Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Honolulu Community College Library
Honolulu Street Style by
Call Number: GT617.H3 M67 2014 (Hawaii Pacific)
Publication Date: 2014
Hawai’i is one of the most ethnically and racially diverse places in the world due to its central location in the Pacific. Situated at the crossroads of different cultures, Honolulu has a style all of its own. Honolulu Street Style captures this unique approach as it demonstrates how global trends are transformed by stylish Honolulu denizens to give them a unique, local look. Divided into chapters on hair, hats, accessories, and beachwear, the book features the styles of people encountered on the street and in many different neighborhoods, with an essay on the history and clothing of Hawai’i as a whole.
New Books: Circulating Collection
Books are in call number order
The Dynamics of Conflict: A Guide to Engagement and Intervention by
Call Number: BF637.I48 M39 2012
Personal stories and examples provide practical skills in communication and negotiation, including how to deal with power, impasse, and cross-cultural issues. The book is a must-read for conflict resolution professionals and will also be easily understandable to the public at large—a great tool for businesses, parents, governmental agencies, mental health professionals, and educators.
Basic Beliefs of Judaism: A Twenty-First-Century Guide to a Timeless Tradition by
Call Number: BM562 .E67 2013
One of the oldest monotheistic religions known to humankind, Judaism has withstood the tests of time. So what exactly are the tenets of this ancient faith that have been passed down over the millennia, and how do they apply to our lives in the 21st century? The Basic Beliefs of Judaism gives an updated overview of the belief system on which the Jewish faith is based.
The Mediation Process: Practical Strategies for Resolving Conflict, 3rd ed. by
Call Number: HM136 .M684 2003
Since it was first published in 1986, this book has become a landmark resource for mediation practitioners, trainers, students, and professionals in corporate, legal, health care, education, and governmental arenas. This thoroughly revised and expanded third edition has been updated to include coverage of the most contemporary issues in mediation practice and to provide updated bibliographical resources.
Same-Sex Marriage in the United States: The Road to the Supreme Court by
Call Number: HQ1034.U5 P54 2014
Updated through 2013, this edition details the watershed rulings in favor of same-sex marriage: the Supreme Court's June 26th repeal of DOMA, and of Proposition 8 in California, as well as the many states (New Jersey, Illinois, New Mexico, Hawaii, and Nevada among others) where activists and public leaders have made recent strides to ensure that gay couples have an equal right to marry.
Handbook of Families and Aging, 2nd ed. by
Call Number: HQ1061 .H3353 2012
This book is both an updated version of and a complement to the original. The many additions include the most recent demographic changes on aging families, new theoretical formulations, innovative research methods, recent legal issues, and death and bereavement, as well as new material on the relationships themselves--sibling, partnered, and intergenerational relationships, for example. Among the brand-new topics in this edition are step-family relationships, aging families and immigration, aging families and 21st-century technology, and peripheral family ties.
Call Number: HQ1421 .R48 2014
Revisiting Gender examines the changing role of women and men in shaping American life in education, work, and public and private life.
Introducing Social Work by
Call Number: HV10.5 .D66 2009
In this lively introduction suitable for students at any level, Lena Dominelli explores the extraordinary scope and importance of social work. Using engaging examples from contemporary social work practice, she clearly answers questions about what social work is, how social workers work in a variety of settings and the clients they are likely to deal with. She tackles head on the dilemmas social workers face in their day-to-day work and the challenges of working with limited resources and marginalized social groups such as the elderly, the homeless and abused children.
Motivational Interviewing in Social Work Practice by
Call Number: HV40 .H629 2012
Social workers routinely encounter clients who are wrestling with ambivalence about changing behavior-even behavior that is clearly harmful to themselves or others. This reader-friendly book introduces practitioners and students to motivational interviewing (MI), an evidence-based communication method that helps clients draw on their strengths to commit to and implement positive changes.
A Brief Introduction to Social Work Theory by
Call Number: HV40 .H6829 2009
This crisp text, by one of social works most highly regarded commentators, offers the perfect entry point into the complex world of social work theory. Written in a clear conversational style and organized into short, clearly labelled chapters, students and practitioners will find this an invaluable point of refreshment and reference.
Heavy Hands: An Introduction to the Crimes of Intimate and Family Violence by
Call Number: HV6626 .G67 2014
Heavy Hands, Fifth Edition, provides an authentic introduction to the crimes of family violence, covering offenders and offenses, impact on victims, and responses of the criminal justice system. This established text is essential reading for those considering careers in criminal justice, victim advocacy, social work, and counseling.
