Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Honolulu Community College Library
The Big Tiny: A Built-It-Myself Memoir by
Call Number: TH4860 .W525 2014
Dee Williams’s life changed in an instant, with a near-death experience in the aisle of her local grocery store. Diagnosed with a heart condition at age forty-one, she was all too suddenly reminded that life is short, time is precious, and she wanted to be spending hers with the people and things she truly loved. A new sense of clarity began to take hold...
Deciding to build an eighty-four-square-foot house—on her own, from the ground up—was just the beginning of building a new life. Williams can now list everything she owns on one sheet of paper, her monthly housekeeping bills amount to about eight dollars, and it takes her approximately ten minutes to clean the entire house. It’s left her with more time to spend with family and friends, and given her freedom to head out for adventure at a moment’s notice, or watch the clouds and sunset while drinking a beer on her (yes, tiny) front porch.
The lessons Williams learned from her “aha” moment post-trauma apply to all of us, every day, regardless of whether or not we decide to discard all our worldly belongings. Part how-to, part personal memoir, The Big Tiny is an utterly seductive meditation on the benefits of slowing down, scaling back, and appreciating the truly important things in life.
New COMMUNICATION ARTS Books
The Wall Street Journal Guide to Information Graphics by
Call Number: HF5718.22 .W65 2013
In this book, you will learn: to choose the best chart that fits your data; the most effective way to communicate with decision makers when you have five minutes of their time; how to chart currency fluctuations that affect global business; how to use color effectively; how to make a graphic colorful even if only black and white are available.
Books are in call number order
The Visual Language of Drawing: Lessons on the Art of Seeing by
Call Number: NC590 .M34 2012
Featuring the insights of 15 current and former Art Students League instructors, this stunning volume reassesses the art of drawing not as a technique, but as the essential grammar of all visual thinking. The contributors then offer a broad range of stylistic approaches and methodologies, accompanied by examples of their own and their students' artwork.
Coloring Your Brand
Call Number: NC997 .C64 2013
Perhaps the single most important aspect of any successful brand, a color is often recognizable long before the form of a logo or the letters that make up a business name. Coloring Your Brand showcases effective brands through their use of color on a variety of materials including business cards, packaging, promotional design, stationery, and much more.
Agitate! Educate! Organize!: American Labor Posters by
Call Number: NC1849.L3 C874 2009
A brief history of activist graphic media -- Dignity and exploitation -- Health and safety -- Women -- Race and civil rights -- War, peace, and internationalism -- Solidarity and organizing -- Strikes and boycotts -- Democracy, voting, and patriotism -- History, heroes, and martyrs -- Culture.
Color and Design by
Call Number: NK1548 .C64 2012
Color and Design addresses how we understand and experience color, and through specific examples explores how color is used in a spectrum of design-based disciplines including apparel design, graphic design, interior design, and product design. Through highly engaging contributions from a wide range of international scholars and practitioners, the book explores color as an individual and cultural phenomenon, as a pragmatic device for communication, and as a valuable marketing tool.
Cool Infographics: Effective Communication with Data Visualization and Design by
Call Number: T385 .K78 2014
This innovative book presents the design process and the best software tools for creating infographics that communicate. Including a special section on how to construct the increasingly popular infographic resume, the book offers graphic designers, marketers, and business professionals vital information on the most effective ways to present data.
New WELDING Books
Books are in call number order
Learn to Weld: Beginning MIG Welding and Metal Fabrication Basics by
Call Number: TK4660 .C517 2014
The book starts with the basics: setting up your studio, the right safety gear and safety procedures, and the equipment and materials you will need to begin with welding. With the help of step-by-step metalworking photos and tutorials, you will learn detailed techniques for cutting and grinding, and for joinery using a MIG welder.
How to Weld by
Call Number: TS227 .B7454 2008
This book starts with a brief history of welding, an overview of the different types of welding, and a thorough discussion of safety practices. Longtime welding instructor Todd Bridigum describes various tools and types of metals, as well as techniques and types of joints. Bridigum discusses gas, stick, wire-feed (MIG and TIG), even brazing, completing each section with a series of exercises that fully illustrate the skills he has covered. .
