Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Honolulu Community College Library
Extreme Costume Makeup: Creepy & Cool Step-by-Step Demos
Call Number: TT911 .W647 2013
Why fear the things that go bump in the night when you can become one?
World-renowned special effects artists Brian and Nick Wolfe will teach you how to transform everyday faces into an army of ghastly personas--from raging fire demons and disfigured zombies, to blood-spattered vampires and otherworldly aliens--with simple face-painting techniques. Learn the secrets to creating believable, creepy costume makeup with readily available materials, easy-to-follow instruction, and a monster-load of cool inspiration for everyone from novices to more experienced face painters.
New COSMETOLOGY & FASHION Books
Costume Design 101:The Business and Art of Creating Costumes for Film and Television
Call Number: PN1995.9.C56 L32 2010
This book takes readers by the hand and leads them, step by step, through the process of becoming a professional costume designer for film and television. Starting with how to get into the business, conduct interviews, make costume presentations to producers and directors, break down scripts for requirements and budgets, hire and run costume departments, engage in manufacture, work with rental companies, and run on-set production, this book demystifies the design process for the creative costume designer.
Books are in call number order
Filmcraft: Costume Design
Call Number: PN1995.9.C56 L358 2012b
In this volume, 16 of the world's greatest movie costume designers come together to share their inspiration and knowledge with the world. They provide insights into the challenges of building a team, working with budgets and collaboration with production designers, actors and directors.
A Complete Guide to Special Effects Makeup by
Call Number: PN2068 .C595 2012
This book covers basic facial makeup styles, simple scars and gashes, masks, and molds and cast-making, plus instructions to create vampires, zombies and other fantastical characters. With clear step-by-step directions and color photographs, it presents stunning conceptual pieces from many of the contributing artists and a section on manga and cosplay hair and makeup.
Special Makeup Effects for Stage and Screen: Making and Applying Prosthetics
Call Number: PN2068 .D43 2013
Along with walking you through genre-specific considerations (horror, fantasy, sci-fi, and so on) the author also teaches you about the gear you will need, how to maintain your kit, how to take care of the actor's skin, how to airbrush properly when HD is involved, and so much more. Learn how to sculpt and mold your own makeup prosthetics, with a focus on how human anatomy relates to sculpture, to create the most realistic effects.
Special Effects Make-Up
Call Number: PN2068 .V56 2002
In this book, Janus Vinther provides step-by-step guidelines for achieving a wide variety of grotesque and outlandish effects, including bullet holes, body fluids and burns. In addition there is a chapter on specialised character make-up ranging from Dracula to the Terminator. With detailed explanation of techniques and materials and illustrated throughout, this book contains everything you need to know to look your worst.
Makeup Is Art
Call Number: RA778 .M268 2011
A masterclass for anyone who wants to know how makeup stylists do what they do, the top beauty secrets only professional artists know, essential equipment to keep on hand, how to break into the business and how to work with photographers and celebrities, Makeup Is Art offers a true insight into the creative world of makeup artistry
Call Number: TT633 .A83 2014
Filled with striking images of costume play from around the world, this definitive look at the global phenomenon known as "cosplay" examines its evolution from the fringes of society to the spotlight of modern culture.
Creative Costumes and Halloween Decor: 50 Projects to Craft & Sew
Call Number: TT633 .C74 2008
Whether you are creating costumes, planning a spooky party or wanting to entice trick-or-treaters with delightfully eerie displays, Creative Costumes & Halloween Décor will give you a wealth of inspiration and detailed easy-to-follow directions for each project. ... With projects ranging from kid-friendly to beginner to advanced, everyone can participate in the Halloween fun.
1,000 Incredible Costume and Cosplay Ideas
Call Number: TT633 .H35 2013
Provides a broad and detailed glimpse into the ingenious artistry and attention to detail behind some of the most fabulous costumes you can find.
Serger Sewing Basics
Call Number: TT713 .Z47 2014
Offers instructions, illustrations, and tips for thirteen serging projects, along with an overview of the components, different types of stitches, tools and supplies, techniques, maintenance, and troubleshooting for the machine.
Vintage Hairstyling: Retro Styles with Step-by-step Techniques
Call Number: TT972 .R462 2009
This book offers the steps you need to recreate hairstyles of the past. To style hair with a vintage look, this book includes: instructions for hairstyles from the 1930s, 1940s, 1950s, and 1960s, using detailed photographs; a breakdown of techniques used in the past, plus modern options to achieve the same look; ideas on combining elements for your hair and skill level; and tips on hair accessories, makeup, and nails to complete the retro look.
Wig Making and Styling: A Complete Guide for Theatre & Film
Call Number: TT975 .R87 2013
Covers the basics of styling and creating wigs for film and stage, such as hair types, styling tools, wig making and measuring, coloring, cutting, maintenance, and storage. Includes techniques to design different historical hairstyles, to create beards and toupees, and tips for altering existing wigs or making wigs from scratch. Also offers solutions to wig-making problems and information about theater productions.
New For EIMT Program
The Electrician's Trade Demystified
Call Number: TK148 .H47 2014
Everything an aspiring electrician needs to know; covers electrical theory, practical electrical work, and the National Electrical Code; perfect for self-study for your electrician's licensing exam; complete with end-of-chapter quizzes and a final exam.
