Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Honolulu Community College Library
The Making of Romantic Love by
Call Number: PN682.C6 R444 2012
Subtitle: Longing and Sexuality in Europe, South Asia, and Japan
...an international exploration of love, contrasting the medieval development of romantic love in Europe with contemporaneous eastern traditions in Bengal and Orissa, and in Heian Japan from 900-1200 CE, where one finds no trace of an opposition between love and desire.
In this comparative framework, the author tells an appealing tale about the rise and fall of various practices of longing, underscoring the uniqueness of the European concept of sexual desire.
New Books: Circulating Collection
Books are in call number order
Restless Empire: China and the World Since 1750 by
Call Number: DS754.18 .W47 2012
Examines China's role in the world in recent centuries to demonstrate how its past is shaping its future, explaining how Western influences have reinforced traditional Chinese mores while establishing potential partnerships.
Textiles, The Whole Story: Uses, Meanings, Significance by
Call Number: GT525 .G67 2011
Discusses how textiles are an integral part of the human life journey from cradle to grave in a multitude of practical, symbolic and spiritual ways. It outlines how textiles are a means of communication functional, political and artistic and a metaphor for transcendence.
Making Sense of Social Theory: A Practical Introduction by
Call Number: HM435 .P69 2010
Sociological theory is applied in ways that make its relevance and power apparent. In reading this book, theory no longer stands divorced from real-world research or practice. Making Sense of Social Theory clearly establishes the pertinence of sociology's great theoretical insights for all social science researchers and practitioners.
Victory: The Triumphant Gay Revolution by
Call Number: HQ76.8.U5 H57 2013
Drawing on rich archival material and in-depth interviews, a Supreme Court lawyer and political pundit chronicles the gay rights movement, revealing how the fight for gay rights has changed the American landscape for all citizens, blurring rigid gender lines and redefining the definition of family.
Why America's Public Schools Are the Best Place for Your Kids by
Call Number: LA217.2 .B78 2012
Despite measured success of American public schools, the media, politicians, and big business attack public schools and their teachers with inaccuracies that threaten the equal opportunities provided by public education. Research indicates that No Child Left Behind, charter schools, and vouchers do not improve students learning or help educators teach better. The book provide reasons to support American public schools and educators.
Physics Made Simple by
Call Number: QC23.2 .D4 2004
A complete introduction to the basic principles of this fascinating science.
Dressmaking: The Complete Step-by-Step Guide to Making Your Own Clothes by
Call Number: TT515 .S645 2012
Sewers will discover what supplies to buy and how to use them, the best fabrics to choose based on drape and weave, how to understand patterns and alter them, and the essential general techniques to master — plus patterns and detailed step-by-step instructions are provided for a skirt, dress, shirt, tee, jacket, and pair of pants — including suggested variations!
Milady Standard Cosmetology 2012
Call Number: TT957 .M5518 2012
Since 1938, the Milady Standard Cosmetology has been the premier textbook for Cosmetology education. Each subsequent edition has evolved with the changing styles of the era while maintaining a firm foundation in the basic procedures and applications...
Using Type by
Call Number: Z250 .H368 2010
Basics Typography 02: Using Type is a wide ranging and practical guide to typography. Highly illustrated, this title contains images of historically important work alongside many examples from contemporary design studios.
Hawaii Pacific Collection
Hawaiian Games to Play, 2nd Edition by
Call Number: GV584.H3 M57 2006
ON RESERVE AT CIRC COUNTER
Provides histories and descriptions of fifty-four traditional Hawaiian games with full directions for playing twenty-two of these games in contemporary settings. Richly illustrated, this book can be a guide for staging group activities as well as games between pairs of players or for individual enjoyment.
Reference Books: Library Use Only
Complete Atlas of the World, 2nd Edition
Call Number: G1021 .D2775 2012 [Shelved on Atlas Stand]
Fully revised and updated to reflect the latest changes in world geography including the emerging state of South Sudan, this volume features four sections: a world overview, the main atlas, fact files on all the countries of the world, and an easy-to-reference index of all 100,000 place names.
Encyclopedia of Tropical Plants
Call Number: QK474.5 .F39 2011
Survey of 3,000 tropical plant species arranged in phylogenic order using the latest nomenclature and systematics. Each species entry has a detailed botanical description, zone information, distribution and ecology. Additional information includes propagation and cultivation notes.
Our Planet: The Past, Present and the Future by
Call Number: DVD 0332
Publication Date: 2011
Disc 1: How the earth was made. (1 hr., 30 min.) Examines the origin and geological evolution of the earth, focusing on the various cataclysmic transformations that occurred through time.
Disc 2: A global warning? (1 hr., 30 min.) The History Channel answers the question: After 650 million years of climate change, is global warming simply a naturally occurring phenomenon, or the result of human activity?
Disc 3: Life after people. (1 hr., 30 min.) What will the world be like when mankind is extinct? The pyramids may stand forever, but the cities will disappear. Our greatest masterpieces will fade and crumble. How long would it take before the last remnants of mankind completely disappeared? This is the story of what happens to the world we leave behind.
The Fabric of the Cosmos by
Call Number: DVD 0333
Publication Date: 2011
Using humor, everyday examples and computer animation for the more abstract concepts, author and physicist Brian Greene explains complex theories of the universe and the focus of his research, string theory.
Ed Hardy: Tattoo the World by
Call Number: DVD 0334
Publication Date: 2011
An artist's journey, following his unexpected rise to cult status and his phenomenal influence on pop culture. With one foot in the world of tattooing and the other planted in the fine arts, Hardy had each inform the other.
Call Number: TT505.B28 B35 2011
The Cristóbal Balenciaga Museoa in Getaria, Spain, holds the largest collection of Balenciaga's designs. This catalogue offers a selection of the most representative pieces of the Museum's collection, with hundreds of photographs and four essays wriiten by specialists on Balenciaga's life and work.
874 Dillingham Boulevard, Honolulu, HI 96817
Email: firstname.lastname@example.org Web: http://honolulu.hawaii.edu/library