Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Honolulu Community College Library
How Google Works
Call Number: HD9696.8.U64 G66647 2014
Publication Date: 2014
In How Google Works, Eric Schmidt and Jonathan Rosenberg distill their decades of working in the high-tech industry into a practical and fun-to-read guide for those who want to succeed in an ever-changing business landscape.
The book offers how-to advice on strategy, corporate culture, talent, decision-making, innovation, communication and dealing with disruption. The authors explain how the confluence of three seismic changes--the internet, mobile, and cloud computing--has shifted the balance of power between consumer and corporation. The companies that thrive will be the ones that create superior products and attract a new breed of multi-faceted employees whom the authors dub "smart creatives."
New Books: CENT
Books are in call number order
Essential System Administration
Call Number: QA76.76.O63 F78 2002
This 3rd Edition is the definitive guide for Unix system administration, covering all the fundamental and essential tasks required to run such divergent Unix systems as AIX, FreeBSD, HP-UX, Linux, Solaris, Tru64 and more. Essential System Administration provides a clear, concise, practical guide to the real-world issues that anyone responsible for a Unix system faces daily. The new edition of this indispensable reference has been fully updated for all the latest operating extensively revised and expanded to consider the current system administrative topics that administrators need most.
Teach Yourself Visually Windows 8.1
Call Number: QA76.774.M434 M34 2014
Provides clear, step-by-step instructions for tackling more than 160 Windows 8.1 tasks. Each task-based spread covers a single technique, sure to help you get up and running on Windows 8.1 in no time.
Cisco Networking Essentials
Call Number: TK5105.5 .M33985 2012
This full-color guide gives networking newcomers a solid foundation in the fundamentals of Cisco technologies. Learn networking basics, then get quickly up to speed on how to configure Cisco routers and switches, manage the Cisco IOS, and much more. Whether you're an aspiring networking professional or just brushing up on the basics, it's the essential information you need to be successful in any computing environment.
Guide to Networking Essentials, 6th Ed.
Call Number: TK5105.5 .T64 2011
Presents an introduction to networking, covering such topics as network models, servers, hardware, topologies, media, protocols, and operating systems.
A+ Guide to Hardware: Managing, Maintaining and Troubleshooting
Call Number: TK7887 .A529 2014
This step-by-step, highly visual text provides students with a comprehensive introduction to managing and maintaining computer hardware. The new Sixth Edition also features extensive updates to reflect current technology, techniques, and industry standards in the dynamic, fast-paced field of PC repair.
Upgrading and Repairing PCs, 21st Ed.
Call Number: TK7887 .M84 2013
Provides information on how to upgrade, maintain, and troubleshoot the hardware of personal computers, discussing the differences among them as well as their various configuration options.
Building the Perfect PC
Call Number: TK9969 .T55 2011
A Guide to Building a Custom PC provides information on planning the project, choosing the components, and constructing six different systems, including a mainstream PC and a media center.
Hawaii Pacific Periodicals
Annual Visitors Research Report by
Call Number: HawPac REF G155.U6 A5
Publication Date: 2012 & 2013
Summary of ... visitors to Hawaii -- Visitor statistics by major market areas -- Visitor characteristics by major market areas -- Island supplement -- Visitor expenditures by category -- Visitor plant inventory -- Hotel occupancy and cruise ship data.
Women: Body Image & Self-esteem
The Body Image Workbook for Teens
Call Number: BF724.3.B55 T39 2014
Find practical exercises and tips that address the most common factors that can lead to negative body image, including: comparison, negative self-talk, unrealistic media images, societal and family pressures, perfectionism, toxic friendships, and a fear of disappointing others.
New Books: FASHION
Books are in call number order
The Art of Fashion Photography
Call Number: TR679 .R46 2014
The Art of Fashion Photography presents emerging photographers in the field of fashion and shows how they navigate the delicate balance between art and commerce. The interaction between photography and fashion has always been compelling--how do artists balance commercial viability with their own creative vision? This collection of cutting edge fashion photography offers a diverse range of styles and techniques.
Fashion: The Industry and Its Careers, 2nd Ed.
Call Number: TT507 .G68 2012
Offers a thorough and informative exploration of fashion careers across the board, including designer, textile manufacturer, retailer, wholesaler, illustrator, model, product developer, journalist, publicist, trend forecaster and more.
In Fashion: From Runway to Retail, Everything You Need to Know to Break Into the Fashion Industry
Call Number: TT507 .I87 2010
Straightforward and honest, Iverson has put together a book that will help you determine your best fashion-career fit and will provide a bird's-eye view into the most elite fashion companies. Along the way, you'll learn what school may be best for you, as well as how to write a chic resumé, handle the pressures of a fast-paced work environment, hone your skills to make you a success in your ideal job, and more. The most comprehensive guide available for a notoriously competitive industry.
Fashion Sketchbook, 6th Ed.
Call Number: TT509 .A25 2012
This book demystifies the fashion drawing process with simple, step-by-step directions. Now in full color and completely revised, with updated instructions and images throughout, this introductory text explains how to draw women, men, and children, pose the figure, develop the fashion head and face, sketch accessories, add garment details, and prepare flats and specs.
Fashion Illustration for Designers
Call Number: TT509 .H16 2011
Instructs students in how to draw various fashion figures for men, women, and children, and features the latest in today's trends in figures, fashions, and illustrations. Includes expanded Photoshop coverage and more on streetwear and activewear. Focuses on visual communication and how to develop contemporary drawing skills.
A Guide to Fashion Sewing, 5th Ed.
Call Number: TT515 .A67 2011
Provides a comprehensive fashion sewing education for beginning and experienced sewers alike. Readers will learn how to assemble and construct designs of various styles using proven industry methods for more than 100 sewing applications. Filled with step-by-step instructions and large, easy-to-follow illustrations, this book is an indispensable resource for creating fashionable and professional-looking garments.
The Art of Fashion Draping
Call Number: TT520 .A44 2012
This user-friendly bestseller teaches the different methods of - and principles involved in - draping fabric on a dress form. An invaluable tool for fashion design, apparel and pattern making students and professionals.
Half Life: A Parable for the Nuclear Age by
Call Number: DVD 357
Publication Date: 2007
This film reveals the effects of United States nuclear testing on the inhabitants of the Marshall Islands. The film concentrates on the March 1, 1954 Bravo hydrogen bomb test, during which the inhabitants of Rongelap and Utirik Atolls were not evacuated, an action that the film argues may have been part of a deliberate radiation exposure experiment on a human population.
Keiki O Ka 'Aina by
Call Number: CD 10
Publication Date: 2014
Songs in English and Hawaiian and instrumental music performed by contemporary Hawaiʻi music artists. Produced with the participation of students in the Honolulu Community College MELE program.
874 Dillingham Boulevard, Honolulu, HI 96817
Email: firstname.lastname@example.org Web: http://honolulu.hawaii.edu/library