Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Honolulu Community College Library
All You Need to Know about the Music Business, 8th edition by
Call Number: ML3790 .P35 2013
The past two decades have seen file-sharing technology and digital streaming services transform the music business from top to bottom, and the changes keep coming at breakneck speed. How are record labels adapting to the demand for instantly accessible, low-cost music while coping with piracy? And what does it all mean for aspiring and established artists today?
Donald Passman, one of the most trusted music lawyers in the country, offers his sage advice for creating, selling, sharing, and protecting your music in the Information Age in this updated eighth edition of All You Need to Know About the Music Business. Called “the industry bible” by the Los Angeles Times, Passman’s comprehensive guide—which has sold hundreds of thousands of copies over the past twenty years—draws on his unparalleled experience and up-to-the-minute knowledge of industry trends.
New MELE Books: Circulating Collection
Books are in call number order
The Piracy Crusade by
Call Number: K1450 .S57 2013
Since Napster first emerged more than a decade ago, the claim that 'Internet pirates killed the music industry' has become commonplace. Digital networks today offer vast numbers of people the opportunity to experiment with innovative cultural and entrepreneurial ideas predicated on the belief that information should be shared widely. Instead of adapting to this new environment, media cartels have chosen to fight, pushing for ever stronger copyright laws and the aggressive pursuit of accused infringers. Sinnreich argues that the most dangerous aspects of the 'piracy crusade' are the broader implications of copyright laws and global treaties that sacrifice free speech and privacy - policies that threaten to undermine the foundations of democratic society..
Music Law: How to Run Your Band's Business by
Call Number: KF390.E57 S87 2012
This book provides all the legal information and practical advice musicians need. This edition is thoroughly updated with the latest changes in copyright and trademark law, including guidance on filling out "Form CO." Plus, find expanded information on musical collaborations between DJs and other musicians. You'll also get the most up-to-date legal forms available.
Record Label Marketing by
Call Number: ML3790 .H985 2010
Offers a comprehensive look at the inner workings of record labels, showing how the record labels connect commercial music with consumers. This title explains the components of the contemporary record label's marketing plan and how it is executed. It includes an overview of the music industry.
Music 3.0 - A Survival Guide for Making Music in the Internet Age, 2nd ed. by
Call Number: ML3790 .O968 2011
This updated edition of the original best seller features the latest music business and social media concepts as well as brand-new interviews with a variety of the industry's top movers and shakers. The book not only takes a look at the music industry's evolution and how we got to Music 3.0, but provides the information that today's musician or music business executive needs to take advantage of the new music industry paradigm: What has changed? Who are the new players? Why are traditional record labels, television, and radio no longer factors in an artist's success? How do you market and distribute your music in this new world? How do you make money in this new music world? How do you develop your brand?
Social Media Promotion for Musicians: The Manual for Marketing Yourself, Your Band and Your Music Online by
Call Number: ML3790.O975 S63535 2013
Shows artists, bands, engineers, and producers how to use social media techniques and strategies to increase online presence effectively.
Chapters include: Your social media strategy -- Developing your brand -- Creating your killer website -- Creating your mailing list -- Using Facebook for marketing -- Marketing with Twitter -- Setting up a blog -- Marketing with YouTube -- Using Google+ for marketing -- Using Pinterest for marketing -- Using bookmarking sites.
Career Opportunities in the Music Industry, Sixth Edition by
Call Number: ML3795 .F497 2010
Career Opportunities in the Music Industry, Sixth Edition provides current information on more than 90 specific jobs, including job duties, salary ranges, skill and education requirements, helpful organizations, tips for entry, and much more. A valuable starting point for career research, this book offers important information about positions of interest to job seekers. Each profile features a special Career Ladder charting the path for advancement.
Zen and the Art of Producing by
Call Number: ML3795 .M57 2012
Mixerman lays out the many organizational and creative roles of an effective producer as budget manager, time manager, personnel manager, product manager, arranger, visionary, and leader, and without ever foregoing the politics involved in the process. Whether you're currently positioned as musician, engineer, songwriter, DJ, studio owner, or just avid music fan, Mixerman delivers you a seemingly one-on-one, personal lesson on effective producing.
Beyond Sound: The College and Career Guide in Music Technology by
Call Number: ML3795 .P426 2013
Beyond Sound is for anyone who wants to build a career in the exciting world of music technology. The book describes education programs, gives practial guidance on career preparation, and offers plans for career paths. It includes interviews with professionals, giving readers a rare insider glimpse inside this industry.
The Musician's Guide to Licensing Music: How to Get Your Music Into Film, TV, Advertising, Digital Media, and Beyond by
Call Number: ML3795 .W496 2010
Today, music licensing is the fastest route to widespread exposure and a steady income. Creators of films, television shows, commercials, video games, ringtones, podcasts and other digital-age media hunger for music perfectly suited to their projects—providing endless, lucrative opportunities for savvy musicians. Whether you’re an unknown composer, an up-and-coming songwriter, an independent-label performer, or a big label star, there’s a place for you in this fast-growing field—as long as you learn to master the game.
