Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Honolulu Community College Library
Research Databases - Find Articles Here
Before you Google, try a library database!
Honolulu Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Full text access to Honolulu's local newspapers (past & present).
Honolulu Star-Advertiser: June 7, 2010 - present;
Honolulu Advertiser: November 30, 2002 - May 15, 2010;
Honolulu Star-Bulletin: March 18, 1996 - June 6, 2010.
US West Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Regional news content, as well as archives which stretch back to the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, and news sites in active full-text format. West Newsstream covers news sources from Alaska, California, Hawaii, Idaho, Nevada, Oregon, Utah, and Washington. Includes access to Hawaii newspapers: Honolulu Star-Advertiser, Honolulu Advertiser, and Honolulu Star-Bulletin; coverage varies for each title.
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
More than 1,200 full-text newspapers, providing more than 35 million full-text articles. In addition, the database features more than 857,000 television and radio news transcripts.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Research across all subject areas from more than 9,000 full text journals; over 13,800 indexed & abstracted journals. Selected PDF content dating back as far as 1887. Updated daily.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
An excellent source for original, comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues shaping our world. Reports cover topics in health, international affairs, education, public policy, the environment, and much more. Browse issues under Communication and the Mass Media -- Journalism and the News
Issues & Controversies This link opens in a new window
This database presents extensive, objective, and comprehensive coverage of today's hot-button issues—a credible resource that provides current context for research papers, debate preparation, and persuasive writing assignments.
Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
This database features continuously updated viewpoints (pro/con arguments), topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
American Journalism Review
American Journalism Review is a national magazine that covers all aspects of print, television, radio and online media.
American Press Institute
Founded by newspaper publishers in 1946, the American Press Institute is the oldest and largest center devoted solely to training and professional development for the news industry and journalism educators.
The Associated Press (“AP”) is the essential global news network, delivering fast, unbiased news from every corner of the world to all media platforms and formats. Founded in 1846, the AP today is one of the largest and most trusted sources of independent newsgathering.
Committee of Concerned Journalists
The Committee of Concerned Journalists is a consortium of journalists, publishers, owners and academics worried about the future of the profession.
Fairness & Accuracy in Reporting (FAIR)
FAIR, the national media watch group, has been offering well-documented criticism of media bias and censorship since 1986.
Honolulu Civil Beat
Hawaii's award-winning news source for in-depth journalism on politics, government, education, land, energy, finance & more.
Mic: Breaking News, Opinion, Reviews & Analysis
Mic is the leading digital news company, reporting on the most important issues and diverse perspectives that challenge conventional thinking and give voice to the underrepresented. Millennial focused news.
An online resource and training center for journalists in all media that has one simple goal: to help journalists do better work by building their skills and broadening their thinking.
The #1 video news brand in social media today. Millennial focused news.
Journalism & Media - Pew Research Center
Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping the world.
Reuters, the news and media division of Thomson Reuters, is one of the world’s largest international multimedia news providers, reaching more than one billion people every day. Reuters 2,600 journalists in nearly 200 locations around the globe deliver unparalleled international and national news coverage with speed, impartiality and insight.
Student Press Law Center
Devoted exclusively to educating high school and college journalists about the rights and responsibilities embodied in the First Amendment and supporting the student news media in their struggle to cover important issues free from censorship.
Today's Front Pages
The Today's Front Pages gallery gives visitors an up-close look at the day's news on over 1,000 newspaper front pages from every state, the District of Columbia and countries around the world.
874 Dillingham Boulevard, Honolulu, HI 96817
Email: email@example.com Web: http://honolulu.hawaii.edu/library