Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Honolulu Community College Library
Hand Tools: Their Ways and Workings
Call Number: TJ1195 .W356 2002
An illustrated guide to woodworking tools and how to use them. For those who would like the benefit of a woodworker's extensive experience with hand tools, this is the book to own.
Building Construction and more...
Call Number: TA681 .N65 2010
This comprehensive concrete manual has both the tried-and-tested methods and materials, and more recent innovations.
Plan Reading and Material Takeoff
Call Number: TH431 .D45 1994
Learn how to: read and interpret building plans; create an accurate takeoff, using a complete set of working drawings.
Making Better Buildings
Call Number: TH880 .M34 2014
Subtitle: A Comparative Guide to Sustainable Construction for Homeowners and Contractors.
Graphic Guide to Frame Construction
Call Number: TH1101 .T48 2008
The book that builders, architects, and students have relied on for almost 20 years has been completely updated to cover new materials, construction methods, and the latest building code revisions.
Carpentry, 6th Edition
Call Number: TH5604 .V64 2014
Walks the student step-by-step through the various principles and practices associated with constructing a residential building.
Guide to Producing a Fashion Show by
Call Number: TT502 .E83 2013
The definitive source of information for anyone interested in fashion show production - from an informal affair to a large, complex event. All aspects of fashion show production are covered including reasons to produce a show, planning, model selection, merchandise selection, staging and music, budgeting, show preparation, execution, and evaluation. The third edition is up to date with behind-the-scenes examples and expanded coverage of technology, the Internet and social media, training amateur models, and how to set up and run a dressing room. For novices and experienced readers alike, this text provides a step-by-step process for how to plan, organize, promote, and execute an exciting fashion show.
The Untold Story: Internment of Japanese Americans in Hawai'i by
Call Number: DVD 0354
Publication Date: 2013
Within hours of Japan's attack on Pearl Harbor, Hawai'i authorities arrested several hundred local Japanese on O'ahu, Maui, Hawai'i island and Kaua'i. Over 2,000 men and women of Japanese ancestry were arrested, detained and interned at 13 different confinement sites located in Hawai'i. There was no evidence of espionage or sabotage and no charges were ever filed against them. While the story of the 1942 mass round-up, eviction, and imprisonment of Japanese Americans in California, Oregon, and Washington is well documented, very little is known about the Hawai'i internees and their unique experience during World War II.
New MELE Books
Pro Tools 11: Music Production, Recording, Editing, and Mixing by
Call Number: ML74.4.P76 C67 2014
You'll get more than descriptions of Pro Tools features and menus—this book grounds its Pro Tools instruction thoroughly in real-world music production. Learn to leverage this powerful DAW and bend it to your will, whether you're recording and mixing a band or producing a dance track. Extensive full-color screenshots visually guide you through the book, and an informal writing style keeps you engaged.
Music Publishing -- the Complete Guide by
Call Number: ML112 .W56 2013
Subjects covered include copyright; performing rights organizations; mechanical, synchronization, and print licensing; songwriter and composer agreements; publishing administration and foreign sub-publishing; production music libraries; pitching and placement companies; sampling; and much more. Written by an attorney with over 30 years of experience in the music industry.
Modern MIDI: Sequencing and Performing Using Traditional and Mobile Tools by
Call Number: MT723 .M35 2014
In the last five years, the environment in which the Musical Instrument Digital Interface (MIDI) specification works and the tools that communicate via MIDI have changed dramatically. Exploring typical workflows and techniques for both the studio and the performing environment, this book helps you navigate the changes that mobile computing has made to the way the music producers and engineers work with MIDI.
Recording on a Budget: How to Make Great Audio Recordings Without Breaking the Bank by
Call Number: TK7881.4 .E28 2011
This is a comprehensive introduction to the recording arts from a budget-conscious perspective. Topics include selecting and using the components of a project studio from microphones and mixers to software and signal processors. Additionally, the book provides a solid foundation in acoustics, audio recording, podcasting, mixing, and mastering.
