Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Honolulu Community College Library
Michael Jackson, Inc: The Rise, Fall, and Rebirth of a Billion-Dollar Empire
Call Number: ML420.J175 G75 2014
Chronicles the rise and fall of Michael Jackson's billion-dollar business, revealing how his pioneering merchandising practices and savvy investment strategies reshaped the monetization of fame while paving the way for future artists.
Underlying Jackson’s unique history is the complex but universal tale of the effects of wealth and fame on the human psyche. A valuable case study for generations of entertainers to come and for anyone interested in show business, Michael Jackson, Inc. tells the story of a man whose financial feats, once obscured by his late-life travails, have become an enduring legacy.
New Books: CENT
Android Hacker's Handbook
Call Number: QA76.774.A53 D73 2014
The first comprehensive guide to discovering and preventing attacks on the Android OS, this handbook provides the specifics of the Android operating system from a security standpoint. It explains how the OS works, security risks associated with it, its overall security architecture, how to identify vulnerabilities, and what to do. .
iOS Hacker's Handbook
Call Number: QA76.774.I67 M54 2012
The world loves iOS. Users love the convenience. Black hats love the vulnerability. This book arms you with the knowledge and tools to protect your organization's iOS devices. If you're a developer, it will also help you create hack-resistant applications.
Introduction to Help Desk Concepts and Skills
Call Number: QA76.9.T43 S26 2004
This book will help you learn to identify key components of a successful help desk, understand the steps to process a call, accurately document help calls, determine the root cause of a problem and evaluate solutions, understand computer telephony integration (CIT), use performance management methods, integrate asset management and security policies with technical support, and develop effective communication skills so you can work with different users and situations.
Web Application Security: A Beginner's Guide
Call Number: TK5105.59 .S88 2012
This guide helps you stock your security toolkit, prevent common hacks, and defend quickly against malicious attacks. This practical resource includes chapters on authentication, authorization, and session management, along with browser, database, and file security.
New Books: COMMUNICATION ARTS
Books are in call number order
Graphic Design and Architecture, a 20th Century History
Call Number: NK1390 .P67 2012
A Guide to Type, Image, Symbol, and Visual Storytelling in the Modern World. This innovative volume is the first to provide the design student, practitioner, and educator with an invaluable comprehensive reference of visual and narrative material that illustrates and evaluates the unique and important history surrounding graphic design and architecture.
Design Elements: A Graphic Style Manual
Call Number: Z246 .S225 2007
This book is a fun and accessible handbook that presents the fundamentals of design in lists, tips, brief text, and examples. Includes basic principles of layout, typography, color usage, and space.
Type on Screen: A Critical Guide for Designers, Writers, Developers, and Students
Call Number: Z246 .T87 2014
Covering a broad range of technologies -- from electronic publications and websites to videos and mobile devices -- this hands-on primer presents the latest information available to help designers make critical creative decisions, including how to choose typefaces for the screen, how to style beautiful, functional text and navigation, how to apply principles of animation to text, and how to generate new forms and experiences with code-based operations.
New Books: COSMETOLOGY
The Makeup Artist Handbook: Techniques for Film, Television, Photography, and Theatre
Call Number: PN1995.9.M25 D38 2012
This new edition of the book offers even more illustrations to demonstrate techniques visually; fundamentals on topics such as beauty, time periods, black and white film; and up-to-date information on cutting-edge techniques like air brushing makeup for computer-generated movies, makeup effects, mold-making, lighting, and lots of information on how to work effectively in HD.
Eye Candy: 55 Easy Makeup Looks for Glam Lids and Luscious Lashes
Call Number: RA778 .M3757 2008
In this handy new book, acclaimed makeup artist Linda Mason reveals the secrets of eye makeup with fifty hot looks. Each selection, from everyday to night-on-the-town, is presented so simply, so clearly, that anyone can have fabulous eyes in just a few steps.
Makeup: The Ultimate Guide
Call Number: RA778 .M76958 2008
Simple, step-by-step outlines that emphasize exactly how to apply makeup complement high-fashion images and make this a gorgeous, glamorous guide that will inspire creative, festive faces. Even the most sophisticated and artistic makeup is easy to achieve with these tricks, techniques, and trade secrets.
Call Number: TT972 .P66 2013
85 Salon Looks to Create - A Comprehensive Guide to Styling Your Hair for Stunning Results, with More Than 80 Complete Looks Shown in 500 How-to Photographs.
New Books: MELE
Books are in call number order --> Use scrollbar to view all
The Plain and Simple Guide to Music Publishing, 3rd Ed.
