It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Hawaiian Literature Resources (HAW261 & HWST270): BOOKS: Hawaii
Literary and cultural resources & information. Includes myths, legends, tales, and more..
The sixty "heiau" photographed and described in this text are all located on on O'ahu, the island that has experienced by far the most development over the last 200 years. The images provide a compelling argument for the preservation of Hawaiian sacred places.
Readers both familiar and unfamiliar with Native Hawaiian traditions and practices will find much to reflect on as well as practical guidance and knowledge. The author draws on first-hand accounts from early Hawaiian historians, early explorers and missionaries, and nineteenth-century Hawaiian language publications.
The first major book in over a generation to present a rich sampling of the landmark work of Hawai'i's Center for Oral History, "Talking Hawai'i's Story" preserves Hawai'i's social and cultural history through the narratives of the people who lived it - co-workers, neighbors, family members, and friends.
This is the first fully documented account of the history of the Ukulele as an iconic element of Hawaiian culture. The work goes much beyond the usual ukulele as collectible approach and places the instrument in its social, political, and cultural contexts of Western Europe, Hawaii, and the US Mainland.
This text offers a sustained and detailed account of Hawaiian public art and architecture during the reign of David Kalakaua, the nativist and cosmopolitan ruler of the Hawaiian Kingdom from 1874 to 1891.
The word kua'aina translates literally as "back land" or "back country." However, in the context of the Native Hawaiian cultural renaissance of the late twentieth century, kua'aina came to refer to those who actively lived Hawaiian culture and kept the spirit of the land alive.
Substantive and provocative, this book makes a major contribution to the literature of precontact Hawaii and illuminates Hawaii’s importance in the global theory and literature about divine kingship, archaic states, and sociopolitical evolution.
Tracing the origins of the Hawaiians and other Polynesians back to the shores of the South China Sea, archaeologist Patrick Vinton Kirch follows their voyages of discovery across the Pacific in this fascinating history of Hawaiian culture from about one thousand years ago.
The Legends Index offers subject access to 77 publications of Hawaiian legends in English. The index was created by the Hawaiʻi State Public Library System, and the database and web pages were created and are maintained by the University of Hawaii at Manoa.
Volume one interprets specific Hawaiian words and phrases and was meant to "clarify distorted beliefs, suggest the rationale behind Hawaiian ritual, and convey some of the poetic imagery of ancient rites and their underlying concepts."
Volume two deals with broader concepts and relationships, including such topics as the child, man and woman, dreams and symbols, holiness and healing. It restates the theme of understanding more fully the influences of Hawaiian culture on life today.
Library and web resources for Hula and Mele!
Retired librarian Nadine Leong-Kurio put together this useful information guide.
"This is Martha Beckwith's monumental study of Hawaiian mythology. The book covers every significant theme in Hawaiian mythology, from the origin myths of the Hawaiian gods and goddesses, to more recent legends of star-crossed lovers." Check out a print copy ... CALL NUMBER: GR385 .B43 1976 Hawaii Pacific Collection
Wonderfully illustrated and written, AKUA HAWAI'I offers simple stories of creation, duty, love, and hope that provide not only a better understanding of the gods, but also demonstrate important lessons about life that still remain today.
AVAILABLE ONLINE AT Ulukau.org
"A rare find in ancient Hawaiian literature, a Hawaiian composition not only rich in its poetic power but an authentic source of information concerning pre-European Hawaiian religion, mythology, and way of life... Beckwith rightly compares it to the Greek creation chants and Genesis in the Bible."
This ancient saga begins with the goddess Pele's migration to Kilauea and her spirit's search for a lover. The story then details the quest of Pele's younger sister, Hi'iakaikapoliopele, to find the handsome Lohi'auipo, and bring him back to their crater home. It is a very human account of love and lust, jealousy and justice, peopled with deities, demons, chiefs and commoners. This version by Ho'oulumahie-hie ran from 1905 to 1906 as a daily series in the Hawaiian-language newspaper Ka Na'i Aupuni. It is the most extensive form of the story ever documented, offering a wealth of detail and insights about social and religious practices, poetry and hula, healing arts, and many other Hawaiian customs.
