Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Honolulu Community College Library
The Narcissism Epidemic by
Call Number: BF575.N35 T84 2013
Narcissism--an inflated view of the self--is everywhere. Parents teach it by dressing children in T-shirts that say "Princess." Teenagers and young adults hone it on Facebook, and celebrity newsmakers have elevated it to an art form. And it's making people depressed, lonely, and buried under piles of debt.
Citing a rise in such factors as cosmetic surgery, status-related debt, and misrepresented Facebook profiles, a cautionary report on the increase of unhealthy ego-related behaviors examines its actual cost to families, organizations, and societies.
The Digital Divide: Arguments for and Against Facebook, Google, Texting, and the Age of Social Networking by
Call Number: HM851 .D524 2011
Twitter, Facebook, e-publishing, blogs, distance-learning and other social media raise some of the most divisive cultural questions of our time. Some see the technological breakthroughs we live with as hopeful and democratic new steps in education, information gathering, and human progress. But others are deeply concerned by the eroding of civility online, declining reading habits, withering attention spans, and the treacherous effects of 24/7 peer pressure on our young.
This definitive work on the perils and promise of the social media revolution collects writings by today's best thinkers and cultural commentators.
New Books: Circulating Collection
Books are in call number order
Grandparents As Parents, Second Edition by
Call Number: HQ759.9 .D423 2013
Wise, honest, moving stories show how numerous other grandparents are surviving and thriving in their new roles. Updated throughout, and reflecting current laws and policies affecting families, the second edition features new discussions of kids' technology use and other timely issues.
Resilient Grandparent Caregivers by
Call Number: HQ759.9 .R475 2013
The study of grandparents raising grandchildren, now almost two decades old, has tended to have a negative bias, emphasizing the difficulties such people face and the negative impact that grandparent caregiving has on them physically, socially, and emotionally. This edited book seeks to reverse this trend by taking a positive approach to understanding grandparent caregivers, focusing on their resilience and resourcefulness.
Focus on Single-Parent Families: Past, Present, and Future by
Call Number: HQ759.915 .F63 2010
This book provides a range of cutting-edge research articles and essays on what has become the most dynamic change in family structure in U.S. history. Throughout, the book gauges the impact of the increasing number of single-parent families on the nation as a whole, particularly in regard to policies concerning family welfare, children's services and health care, schools, and other essential social institutions.
Surviving and Thriving in Stepfamily Relationships by
Call Number: HQ759.92 .P353 2013
This book draws on current research, a wide variety of clinical modalities, and thirty years of clinical work with stepfamily members to describe the special challenges stepfamilies face.
Understanding Families: Supportive Approaches to Diversity, Disability, and Risk by
Call Number: HV697 .H35 2013
This updated bestselling text, weaves in cutting-edge research on social, demographic, and economic changes and connects the research to best practices in family-centered care. With a strong emphasis on family resilience, this book gets pre-service and in-service professionals ready to work with a broad range of families with diverse structures, backgrounds, and circumstances.
Barron's SAT, 26th Edition by
Call Number: LB2353.57 .G737 2012
A guide to the SAT that features a test overview, study and test-taking strategies, full-length practice tests, a diagnostic test, vocabulary flash cards, subject reviews in critical reading, grammar, and mathematics, and other helpful resources.
Techniques of Safety Management: A Systems Approach by
Call Number: T55 .P37 200
As the title suggests, this book provides the techniques managers can use to create an effective behavior-based safety program as well as measuring its effectiveness. The author also discusses how to prepare the written plans required by OSHA. He approaches the change necessary to implement a behavior-based progam in terms of proactive and reactive system elements. The key proactive elements are defined as: changing behavior; changing physical conditions; changing the management system, and using ergonomic principles to design a healthier and more productive work environment.
Aviation Maintenance Technician Handbook-General by
Call Number: TL671.9 .A94 2013
This handbook is designed for use by instructors and applicants preparing for the FAA Knowledge and Practical Exams for obtaining an FAA Aviation Maintenance Technician (AMT) certificate, also known as an A&P license, with Airframe and/or Powerplant ratings.
Early Childhood Education
Common Destiny: Filipino American Generations by
Call Number: E184.F4 L68 2006
Filipino Americans, like many ethnic groups in America, are complex and heterogeneous. This book documents how Filipino Americans have grown within the context of political forces, the prevailing social order, rights and responsibilities of individuals, economic success, and the American Dream.
Japan & Japanese Literature
Handbook to Life in Medieval and Early Modern Japan by
Call Number: DS822.2 .D33 2007 (Reference)
Organized thematically, the text covers: History; Land, Environment, and Population; Government; Society and Economy; Warriors and Warfare; Religion; Philosophy, Education, and Science; Language and Literature; Performing Arts; Art and Architecture; Travel and Communication; Daily Life.
Japanese Tales by
Call Number: GR340 .J33 1987
This selection of over two hundred tales from medieval Japan includes stories of miracles, visions of hell, jokes, fables, and legends from history.
A Woman's Weapon: Spirit Possession in the Tale of Genji by
Call Number: PL788.4.G43 B37 1997
In this subtle and highly original reading of Murasaki Shikibu's The Tale of Genji (Genji monogatari), the author explores the role of possessing spirits (mono no ke) from a female viewpoint. In several key episodes of the Genji, Heian noblewomen (or their mediums) tremble, speak in strange voices, and tear their hair and clothing while under the spell of mono no ke.
Memoirs of Henry Obookiah by
Call Number: BV3680.H4 O33 2012 (Hawaii Pacific)
This memoir details the amazing story of a uniquely able, adaptable, alert, curious, educable, hard-working, unusually intelligent and very remarkable nineteenth century young Hawaiian. Opukaha'ia bridged the idol worship of the Pacific with the Christianity of the Atlantic. It is a story of suffering, pain and death. But it is also a story of healing, renewal and joyous faith. Opukaha'ia's amazing story is an important part of Hawaiian and American history.
874 Dillingham Boulevard, Honolulu, HI 96817
Email: firstname.lastname@example.org Web: http://honolulu.hawaii.edu/library