Call Number: ML112 .W58 2014
Since the publication of the first edition in 2005, this book has emerged as the premier guide to the subject. With sufficient depth to be used as a text at major college music industry programs including UCLA, NYU and Northeastern, the book also remains simple and clear enough for the lay songwriter to gain a crucial understanding of musical copyrights and licensing basics.
Yeah! Yeah! Yeah! The Story of Pop Music from Bill Haley to Beyonce
Call Number: ML3470 .S73 2014
It covers the birth of rock, soul, R&B, punk, hip hop, indie, house, techno, and more, and it will remind you why you fell in love with pop music in the first place. Bob Stanley—musician, music critic, and unabashed fan—recounts the progression from the Beach Boys to the Pet Shop Boys to the Beastie Boys; explores what connects doo wop to the sock hop; and reveals how technological changes have affected pop production.
Can't Stop Won't Stop: A History of the Hip-Hop Generation
Call Number: ML3531 .C5 2005
Based on original interviews with DJs, b-boys, rappers, graffiti writers, activists, and gang members, with unforgettable portraits of many of hip-hop's forebears, founders, and mavericks, including DJ Kool Herc, Afrika Bambaataa, Chuck D, and Ice Cube, this book chronicles the events, the ideas, the music, and the art that marked the hip-hop generation's rise from the ashes of the 60's into the new millennium.
Start Your Music Business: How to Earn Royalties, Own Your Music, Sample Music, Protect Your Name & Structure Your Music Business
Call Number: ML3790 .C45 2013
Written by an experienced entertainment lawyer, this book is a guide for songwriters, musicians, producers, music publishers, independent record labels, artists, bands, and individuals in the music industry who want to start and grow a successful music business legally.
Capturing Sound: How Technology Has Changed Music
Call Number: ML3790 .K277 2010
There is more to sound recording than just recording sound. Far from being simply a tool for the preservation of music, the technology is a catalyst. In this award-winning text, Mark Katz provides a wide-ranging, deeply informative, consistently entertaining history of recording's profound impact on the musical life of the past century, from Edison to the Internet. Fully revised and updated. E-BOOK access
Pop Song Piracy: Disobedient Music Distribution since 1929
Call Number: ML3790 .K448 2011
Starting with music publishers’ efforts to stamp out bootleg compilations of lyric sheets in 1929, this book details nearly a century of disobedient music distribution from song sheets to MP3s. In the 1940s and ’50s, the author reveals, song sheets were succeeded by fake books, unofficial volumes of melodies and lyrics for popular songs that were a key tool for musicians..
Less Noise, More Soul: The Search for Balance in the Art, Technology, and Commerce of Music
Call Number: ML3790 .L49 2013
The digital revolution has enabled the creation and distribution of music in ways previously unimagined. This title brings together original essays by a select group of industry professionals, who share a wealth of experience, passion, and insight into where popular music has been, where it currently finds itself, and where it's going.
Reformatted: Code, Networks, and the Transformation of the Music Industry
Call Number: ML3790 .L49 2014
Reformatted provides the most accurate and insightful account to date on the upheavals in the music industry over the past two decades. Leyshon traces music's economic geography from the bricks and mortar of recording studios to financial strategies, file-sharing, code and software struggles, and the muddy fields of festivals.
Cowboys and Indies: The Epic History of the Record Industry
Call Number: ML3790 .M665 2014
From the invention of the earliest known sound-recording device in 1850s Paris to the CD crash and digital boom today, Murphy takes readers on an entertaining and encyclopedic ride through the many cataclysmic musical, cultural, and technological changes that shaped a century and a half of the industry. Drawing from memoirs, archives, and more than one hundred exclusive interviews with the legends of the record industry, including the founders and CEOs of Atlantic, Chrysalis, Virgin, A&M, Sub Pop, and Sire, this book reveals the secret history behind the hit-making craft.
The Music Business (Explained in Plain English)
Call Number: ML3790 .N26 2013
An invaluable aid to anyone who feels like they are at the mercy of industry pros. Not only does this book provide practical career-building and money-saving answers for both artists and songwriters, but it is also a must-have deal-making reference guide.
Music 4.0 A Survival Guide for Making Music in the Internet Age
Call Number: ML3790 .O968 2014
Featuring the latest music business and social media concepts as well as brand-new interviews with a variety of the industry's top movers and shakers, this guide has been completely updated. How has streaming music impacted the artist and the industry? Who are the new industry players? Why do traditional record labels, television, and radio have increasingly less influence in an artist's success? How should music be marketed and distributed in this new world? How do you make money when listeners stream your music?
Roadie, Inc. Second Edition
Call Number: ML3790 .R49 2012
Tthe definitive guide to starting out as technician, working for bands on tour. The book details the exact steps you need to take in order to find work as a sound engineer, back line tech, lighting engineer, tour manager, touring stylist or driver. There is also comprehensive information on non-touring roles such as artist manager, music booking agent and concert promoter.