The Mixing Engineer's Handbook, 3rd ed. by
Call Number: TK7881.4 .O975 2014
Covers all the fundamentals, breaking the mixing process down into easily understandable elements. This book helps you learn the secrets of equalization and "magic frequencies," along with easy-to-grasp methods for adding effects, EQ'ing reverbs, sonic layering, calculating delay time, and more.
Mixing Secrets for the Small Studio by
Call Number: TK7881.4 .S465 2013
A down-to-earth primer for small-studio enthusiasts who want chart-ready sonics in a hurry. Drawing on the backroom strategies of more than 100 famous names, this entertaining guide leads you step-by-step through the entire mixing process.
New REFRIGERATION & AIR CONDITIONING Books
Practical Problems in Mathematics for Heating and Cooling Technicians
Call Number: TH7226 .D48 2013
This 6th edition text presents mathematical theories in concise, easy to understand segments, and reinforces each concept with multiple examples and practice problems from real-world HVAC tasks, including the latest in geothermal systems, and zone heating and cooling.
HVAC Equations, Data, and Rules of Thumb, 2nd Edition
Call Number: TH7225 .B45 2008
A wealth of state-of-the-art HVAC design information and guidance, ranging from air distribution to piping systems to plant equipment. This popular reference has now been fully updated to reflect the construction industry's new single body of codes and standards.
Refrigeration and Air Conditioning Technology, 7th Edition
Call Number: TP492 .W6 2013
Now celebrating its 25th anniversary, this time honored best seller provides the exceptional hands-on guidance, practical applications, latest technology and solid foundation you need to fully understand today's HVAC service and repair, its environmental challenges, and their solutions. Focused on sustainable technology in today's HVAC/R industry with an emphasis on new technologies and the latest advancements in the industry.
Understanding Comics: The Invisible Art by
Call Number: PN6710 .M335 1994
Praised throughout the cartoon industry by such luminaries as Art Spiegelman, Matt Groening, and Will Eisner, this innovative comic book provides a detailed look at the history, meaning, and art of comics and cartooning.
Fables Vol. 1, Legends in Exile
Call Number: PN6727.W52 F38 2012
Fables: Legends in Exile collects the first five issues of writer and creator Bill Willingham's award-winning Vertigo series.
Fables. Vol. 2, Animal Farm
Call Number: PN6727.W52 F383 2012
Fables #6-10, the second story arc of the fan-favorite, critically acclaimed Vertigo series.
The Complete Persepolis by
Call Number: PN6747.S245 P4713 2007
(Graphic Novel) This is the story of the author's childhood and coming of age within a large and loving family in Tehran during the Islamic Revolution.
Call Number: PZ7.S55987 Unw 2009
Publication Date: 2009-06-02
(Science Fiction) In a future world where those between the ages of thirteen and eighteen can have their lives "unwound" and their body parts harvested for use by others, three teens go to extreme lengths to uphold their beliefs and to survive until they turn eighteen.
Graphic Design for Fashion
Call Number: NC997 .H47 2014
Presents an international survey of contemporary graphic design and fashion in four areas: branding, invitations, lookbooks, and packaging.
Breaking the Silence
Call Number: HN933 .S6 v.45
Publication Date: 2014
Lessons of democracy and social justice from the World War II Honouliuli internment and POW camp in Hawaiʻi
Na Mele O Hawai'i Nei: 101 Hawaiian Songs by
Call Number: M1844.H3 E4
A large collection of Hawaiian songs in an authoritative text with translation (music not included). These songs are all postmissionary and owe their musical origin to missionary hymns, although only a few are religious. They date from the mid-1850s (most are from the time of the monarchy) to 1968 (the date of Mary Kawena Pukui's translation of Christmas songs).
874 Dillingham Boulevard, Honolulu, HI 96817
Email: firstname.lastname@example.org Web: http://honolulu.hawaii.edu/library