Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Honolulu Community College Library
The Watersmart Garden by
Call Number: SB439.8 .R38 2014 [Hawaii Pacific Collection]
Two of Hawai'i's foremost horticulturalists have chosen 100 plants perfect for inclusion in Hawai'i's watersmart xeriscape gardens. These carefully chosen plants, all readily available and fairly simple to maintain, are described and illustrated in this guide to planning a water-saving garden for the tropical climate.
Xeriscape principles are explained and made easy to incorporate in your garden. The book is beautifully illustrated with photographs of each plant in situ and with flowers or foliage in close-up.
New Books: Circulating Collection
Books are in call number order
Ethics: Subjectivity and Truth by
Call Number: B2430.F722 E5 1997
Michel Foucault is generally considered one of the most brilliant and influential philosophers of the twentieth century. Included in the first section of this volume are his groundbreaking analyses of penal institutions, psychiatry, "biopolitics," and the modern subject. A second section contains interviews, along with Foucault's key writings on ethics. Winner of the Choice Outstanding Academic Book Award.
Russia and the Russians: A History by
Call Number: DK40 .H66 2011
The author follows the country’s history from the Slavs’ first emergence in the historical record in the sixth century C.E. to the Russians’ persistent appearances in today’s headlines. The second edition covers the presidencies of Vladimir Putin and Dmitrii Medvedev and the struggle to make Russia a viable functioning state for all its citizens.
The Possessive Investment in Whiteness: How White People Profit from Identity Politics by
Call Number: E184.A1 L56 1998
In examining white supremacy, this work argues that racism is a matter of interests as well as attitudes, a problem of property as well as pigment. This work shows how whiteness works in respect to African Americans, Asian Americans, Latinos, and Native Americans. It also analyzes the centrality of whiteness to US culture. [2006 revised & expanded edition is available in electronic format via EBRARY].
The Shock Doctrine: The Rise of Disaster Capitalism by
Call Number: HB95 .K54 2008
In this groundbreaking alternative history of the most dominant ideology of our time, Milton Friedman's free-market economic revolution, Naomi Klein challenges the popular myth of this movement's peaceful global victory.
Taking the Heat: A Steel Worker's Story by
Call Number: HD9517.V52 S27 2012
Drawing on more than three decades of experience, the author explains some of the challenges steelworkers face every day as they earn a living.
Intersections of Gender, Race, and Class by
Call Number: HM706 .I57 2007
This incisive, accessible collection of readings is arranged to highlight and underscore some of the most intriguing and cutting-edge thinking on the discussion of gender, race, and class. While other anthologies often separate race, class, and gender into distinct components, this anthology frames each reading within an analysis of all three cultural forces.
The Matrix Reader: Examining the Dynamics of Oppression and Privilege
Call Number: HN59.2 .M379 2009
Written by four authors from different disciplinary backgrounds, this reader promotes a commitment to an intersectional approach to teaching race, class, gender and sexuality. This reader includes poems, reflective literary prose, historical events and documents, images drawn from the media, contemporary statistics of inequalities, visual images, and tools that empower students to become agents for social change.
The Second Sex by
Call Number: HQ1208 .B352 1989
Simone de Beauvoir’s masterwork is a powerful analysis of the Western notion of “woman,” and a groundbreaking exploration of inequality and otherness.
Outsiders: Studies in the Sociology of Deviance by
Call Number: HV5825 .B4 1991
Outsiders broke new ground in the early 1960s, arguing that social deviance is a more common phenomenon than perceived and that conventional wisdom that social deviants are pathological is incorrect. Becker's seminal study remains the most piercing exploration about unconventional individuals and their position in 'normal' society.
The Jack-Roller: A Delinquent Boy's Own Story by
Call Number: HV9105.I3 S5 1966
Vivid, authentic, this is the autobiography of a delinquent - his experiences, influences, attitudes, and values. The book remains as relevant today to the study and treatment of juvenile delinquency and maladjustment as it was when originally published in 1930.
Blues Legacies and Black Feminism: Gertrude "Ma" Rainey, Bessie Smith, and Billie Holiday by
Call Number: ML3521 .D355 1998
Jazz, it is widely accepted, is the signal original American contribution to world culture. Angela Davis shows us how the roots of that form in the blues must be viewed not only as a musical tradition but as a life-sustaining vehicle for an alternative black working-class collective memory and social consciousness profoundly at odds with mainstream American middle-class values.
