Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Honolulu Community College Library
New ARCHITECTURAL, ENGINEERING & CAD TECH Books
Books are in call number order
The Codes Guidebook for Interiors
Call Number: KF5701 .H37 2011
This book offers jargon-free explanations of the major codes, standards, and federal regulations of concern to designers and architects, including performance codes, fire codes, building and finish standards, energy codes, and Americans with Disabilities standards.
The Architect's Guide to Effective Self-Presentation
Call Number: NA1995 .L79 2014
In today's increasingly competitive marketplace, the creation of a successful resume is a vital skill needed by architectural students and professionals alike. This book demystifies the architecture resume, its working strategy and its purposes. The book guides readers through the process of thinking through, prioritizing, characterizing and expressing career profiles in written and visual form.
The Architect's Portfolio: Planning, Design, Production
Call Number: NA1996 .L84 2010
This book is an invaluable tool for students and working practitioners. It's a fresh step-by-step approach to achieving a reflective, attractive, and successful representation of your work. Structured in four stages it takes the reader through each step needed in the creation of a successful portfolio, from understanding yourself and your market to planning, designing, and producing it.
Architectural Theory, Vol 1 & 2
Call Number: NA2500 .A7115 2006
A landmark anthology that surveys the development of the field of architecture from its earliest days to the year 1870. The first truly comprehensive anthology that brings together the classic essays in the field, the volume chronicles the major developments and trends in architecture from Vitruvius to Gottfried Semper.
Sun, Wind, and Light: Architectural Design Strategies, 3rd Ed.
Call Number: NA2542.3 .B76 2014
This fully updated Third Edition covers principles of designing buildings that use the sun for heating, wind for cooling, and daylight for natural lighting. Using hundreds of illustrations, this book offers practical strategies that give the designer the tools they need to make energy efficient buildings.
Architectural Drawing: A Visual Compendium of Types and Methods
Call Number: NA2708 .Y439 2013
Today's most comprehensive compendium of architectural drawing types and methods, both hand drawn and computer generated, this title remains a one-of-a-kind visual reference and an outstanding source of guidance and inspiration for students and professionals at every level. Fourth edition.
The Architect's Guide to Residential Design
Call Number: NA7115 .M25 2010
This hands-on resource enables you to transfer and expand your architectural design skills and successfully integrate single-family residential design into your professional practice. The Architect's Guide to Residential Design discusses typical residential design issues, such as budgets and construction schedules, and offers guidelines for interacting with design-conscious clients.
Architectural Design with SketchUp: Component-Based Modeling, Plugins, Rendering, and Scripting
Call Number: T385 .S3347 2013
While it is easy to pick up the basic techniques of SketchUp, going beyond these essentials requires step-by-step instruction and practice. Architectural Design with SketchUp provides the knowledge to move past the basics and take full advantage of SketchUp as a powerful 3D modeling tool." Includes tutorials, end-of-chapter exercises, full-color illustrations, and a companion website.
Building Systems for Interior Designers
Call Number: TH6014 .B56 2010
Addresses the special concerns of the interior designer within the context of the rest of the building design team. This book explains technical building systems and engineering issues. Covering systems from HVAC to water and waste to lighting, transportation, and safety, it helps interior designers to communicate more effectively with architects.
New CONSTRUCTION MANAGEMENT Books
Books are in call number order
Running a Successful Construction Company
Call Number: HD9715.A2 G46 2002
Running a small business can be daunting to the contractor whose expertise is in building -- not finance or law. This book helps to demystify the day-to-day challenges that contractors face.
Construction Management JumpStart
Call Number: HD9715.A2 J32 2010
This second edition of a bestselling introduction to construction management walks you through each stage of the construction management process. Written from the constructor's perspective, this book will familiarize you with all the construction management fundamentals and how Building Information Modeling (BIM) is impacting the construction management profession.
Accounting and Financial Management for Residential Construction
Call Number: HF5686.B7 S54 2008
This solid resource for builders, remodelers, developers, and contractors provides detailed information on how an accounting system operates and the basic principles for processing financial data. This fifth edition explains how technology facilitates procedures for such items as accounts payable, change orders, and payroll and how it impacts processing systems.
The Report Guide: Job Cost Reports for Sage Timberline Office
Call Number: TH435 .B53 2009
This book surveys the 'Reports' menu in the Job Cost application of Sage Timberline Office. It answers questions such as: What do the reports look like? Where do I find them? Which are the best for me? Use it to review the standard reports, understand the purpose of each, and identify which fit your needs, and that of your company.
Markup and Profit: A Contractor's Guide, Revisited
Call Number: TH435 .S825 2012
This book covers the business basics of running a construction company, whether you're a general or specialty contractor working in remodeling, new construction or commercial work. The principles outlined here apply to all construction-related businesses. You'll find tried and tested formulas to guarantee profits, with step-by-step instructions and easy-to-follow examples to help you learn how to operate your business successfully. Includes a link to free downloads of blank forms and checklists used in this book.
Construction Project Management: A Complete Introduction
Call Number: TH438 .D95 2011
This straightforward and readable yet thorough textbook focuses on the role of the contractor, taking the reader from start to finish in a construction project - from the early developmental stage through bidding, selection of the contractor, construction itself, and close-out. A wide range of practical issues are explored and frequently asked questions answered.
Construction Codes and Inspection Handbook
Call Number: TH439 .T39 2006
Ensure code compliance, accurate calculations, and quality, while saving time and money. Comprehensive, practical, and visual, this resource provides you with instant access to job-critical information. This book includes 600 tables, charts, checklists and calculations for quick look-up. It provides job-critical data on every major building code.
Bibliographic: 100 Classic Graphic Design Books
Call Number: Z117 .G63 2011
A compilation of design books of the last one hundred years covering a range of material, from historic titles to recent works by leading studios. Offers insight into the evolution of graphic design in the twentieth century.
Architectural & Construction Software
Modern Diesel Technology: Diesel Engines
Call Number: TL229.D5 B46 2015
This 2nd edition provides a thorough, reader-friendly introduction to diesel engine theory, construction, operation, and service. Combining a simple, straightforward writing style, ample illustrations, and step-by-step instruction, this trusted guide helps aspiring technicians develop the knowledge and skills they need to service modern, computer-controlled diesel engines.
ASE Test Preparation - T2 Diesel Engines by
Call Number: TL230.2 .M434 2012
Diesel engines (Test T2); Drive train (Test T3); Brakes (Test T4); Suspension and steering (Test T5); Electrical/electronic systems (Test T6); Heating, ventilation, & air conditioning (Test T7); Preventive maintenance inspection (Test T8).
Manual Drivetrains and Axles
Call Number: TL260 .B57 2015
Ideal for both novice and advanced technicians, this book provides a complete, state-of-the-art source on the operating principles as well as the service and repair procedures for manual drivetrains and axles.
Automotive Steering, Suspension, and Alignment
Call Number: TL259 .H35 2014
Real examples and full color images throughout the text offer readers a practical approach to the diagnosis and repair of the NATEF tasks for the Automotive Steering, Suspension, and Alignment (A4) content area.
874 Dillingham Boulevard, Honolulu, HI 96817
Email: email@example.com Web: http://honolulu.hawaii.edu/library