Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Honolulu Community College Library
Stiff: The Curious Lives of Human Cadavers by
Call Number: R853.H8 R635 2004
Stiff is an oddly compelling, often hilarious exploration of the strange lives of our bodies postmortem. For two thousand years, cadavers-some willingly, some unwittingly-have been involved in science's boldest strides and weirdest undertakings. In this fascinating account, Mary Roach visits the good deeds of cadavers over the centuries and tells the engrossing story of our bodies when we are no longer with them.
"One of the funniest and most unusual books of the year...Gross, educational, and unexpectedly sidesplitting." -- Entertainment Weekly
New Books: Circulating Collection
Introduction to Logic, 14th ed. by
Call Number: BC108 .C69 2011
Part 1. Logic and language. Reasoning -- Basic logical concepts -- Analyzing arguments -- Informal logic -- Language and definitions -- Fallacies -- Part. 2. Deduction. Classical logic -- Categorical prepositions -- Categorical syllogisms -- Syllogisms in ordinary language -- Modern logic -- Symbolic logic -- Methods of deduction -- Quantification theory -- Part 3. Induction. Analogy and causation -- Analogical reasoning -- Causal reasoning -- Science and probability -- Science and hypothesis -- Probability.
Books are in call number order
The Meaning and End of Religion by
Call Number: BL48 .S596 1991
Wilfred C. Smith, maintained in this vastly important work that Westerners have misperceived religious life by making "religion" into one thing. He shows the inadequacy of "religion" to capture the living, endlessly variable ways and traditions in which religious faith presents itself in the world.
Occupy Religion: Theology of the Multitude by
Call Number: BL65.J87 R54 2013
Occupy Religion introduces readers to the often-overlooked role of religion in the Occupy movement and asks provocative questions about how people of faith can work for social justice. From the temperance movement to the civil rights movement, churches have played a key role in many important societal changes, and Occupy Religion shows that this role is no less critical today.
Unbroken: A World War II Story of Survival, Resilience, and Redemption by
Call Number: D805.J3 Z364 2010
On a May afternoon in 1943, an Army Air Forces bomber crashed into the Pacific Ocean and disappeared, leaving only a spray of debris and a slick of oil, gasoline, and blood. Then, on the ocean surface, a face appeared--Lt. Louis Zamperini. Captured by the Japanese and driven to the limits of endurance, Zamperini would answer desperation with ingenuity; suffering with hope, resolve, and humor.
A Small Town near Auschwitz: Ordinary Nazis and the Holocaust by
Call Number: DS134.66.B43 F85 2012
Historian Mary Fulbrook tells the story of Udo Klausa, a civilian administrator in the small town of Bedzin, an ordinary functionary who helped implement the Nazis' inhumane policies towards the Jews. Using a wealth of personal letters, memoirs, testimonies, interviews, and other sources, Fulbrook pieces together Klausa's role in the unfolding destruction of the Jews under his authority, as well as the heroic attempts at resistance on the part of some of the victims of Nazi racial policies in this area.
Vice Lords: Warriors of the Streets by
Call Number: F548.9.N3 K4 2008
Case studies in cultural anthropology This study of a Chicago street gang provides an insightful picture of gangs of similar age and composition operating in depressed areas and ghettos of large American cities.
Essentials of Oceanography, 11th ed. by
Call Number: GC11.2 .T49 2014 (Ocean Collection)
The latest edition brings together the interrelated spheres that compose Earth's systems as they relate to the oceans: geological, chemical, physical, and biological.
Women in Business: Navigating Career Success by
Call Number: HD6054.3 .H65 2012
Much has been written about equal opportunity issues, but little has been published about how organizations might provide more structure and support to ensure women's progress to the most senior business levels. This book looks at the career experiences of a group of women managers and considers what helps, and what still hinders, their progress.
Overdressed: The Shockingly High Cost of Cheap Fashion by
Call Number: HD9940.A2 C54 2013
This work evaluates the costs of low priced clothing while tracing the author's own transformation to a conscientious shopper, a journey during which she visited a garment factory, learned to resole shoes, and shopped for local, sustainable clothing. Cheap fashion has fundamentally changed the way most Americans dress. Stores ranging from discounters like Target to traditional chains like JC Penney now offer the newest trends at unprecedentedly low prices.