Anatomy for Interior Designers by
Call Number: NK2113 .P32 1962
The basis of all design. Basic measurements ; Man is the measure of all things -- Residential applications. The living room ; The dining room ; The kitchen ; The bedroom ; The family room ; Storage space ; The human eye and television -- Commercial applications...and more.
Call Number: NK4147 .A85 1963
This book attempts to display the character of Iranian ceramic art from the fourth millennium B.C. to the nineteenth century. (An Asia House Gallery publication).
Mary Sia's Classic Chinese Cookbook by
Call Number: TX724.5.C5 S56825 2013
Mary Sias Chinese Cookbook has been a classic of Chinese cookery since it was first published in 1956. This fourth edition features all 300 of the original recipes, ranging from simple, everyday fare to more elaborate dishes for entertaining.
Spotlight Hawaii Pacific
Ma'i Lepera: Disease and Displacement in Nineteenth-Century Hawai'i by
Call Number: RC154.5.H32 K345 2013 [Hawaii Pacific Collection]
Ma'i Lepera takes an unprecedented look at the Hansen's disease outbreak (1865-1900) almost exclusively from the perspective of "patients," ninety percent of whom were Native Hawaiian. Using traditional and nontraditional sources, published and unpublished, it tells the story of a disease, a society's reaction to it, and the consequences of the experience for Hawai'i and its people.
Hawaii Pacific Collection
Hawaiian Myths of Earth, Sea, and Sky
Call Number: BL2630.H38 T46 1988
Presents twelve Hawaiian myths which explain how the earth was created, why volcanoes on Hawaii erupt, why the days are longer in summer, and other natural phenomena.
Family Torn Apart: The Internment Story of the Otokichi Muin Ozaki Family by
Call Number: D769.8.A6 F36 2012
Relying on Japanese language primary sources, this book brings alive the Japanese immigrant perspective on the World War II incarceration, intergenerational relations, and life under martial law in Hawaiʻi. It is a stirring story of the human spirit in difficult times and a cautionary tale for future generations
Uchinanchu: A Pictorial Tribute to Okinawans in Hawaii
Call Number: DU624.7.R9 U34 1990
Commemorating the Ninetieth Anniversary of Okinawan Immigration to Hawaii.
Table of Contents: The dawning of an Okinawan -- A brief history of the Ryukyu Kingdom -- Bygone days : an artists' portfolio -- Okinawan style -- Uchina homecoming : the islands today.
Pohaku: Hawaiian Stones by
Call Number: GR110.H38 G87 1986
Table of Contents: The stones of Umi -- The healing stones of Wahiawa -- Season-measuring stones -- Kaneikokala -- Birth stones of Hawaii -- Hupeloa, a stone at Kolekole Pass -- ʻIliʻili hula-dance stones -- Kuʻula and Koa, the stones of the fisherman -- Pohaku hanau, stones that give birth -- The wizard stones of Waikiki.
Call Number: ML3560.H3 L55 1971 [Reference]
Publication Date: 1971
The songs -- Eddie Kamae -- Moe Keale -- Joe Marshall -- Gabby Pahinui -- David Rogers.
A Festival of Fibers
Call Number: NK8801.H6 H664 1977
Masterworks of textile art from the collection of the Honolulu Academy of Arts : a fiftieth anniversary exhibition, October 14 through November 20, 1977
The Traditional Pottery of Papua New Guinea by
Call Number: NK4184.P25 M3 2000
The most comprehensive and authoritative survey of the traditional pottery of Papua New Guinea ever produced. The authors proffer a first-hand account of clay preparation, pottery formation, and firing techniques, interwoven with information on the functions of pottery and the various approaches to decoration.
Almost Heaven: On the Human and Divine by
Call Number: PN6071.R4 A46 2012
Each of these stories, poems, and essays in Almost Heaven is about the appearance of a divine moment or presence -- which may take many forms and names. Also included are extraordinary images reproduced from glass-plate negatives made at Kalaupapa, Moloka'i.
Brothers Under a Same Sky by
Call Number: PS3566.A39 B76 2013
[Fiction] This book explores the social and psychological turmoil experienced by Korean Americans during and after the war...Set amid the social and political disruptions and forced separations that have characterized the history of modern Korea, this is the story of a struggle toward healing, unity, and perhaps a reconciliation between love and hatred.
874 Dillingham Boulevard, Honolulu, HI 96817
Email: email@example.com Web: http://honolulu.hawaii.edu/library