Songwriting: The Words, the Music and the Money by
Call Number: MT67 .W362 2010 (Oversize Collection)
Covers the creative aspects of writing song lyrics and melodies, including the process of collaborating with other writers. Song forms from folk to rock to cabaret and hip-hop are discussed. This revised edition also contains updated material about placing songs in films and on television and provides information about performing rights organizations.
Modern Recording Techniques by
Call Number: TK7881.4 .H783 2014
Master the tools and day-to-day practices of music recording and production. Learn the ins and outs of room acoustics and designing a studio. Gain techniques for mic placement and running a session. Get a solid grounding in both theory and industry practice. Modern Recording Techniques, the bestselling, authoritative guide to recording, provides everything you need to improve your craft.
More good reading...
Job Searching with Social Media for Dummies by
Call Number: HF5382.7 .W34 2013
A guide to using social media to find a job that explains the benefits of using sites like LinkedIn, Twitter, and Facebook for networking, offers tips on creating an effective online profile, discusses how to develop a personal online brand, and includes other helpful job search strategies.
A Carpenter's Life as Told by Houses by
Call Number: TH4809.U6 H38 2011
From one of Fine Homebuilding's best-loved authors, Larry Haun, comes a unique story that looks at American home building from the perspective of twelve houses he has known intimately. Part memoir, part cultural history, this books takes the reader house by house over an arc of 100 years. Builders and history lovers will appreciate his deep connection to the natural world, yearning for simplicity, respect for humanity, and evocative notion of what we mean by "home."
Handbook of Basic Electricity by
Call Number: TK146 .B2937 2013
In easy-to-understand language with hundreds of illustrations. Essentials of electricity and its practical applications. If you want to understand circuits, motors, generators, AC/DC, this book is for you.
Take Charge of Your Aviation Career by
Call Number: TL561 .W5 2006
This book will help prepare you for a successful aviation maintenance career. It gives a good 'insider's' perspective of the aviation maintenance industry that most would have to work in the industry to get. It sums up what 'good' mechanics should know about their profession.
Standard Aircraft Handbook for Mechanics and Technicians by
Call Number: TL671.28 .S694 2014
Chapters include: Tools and and how to use them -- Materials and fabricating -- Drilling and countersinking -- Riveting -- Bolts and threaded fasteners -- Aircraft plumbing -- Control cables -- Electrical wiring and installation -- Aircraft drawings -- Nondestructive testing (NDT) or Nondestructive inspection (NDI) -- Corrosion detection and control -- Composites -- Standard parts.
Airfram. Volume 1, Structures by
Call Number: TL671.9 .C663 2006
Chapters include: Basic aerodynamics -- Metallic aircraft structures -- Nonmetallic aircraft structures -- Assembly and rigging -- Hydraulic and pneumatiac power systems -- Aircraft landing gear systems.
Aviation Maintenance Technician: General by
Call Number: TL671.9 .C66467 2005
Covers the first section of the Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) curriculum for aviation maintenance training, with an introduction to aviation and basic lessons in mathematics, physics, and electricity. Progresses to specific aviation concerns such as regulations, mechanic privileges, forms, aircraft hardware, and tools.
Aviation Mechanic Handbook, 6th ed. by
Call Number: TL671.9 .C6648 2011
A reference for mechanics, aircraft owners, and pilots. All the information critical to maintaining an aircraft. Your single source for: mathematics, conversions, formulas; aircraft nomenclature, controls, system specs; material and tool identifications; hardware sizes and equivalents; inspections, corrosion detection and control; frequently used scales, charts, diagrams, and much more.
Aircraft Maintenance and Repair
Call Number: TL671.9 .K72 2013
Provides all of the up-to-date information needed to perform return-to-service-quality aircraft maintenance and pass FAA Certification.
Aircraft Electricity and Electronics by
Call Number: TL690 .E37 2014
Full updated for the latest technological advances, this comprehensive text describes design concepts, FAA certification requirements, and aerospace-quality maintenance and repair techniques for aircraft electrical and electronics systems. The materials contained in this book will benefit designers, engineers, and technicians for all aircraft and aerospace vehicles. The requirements for the FAA Airframe and Powerplant Mechanic certification are also presented.
Aircraft Powerplants by
Call Number: TL701 .A4 2014
Fully revised to cover the latest industry advances, Aircraft Powerplants, Eighth Edition, prepares you for certification as an FAA powerplant technician in accordance with the Federal Aviation Regulations (FAR). This authoritative text has been updated to reflect recent changes in FAR Part 147.
Aviation Maintenance Technician Handbook-Powerplant by
Call Number: TL701.5 .A94 2012
This volume of the series emphasizes theory and methods of practical application within the overall topic of the powerplant of an aircraft: the aircraft engine and the powerplant-related aircraft maintenance principles, fundamentals, and technical procedures.
Aviation Maintenance Technician: Powerplant by
Call Number: TL701.5 .C725 2011
Detailing the technical maintenance of turbine and reciprocating engines, this book covers the final section of the FAA's required curriculum for aviation maintenance technicians.
874 Dillingham Boulevard, Honolulu, HI 96817
Email: firstname.lastname@example.org Web: http://honolulu.hawaii.edu/library