Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Honolulu Community College Library
New COMMUNICATION ARTS Books
Call Number: NC1002.L63 E83 2012 [Reference Collection]
Logotype is the definitive modern collection of logotypes, monograms, and other text-based corporate marks. Featuring more than 1,300 international typographic identities, by around 250 design studios, this is an indispensable handbook for every design studio, providing a valuable resource to draw on in branding and corporate identity projects.
Call Number: NC1002.L63 H68 2013 [Reference Collection]
This reference guide features approximately 7,000 logos organized alphabetically, with information about the designers, year of creation, country, brand, and company. Logobook is a must-have for any designer, student, or marketing professional, and will be equally fascinating to anyone interested in contemporary culture.
Beware Wet Paint by
Call Number: NC999.6.G7 F56 2004
Beware wet paint Designs by Alan Fletcher presents graphic design from the hands and thoughts of a contemporary master. These are demonstrated with 250 examples of work produced for major clients around the world, or just for his own amusement. Grouped into thematic chapters, the examples show his concepts and references, his lithe and lateral jumps, his ability to fuse interpretation, aesthetics and function with apparent ease.
The Art of Looking Sideways by
Call Number: NK1505 .F54 2001
The Art of Looking Sideways is a primer in visual intelligence, an exploration of the workings of the eye, the hand, the brain and the imagination. It is an inexhaustible mine of anecdotes, quotations, images, curious facts and useless information, oddities, serious science, jokes and memories, all concerned with the interplay between the verbal and the visual, and the limitless resources of the human mind. Loosely arranged in 72 chapters, all this material is presented in a wonderfully inventive series of pages that are themselves masterly demonstrations of the expressive use of type, space, colour and imagery.
New COSMETOLOGY Books: Circulating Collection
Books are in call number order
Make-Up Masterclass by
Call Number: RA776.98 .K52 2009
Accessible, fresh, and down-to-earth but with a large touch of glamour, Jemma Kidd Make-up Masterclass demystifies the art of make-up and shows every woman how to enhance her best features and feel confident in her appearance, whatever her age or lifestyle. Drawing on her years of experience working in cutting-edge fashion and beauty, Jemma makes modern make-up accessible to all, with expert advice, tips, professional secrets, and practical instructions for achieving flawless make-up for every occasion.
Style Eyes by
Call Number: RA778 .C3764 2010
One of the most frequent questions celebrity makeup artist Taylor Chang-Babaian is asked is how to apply eye makeup. In Style Eyes she shares her highly sought-after beauty tips and techniques that will help you: identify and use eye makeup products and tools to address all your eye concerns; create the perfect brows with step-by-step techniques and learn how to fix any mistakes; identify the best techniques and shades for various eye shapes and eye colors; find the ideal look for day, evening, work, play or anytime...
The Skin Type Solution by
Call Number: RL87 .B366 2010
Dermatologist Baumann provides a program that's revolutionizing the way people everywhere think about--and shop for--skin care. Whereas previous books identified only four basic skin types, through clinical research Dr. Baumann discovered that there are actually sixteen distinctly different skin types--each with unique needs all its own.
Younger: The Breakthrough Anti-Aging Method for Radiant Skin by
Call Number: RL87 .L34 2014
Renowned Beverly Hills dermatologist Dr. Harold Lancer is the expert on whom Hollywood's top celebrities rely to maintain their radiant complexions and to reverse the effects of aging. Now, he offers readers his groundbreaking, 3-Step Method to rejuvenate their skin at home. Based on years of clinical research, Dr. Lancer's regimen stimulates the skin's own transformative healing power for lasting results.
The Skin Care Answer Book: Real-World Answers to 275 Most-Asked Skin Care Questions by
Call Number: RL87 .L44 2011
In over two decades of practice, the author has been asked hundreds of questions by clients, as well as estheticians. This books provides concise, quick answers to the most-asked consumer skin care questions and will help educate students, licensed estheticians and clients alike about their individual skin types. It is written in easy language and is set up in a Q & A format, organized in chapters by subject so that it is easy to navigate.
Salon Fundamentals Cosmetology, A Resource for Your Cosmetology Career Exam Prep, 2nd Edition
Call Number: TT958 .S24 2010
1. Professional development -- 2. Salon ecology -- 3. Anatomy and physiology -- 4. Electricity -- 5. Chemistry -- 6. Salon business -- 7. Trichology -- 8. Design decisions -- 9. Haircutting -- 10. Hairstyling -- 11. Wigs and hair additions -- 12. Chemical texturizing -- 13. Hair coloring -- 14. The study of nails -- 15. The study of skin -- Final exam -- Answer key(s).
How to Offer 5-Star Service at Your Salon and Make Big Money! by
Call Number: TT965 .G75 2013
1. What does it mean to be a 5-star service provider? -- 2. First impressions : the look of the salon -- 3. Good customer communications in the salon -- 4. Communication with customers outside the salon -- 5. Customer retention -- 6. Quality products complement quality service -- 7. A 5-star staff -- 8. Keeping it going.
Down the Shampoo Bowl - The ABC's of Hair Salon Management by
Call Number: TT965 .M33 2012
Take charge of your hair career and step up to being an entrepreneur. This A-to-Z guide answers your questions and leads you to successful hair salon management. Witty and to-the-point, this book is for every hair professional who wants to become a salon owner, independent contractor, [or] more successful stylist.
Hair Structure and Chemistry Simplified by
Call Number: TT972 .H33 2009
This new edition thoroughly explains the theory and application of the essential concepts of hair chemistry that are simply not covered in other texts. Material unique to this text boldly presents the concept, importance and relevance of pH in cosmetics.
The New Braiding Handbook: 60 Modern Twists on the Classic Hairstyle by
Call Number: TT972 .S64 2014
Whether you're running errands, going out on the town, or walking down the aisle, the fashionable braids in this book will give you the perfect look for every occasion. Just follow the simple instructions and step-by-step photos to quickly master gorgeous new looks, including: fabulous fishtails, elegant updos, beautiful buns, classy crowns, knowkout knots, head-turning 'tails.
Braids, Buns, and Twists! Step-by-Step Tutorials for 82 Fabulous Hairstyles by
Call Number: TT972 .B88 2013
Butcher presents classic and contemporary styles in top knots, heidi braids, and much more. She provides step-by-step tutorials for each one. Includes advice for different hair types and lengths, plus product tips and fun variations, to create a go-to resource for show-stopping hair.
"How Books Can Open Your Mind" [6:16]
Check it out!
Christianity: The First Three Thousand Years by
Call Number: BR145.3 .M33 2011
This ambitious book ranges back to the origins of the Hebrew Bible and covers the world, following the three main strands of the Christian faith, to teach modern readers how Jesus' message spread and how the New Testament was formed. We follow the Christian story to all corners of the globe, filling in often neglected accounts of conversions and confrontations in Africa and Asia, and more.
Redefining Realness: My Path to Womanhood, Identity, Love & So Much More by
Call Number: HQ77.8.M63 A3 2014
In a landmark book, an extraordinary young woman recounts her coming-of-age as a transgender teen--a deeply personal and empowering portrait of self-revelation, adversity, and heroism. In 2011, Marie Claire magazine published a profile of Janet Mock in which she publicly stepped forward for the first time as a trans woman. Since then, Mock has gone from covering the red carpet for People.com to advocating for all those who live within the shadows of society. Redefining Realness offers a bold new perspective on being young, multiracial, economically challenged, and transgender in America.
874 Dillingham Boulevard, Honolulu, HI 96817
Email: firstname.lastname@example.org Web: http://honolulu.hawaii.edu/library