Mary Kawena Pukui stands alone in the history of Hawai'i for her unparalleled contributions to the preservation and revitalization of Hawaiian language and culture. This collection includes tales she first heard from her grandmother and mother when she was a child in Ka'u on the Big Island.
Rich selections includes stories of gods and creation, fairies and supernatural beings, cannibalism and human sacrifice, adultery and revenge, more. Also, expert commentary on stories and Polynesian culture.
Contents include: The princess of the rainbow. -- The fire-goddess. -- The seven great deeds of Maui. -- The menehune. -- The canoe of Laka or Rata and those who sailed in it. -- When the little blond shark went visiting. -- The boy Punia and the King of the Sharks. -- Owl and Rat and the Boy who was good at shooting arrows. -- The story of Moe Moe. -- Halemano and the Princess Kama, and MORE...
This book's mythological epic, perhaps more than any other, brings primal elements together, and its lyric power and drama are unsurpassed in traditional Hawaiian lore. Here are captured the poetry of Hawaiian places, the feel of the Hawaiian landscape—whose volcanic features are the handiwork of Pele herself—and the unique mood of old Hawaii.
Contents include: Hina, the Helen of Hawaii -- The royal hunchback -- The triple marriage of Laa-mai-kahiki -- The apotheosis of Pele -- Hua, king of Hana -- The iron knife -- The sacred spear-point -- Kelea, the surf-rider of Maui -- Umi, the peasant prince of Hawaii -- Lono and Kaikilani, and MORE...
About the Hawaiian Gods, select mythology (including the Kumulipo or creation chant), and many illustrated sacred symbols with explanations. In addition, it does have a few astrological references in the context of the presented mythology or history.
One of the great epics of Hawaiian mythology is the story of Pele, goddess of Hawai`i's volcanoes, and her youngest sister, Hi`iakaikapoliopele. This is a passionate story of love, healing, betrayal, and reconciliation, culminating in the reunion of parted lovers.
"In old Hawaii, man and gods and nature were very close, and the curtain between living and dead was woven of cobwebs...The stories that follow are testimony to that sensitivity of spirit so characteristic of the Hawaiian people."
A collection of stories that reveal the personal relationship between the ancient Hawaiian people and all aspects of nature. Includes notes that explain the historical, cultural, and natural context of the legends.
Stories of the volcano goddess Pele and her youngest sister Hiʻiaka are most familiar as a form of literary colonialism. But far from quaint tales for amusement, the Pele and Hiʻiaka literature published between the 1860s and 1930s carried coded political meaning for the Hawaiian people at a time of great upheaval. Voices of Fire recovers the lost and often-suppressed significance of this literature, restoring it to its primary place in Hawaiian culture.
The people and the deities. The land and the people ; The ways of the deities ; The gods and goddesses ; Pele ; Deified ancestral spirits -- Aspects of traditional Hawaiian culture and religion. Spiritual power ; Taboos ; Experts ; Shrines and temples ; Water ; Stone ; Color ; Plants ; Dance ; The menehune ; Ghosts and night marchers -- Magic and sorcery. Magic ; Prophecy and dreams ; Divination, spirtual possession, and omens ; Birth omens ; Contemporary survival of traditional Hawaiian spirituality.
A collection of 43 traditional or historical stories from the Pacific Islands, New Zealand, and Australia. Includes creation myths, myths of origin, adventures of gods and heroes, kings and queens, and much more.
Table of Contents: Introduction -- Creation and the cosmos -- Deities, themes, and concepts -- Annotated print sources -- Internet web sites.
In The Spotlight
"Arts and Crafts of Hawaii"
Chapters: 1. Food.--2. Houses.--3. Plaiting.--4. Twined baskets.--5.Clothing.--6. Canoes.--7. Fishing.--8. Games and recreation.--9. Musical instruments.--10. War and weapons.--11. Religion.--12. Ornaments and personal adornment.--13. Death and burial.--14. Index.
Dance we will -- Origins : legend & myth -- Pre-contact : a Polynesian memory -- Contact : another myth begins -- The missionaries : "heathen song & dance" -- Kalākaua's renaissance -- Yaaka hula hickey dula -- The torch is passed -- Hapa haole Hollywood -- Quality comes to Waikiki -- Hula goes to war, then booms