Call Number: TS227 .H597 2012
Drawing on 50+ years of combined instructional experience, the authors of Welding fuse simplicity and technology to deliver exactly what today's students need. Built from the ground up -- beginning with an experienced author team's vision and an extensively reviewed table of contents -- Welding provides essential coverage of safety, theory, key skills, easy-to-read reference charts and tables, detailed step-by-step procedures, and much more. Clear and concise, this consistently-organized, reader-friendly text flows logically and includes just the right amount of information for today's student.
Welding and Metal Fabrication by
Call Number: TS227 .J418 2012
A unique hands-on, project-based learning strategy to teach welding skills effectively and keep students highly motivated. This groundbreaking new text connects each welding technique to a useful and creative take-home project, making exercises both practical and personal for students' and avoiding the tedium of traditional, repetitive welding practices.
Metalworking - Doing It Better by
Call Number: TS227 .L578 2014
This collection of priceless tips, tricks, skills, and experiences from a veteran of the trade is presented in a way that captures the readers attention and engages them in the process of furthering their skills. It includes shop-tested descriptions and illustrations of creative and unique techniques and observations from four decades in the metalworking trades.
Call Number: TS228 .G425 2011
Filled with step-by-step instructions and detailed illustrations, Welding, Second Edition provides an easy-to-follow introduction to oxyacetylene welding and cutting, soldering, and basic metal properties.
Current PRINT issue(s) are now on display in the library.
- Diesel Tech is a very informative and entertaining magazine, providing the latest truck industry news and technical articles with real-world application, feel and style.
- General Aviation News - Since 1949, GAN has been bringing up-to-the-minute, factual details about all aspects of general aviation.
- HOW magazine strives to serve the business, technological and creative needs of graphic-design professionals with a practical mix of essential business information, up-to-date technological tips, the creative whys and hows behind noteworthy projects, and profiles of professionals who are influencing design.
The Devouring Dragon: How China's Rise Threatens Our Natural World by
Call Number: GE190.C6 S55 2014
This book looks at how an ascending China has rapidly surpassed the U.S. and Europe as the planet's worst-polluting superpower. It argues that China's most important 21st-century legacy will be determined not by jobs, corporate profits, or political alliances, but by how quickly its growth degrades the global environment and whether it can stem the damage.
The Hikers Guide to Oahu by
Call Number: GV199.42.H32 B35 2013
Experienced and novice hikers alike will benefit from the information in this updated and expanded edition. The author describes in detail 52 trails that will take you to O'ahu's lush valleys, cascading waterfalls, windswept ridges, and remote seacoasts. Although 8 trails from the previous edition are no longer open to the public, 10 new hikes have been added.
The Thought of Work by
Call Number: HD4904 .B78 2011
What is work? Is it simply a burden to be tolerated or something more meaningful to one's sense of identity and self-worth? And why does it matter? In a uniquely thought-provoking book, John W. Budd presents ten historical and contemporary views of work from across the social sciences and humanities.
Machine Shop Trade Secrets: A Guide to Manufacturing Machine Shop Practices by
Call Number: TJ1165 .H37 2013
Written by an experienced machinist and plastic injection mold maker, this groundbreaking manual will have users thinking and producing like experienced machinists. Machine Shop Trade Secrets provides practical “how-to” information that can immediately be put to use to improve ones machining skills, craftsmanship, and productivity. It is sure to be used and referred to time and again.
Ready, Set, Weld!
Beginner-friendly Projects for the Home & Garden by
Call Number: TT211 .M37 2009
Welding made effortless! With simple techniques targeted to a wide and general audience, this guide eliminates the intimidation from an all-too-often technical craft. With purchased steel rod and bar or found metal parts from a salvage yard, plus basic, easy-to-use tools, she shows how to construct 25 whimsically attractive items.
Math for Welders
Math for Welders by
Call Number: TS227.2 .M37 2013
a combination text and workbook designed to help welding students learn and apply basic math skills. The basic concept behind each math operation is explained at the opening of the unit. Next, students are given clear instruction for performing the operation. Each unit includes a variety of welding related practice problems to reinforce what the students have learned. The practice problems are identical to the types of problems the students will be required to solve in a welding shop.
874 Dillingham Boulevard, Honolulu, HI 96817
Email: firstname.lastname@example.org Web: http://honolulu.hawaii.edu/library