Electric Motor Maintenance and Troubleshooting
Call Number: TK2514 .H256 2011
A fully up-to-date, hands-on guide to electric motors. Essential for anyone who needs to buy, install, troubleshoot, maintain, or repair small to industrial-size electric motors, this practical guide contains new information on three-phase motors along with coverage of the latest test instruments.
Electrical Wiring Commercial, 15th Ed.
Call Number: TK3284 .M85 2015
Offering the most current coverage available; this book is completely revised and up to date with the 2014 National Electrical Code. Extremely reader friendly, the text has long been popular with learners. Vibrant, full-color illustrations and photographs help you easily grasp difficult concepts.
Electrical Wiring Residential, 18th Ed.
Call Number: TK3285 .M84 2015
Delivering the very latest in industry standards and procedures...the 18th edition continues to provide comprehensive, authoritative coverage that fully implements the 2014 National Electrical Code. The book's signature three-part organization thoroughly covers Code, Electrical Knowledge, and Applications.
How to Diagnose and Fix Everything Electronic
Call Number: TK7870.2 .G43 2011
In this hands-on guide, a lifelong electronics repair guru shares his tested techniques and invaluable insights. How to Diagnose and Fix Everything Electronic shows you how to repair and extend the life of all kinds of solid-state devices, from modern digital gadgetry to cherished analog products of yesteryear.
New SHEET METAL/WELDING Books
Professional Sheet Metal Fabrication
Call Number: TL255.8 .B37 2013
Join veteran metalworker Ed Barr as he walks you through the ins and outs of planning a sheet metal project, acquiring the necessary tools and resources, doing the work, and adding the perfect finishing touches for a seamless final product.
Books are in call number order
Automotive Sheet Metal Forming and Fabrication
Call Number: TL255.8 .J67 2011
Creating door skins, fenders, hoods, and a variety of other components from sheet metal is a crucial skill for building hot rods, restoring many classic cars, and fabricating parts for competition cars...
Metalworking Sink or Swim: Tips and Tricks for Machinists, Welders, and Fabricators
Call Number: TS205 .L57 2009
This collection of priceless tips, tricks, skills, and experiences from a veteran of the trade is presented in a way that captures the attention of users and engages them in the process of furthering the art. It includes shop-tested descriptions and illustrations of creative and unique skills and observations from almost 40 years in the metalworking trades.
Call Number: TS250 .M54 2006
This classic text has been updated to include factoids providing useful technical facts, large two-color illustrations, and class activities related to chapter content.
Sheet Metal Bible
Call Number: TS250 .R467 2010
Learn how to: plan the project, shrink & stretch, use the English wheel, weld aluminum or steel, layout complex projects.
New Magazine Subscription
- UNDERCAR DIGEST serves automotive-repair facilities involved in undercar services that include brake, exhaust and chassis diagnostics and repairs. It also covers a variety of other repairs including drivability. Current PRINT issues are now on display in the library.
Mastering Type: The Essential Guide to Typography for Print and Web Design
Call Number: Z246 .B68 2012
Through instruction, interviews and real-world inspiration, Mastering Type explores the power of each typographic element--both as it stands alone and as it works with other elements--to create successful design, to strengthen your skill set and to inspire your next project.
The Elements of Typographic Style
Call Number: Z246 .B74 2012
Renowned typographer and poet Robert Bringhurst brings clarity to the art of typography with this masterful style guide.
Making and Breaking the Grid: A Graphic Design Layout Workshop
Call Number: Z246 .S23 2005
Making and Breaking the Grid is a comprehensive layout design workshop that assumes that in order to effectively break the rules of grid-based design, one must first understand those rules and see them applies to real-world projects.
A+ Guide to Managing and Maintaining Your PC
Call Number: QA76.3 .A56 2014
This step-by-step, highly visual text provides a comprehensive introduction to managing and maintaining computer hardware and software. Written by best-selling author and educator Jean Andrews, this text integrates the CompTIAA+ Exam objectives to prepare you for the 220-801 and 220-802 certification exams.
Linux for Beginners
Call Number: QA76.76.O63 C366 2014
Linux for Beginners doesn't make any assumptions about your background or knowledge of Linux. You need no prior knowledge to benefit from this book. You will be guided step by step using a logical and systematic approach.
Network+ Guide to Networks
Call Number: TK5105.5 .D439 2013
The completely updated Network+ Guide to Networks, 6th Edition gives readers the technical skills and industry know-how required to begin an exciting career installing, configuring, and troubleshooting computer networks.
Math for CTE
Mathematics for Plumbers and Pipefitters
Call Number: TH6126 .S65 2013
Provides the essential math skills necessary for plumbing and pipefitting, including a thorough math review and on-the-job applications, such as pipe length calculations, sheet metal work, and the builder's level. Includes real-world examples, reference tables, and formulas.
Practical Problems in Mathematics for Electricians
Call Number: TK153 .H44 2012
Give your students the math skills they need to succeed in the electrical trade. It introduces them to the important math principles through problems designed for the electrical profession and offers them an excellent opportunity to develop and practice problem-solving skills while at the same time providing a valuable review of electrical terminology.
874 Dillingham Boulevard, Honolulu, HI 96817
Email: firstname.lastname@example.org Web: http://honolulu.hawaii.edu/library