The Parent App: Understanding Families in the Digital Age by
Call Number: HQ799.2.I5 C59 2013
Ninety-five percent of American kids have Internet access by age 11; the average number of texts a teenager sends each month is well over 3,000. More families report that technology makes life with children more challenging, not less, as parents today struggle with questions previous generations never faced: Is my thirteen-year-old responsible enough for a Facebook page? What will happen if I give my nine year-old a cell phone? In The Parent App, Clark provides what families have been sorely lacking: smart, sensitive, and effective strategies for coping with the dilemmas of digital and mobile media in modern life.
The Right to Be Parents: LGBT Families and the Transformation of Parenthood by
Call Number: KF540 .B35 2012
Stories of LGBT parents who, in seeking to gain legal recognition of and protection for their relationships with their children, have fundamentally changed how American law defines and regulates parenthood. Each chapter contains stories of LGBT parents who challenge the view that having a same-sexual orientation, or that being a transsexual, renders individuals incapable of being good parents.
Nightly News Nightmare: Media Coverage of U.S. Presidential Elections, 1988-2008 by
Call Number: PN4888.P6 F37 2011
The Nightly News Nightmare, third edition, examines news coverage of presidential nominations and election campaigns from 1988 to 2008. The book focuses on changes in the amount, tone, and focus of news coverage in these different electoral contexts. In addition to network news, the authors examine online news, cable television, talk radio, and candidate campaign discourse in these election years.
Eagle Feathers and Angel Wings by
Call Number: RA395.A3 M86 2013
Everything changed in the summer of 1991 when twelve-year-old Micah was diagnosed with acute myelocytic leukemia. What followed was a nightmarish battle waged not only in Micah's young body but also in their struggles with health care coverage and medical care. Narrated by his mother, Eagle Feathers and Angel Wings chronicles Micah's courage, his family's love, and their efforts to find answers for him.
Mayo Clinic Breast Cancer Book
Call Number: RC280.B8 M3532 2012
Covers aspects of breast cancer, including prevention, diagnosis, treatment, medication, alternative remedies, coping mechanisms, and communicating with children
Hawaii Pacific Collection
Keshiki Bonsai: The Easy, Modern Way to Create Miniature Landscapes
Call Number: SB433.5 .K59 2012
Keshiki bonsai is a revolutionary approach that involves creating living pieces of art using readily available plants and containers. This dazzling book features 37 stylish projects with simple, step-by-step instructions that anyone can follow.
The Photographer's Mind: Creative Thinking for Better Digital Photos
Call Number: TR183 .F73 2010
The source of any photograph is not the camera or even the scene viewed through the viewfinder-it is the mind of the photographer: this is where an image is created before it is committed to a memory card or film. In The Photographer's Mind, the follow-up to the international best-seller, The Photographer's Eye, photographer and author Michael Freeman unravels the mystery behind the creation of a photograph.
Mathematics & Physics
Taming the Infinite: The Story of Mathematics by
Call Number: QA21 .S835 2009
Written to provide a captivating historic narrative for the non-mathematician, this book is packed with fascinating nuggets and quirky asides, and contains plenty of illustrations and diagrams to illuminate and aid understanding of a subject many dread, but which has made the world what it is today.
The Particle at the End of the Universe by
Call Number: QC793.5.B62 C37 2013
The Higgs boson. Infamously known as 'the God particle,' it is the key to understanding why mass exists and how atoms are possible. After billions of dollars and decades of effort by more than six thousand researchers at the Large Hadron Collider in Switzerland, a doorway is opening into the mind-boggling world of dark matter and beyond.
Waking the Giant: How a Changing Climate Triggers Earthquakes, Tsunamis, and Volcanoes by
Call Number: QC981.8.C5 M388 2012
All the signs, warns geophysical hazard specialist Bill McGuire, are that unmitigated climate change due to human activities could bring about a comparable response. Using evidence accumulated from studies of the recent history of our planet, and gleaned from current observations and modeling, he argues convincingly that we ignore at our peril the threats that presented by climate change and the waking giant beneath our feet.
874 Dillingham Boulevard, Honolulu, HI 96817
Email: firstname.lastname@example.org Web: http://honolulu.hawaii.edu/library