Intimate Partner Violence by
Call Number: HV6626.2 .H38 2009
Until recently, domestic violence - as it has been referred to - was a problem to be dealt with inside the family. In this groung-breaking work, Angela Hattery's unique approach provides a detailed theoretical discussion of race, class, and gender effects on intimate partner violence and a thoughful discussion of the interactions of these factors.
A Typology of Domestic Violence: Intimate Terrorism, Violent Resistance, and Situational Couple Violence by
Call Number: HV6626.2 .J64 2008
Domestic violence, a serious and far-reaching social problem, has generated two key debates among researchers. The first debate is about gender and domestic violence. The second major debate involves how many women are abused each year by their partners. This volume begins the work of theorizing forms of domestic violence, a crucial first step to a better understanding of these phenomena among scholars, social scientists, policy makers, and service providers.
Crime and Elder Abuse: An Integrated Perspective by
Call Number: HV6626.3 .P39 2011
The third edition of this unique books offers a criminological foundation from which increased understanding about elder abuse will evolve. The text will be of significant interest to the fields of criminology, gerontology, psychology, medicine, sociology, and social work.
Child Abuse and Culture: Working with Diverse Families by
Call Number: HV6626.5 .F66 2008
This expertly written book provides an accessible framework for culturally competent practice with children and families in child maltreatment cases. Professionals and students learn new ways of thinking about their own cultural viewpoints as they gain critical skills for maximizing the accuracy of assessments for physical and sexual abuse; overcoming language barriers in parent and child interviews; respecting families' values and beliefs while ensuring children's safety; creating a welcoming agency environment; and more.
Buzzed: The Straight Facts about the Most Used and Abused Drugs from Alcohol to Ecstasy
Call Number: RM316 .K84 2008
Scientifically accurate and easy to read, this no-nonsense handbook provides balanced, objective information available on the most often used and abused drugs, from alcohol, caffeine, and nicotine to heroin, Ecstasy, and methamphetamine. In both quick-reference summaries and in-depth analysis, it reports on how these drugs enter the body, how they manipulate the brain, their short-term and long-term effects, the kinds of "high" they produce, and the circumstances in which they can be deadly.
Business Writing for Dummies
Call Number: HF5718.3 .C36 2013
Whether you’re crafting a short and sweet email or bidding for a crucial project, Business Writing For Dummies is the only guide you need.
The New Rules of Business Writing
Call Number: HF5718.3 .C366 2010
This book shows you how to master the art of effective business communication replacing the old standards of jargon, pomposity, and grammar drills with a simple, quick and conversational writing style.
The Ultimate Sales Letter: Attract New Customers. Boost Your Sales.
Call Number: HF5730 .K46 2011
In the age of e-mail and instant communication, great sales copy is indispensable to closing a deal. But too many sales letters end up in the junk file or the wastebasket. In this new edition of his top-selling book, author Dan Kennedy explains why some sales letters work and most don't. And he shows how to write copy that any business can use.
Power Sales Writing: Using Communication to Turn Prospects into Clients
Call Number: HF5825 .H44 2012
Filled with practical writing tips, shortcuts, and examples, this book brings you up to date in a world where e-mail, social media, and smart phones dominate sales communication. If you’re not highly skilled with the latest communication platforms, you’re missing sales opportunities.
Writing That Works: How to Communicate Effectively in Business
Call Number: PE1479.B87 R65 2000b
Writing That Works will help you say what you want to say, with less difficulty and more confidence. Now in its third edition, this completely updated classic has been expanded to included all new advice on e-mail and the e-writing world, plus a fresh point of view on political correctness.
Looking for the Aloha Spirit: Promoting Ethnic Harmony by
Call Number: HM1271 .H33 2010 (Hawaii Pacific)
The Aloha State is a complex culture that is not well understood, even among those privileged to live in the 50th State. Chapters deal with with such topics as civil rights, ethnic groups, governmental processes, interracial marriage, politics, public opinion, and voting behavior. Author, Michael Haas, is a Nobel Peace Prize nominee for his work on behalf of human rights in a career as an academic political scientist.
Early Childhood Education & More
874 Dillingham Boulevard, Honolulu, HI 96817
Email: firstname.lastname@example.org Web: http://honolulu.hawaii.edu/library