials, and trains groups and individuals in oral history research.
The Greeks: Crucible of Civilization (PBS.org)
This site presents an introduction to ancient Greek history, culture, politics, art, and warfare. There is a detailed timeline covering 1200 B.C. to 337 B.C.
History information on events, people, and themes from the History Channel and A&E Television.
Life in Ancient Egypt
Courtesy of the Carnegie Museum of Natural History. Includes information on ancient Egypt's natural world, daily life, religion, funeral customs, and more.
The National Archives, UK
The National Archives is the UK government's official archive, containing over 1,000 years of history.
The Song Dynasty in China (960 - 1279)
Courtesy Columbia University. See also "Asia for Educators" http://afe.easia.columbia.edu/
Vatican Library Digitized Manuscripts
DigiVatLib is a digital library service. It provides free access to the Vatican Library’s digitized collections: manuscripts, incunabula, archival materials and inventories as well as graphic materials, coins and medals, printed materials (special projects).
874 Dillingham Boulevard, Honolulu, HI 96817
Email: firstname.lastname@example.org Web: http://honolulu.hawaii.edu/library