The Best Jobs in the Music Industry: Straight Talk from Successful Music Pros
Call Number: ML3795 .R414 2013
Each description of a job starts with a short summary designed to help you decide whether this might be something you want to explore further, followed by the real stories, paths to success, and challenges you may confront - all in the words of real pros. Read and learn from these people who have lived the music industry, navigated it well, and been successful. Redman interviewed over 70 pros in the business.
The Insider's Guide to Music Licensing
Call Number: ML3795 .T37 2014
This book takes you through how licensing really works: what type of royalties are expected, digital royalties from companies, receiving royalties from iTunes, Rhapsody, Napster through digital distributors like IODA/The Orchard, and how they pay. Also covered are mechanical royalties from, broadcast radio licenses, how foreign royalties are collected, publishing administration deals, and a breakdown of sync and master licenses. Interviews with major industry players offer advice directly to musicians.
The Artist's Guide to Success in the Music Business, 2nd Ed.
Call Number: ML3795 .W427 2014
A detailed analysis of the subjects that all musicians should understand and apply to pursue a successful and sustainable career in music today. Full of practical advice, this music industry book provides comprehensive details on how to achieve self-empowerment and optimize your success in today's music business. From production and performance tips to marketing and career-building advice, this music business book instructs and empowers artists on how to take the hard-earned lessons of a fellow musician and put them to work in their own careers.
This Is Your Brain on Music: The Science of a Human Obsession
Call Number: ML3830 .L38 2007
In this unprecedented meeting of art and science, rocker-turned-neuroscientist Daniel J. Levitin explores the connection between music and the human brain. Drawing on the latest research and on musical examples ranging from Mozart, Ella Fitzgerald, and U2 to Schoenberg, Metallica, and "Twinkle, Twinkle, Little Star" Levitin reveals: how composers exploit the way our brains make sense of the world; why we emotionally attach to music we listen to as teenagers; why 10,000 hours of practice - not talent - makes virtuosos; [and] how insidious jingles (aka ear worms) get stuck in our heads.
The Big Payback: The History of the Business of Hip-hop
Call Number: ML3918.R37 C52 2011
The Big Payback takes readers from the first $15 made by a "rapping DJ" in 1970s New York to the multi-million-dollar sales of the Phat Farm and Roc-a-Wear clothing companies in 2004 and 2007. On this four-decade-long journey from the studios where the first rap records were made to the boardrooms where the big deals were inked, this book tallies the list of who lost and who won. Read the secret histories of the early long-shot successes of Sugar Hill Records and Grandmaster Flash, Run DMC's crossover breakthrough on MTV, the marketing of gangsta rap, and the rise of artist/ entrepreneurs like Jay-Z and Sean "Diddy" Combs.
Blockbusters: Hit-making, Risk-taking, and the Big Business of Entertainment
Call Number: P96.E25 E53 2013
Explores "what's behind the phenomenal success of entertainment businesses such as Warner Bros., Marvel Entertainment, and the NFL--along with such stars as Jay-Z, Lady Gaga, and LeBron James--[and] which strategies give leaders in film, television, music, publishing, and sports an edge over their rivals.
Master Handbook of Acoustics, 5th Ed.
Call Number: QC225.15 .E93 2009
Build your own acoustic environments such as recording studios, control rooms, and home listening rooms with expert insights from two engineering professionals. Fully expanded to cover the latest methods and software tools, this book presents clear explanations of acoustic phenomena and provides a hands-on approach to room design. Learn how to perform acoustic measurements, choose room dimensions, assign speaker placement, analyze response curves, and design and install sound absorbers and diffusers.
The Ultimate Live Sound Operator's Handbook, 2nd Ed.
Call Number: TK7881.9 .G53 2011
With the advent and implementation of large-budget multimedia presentations, along with high-resolution multichannel audio for movies, television, and downloads, any live act must sound great to be well received by today's increasingly savvy audience members. This revised handbook focuses on each aspect of live sound in a way that is straightforward and easy to understand, breaking the process down into principles and practices that assist the modern sound tech in everything from planning and budgeting to mixing and recording the live show.
The Community College Experience
The Community College Advantage: Your Guide to a Low-Cost, High-Reward College Experience
Call Number: LB2328.15.U6 M46 2013
Explains the benefits of going to community college and what prospective students need to know about the experience. Argues that going to community college and transferring to a four-year school is a great way to cut costs and find more educational flexibility. Offers tips on successful program construction, getting financial aid, where to transfer, and how to get into the top schools.
Community College Success: How to Finish with Friends, Scholarships, Internships, and the Career of Your Dreams
Call Number: LB2343.32 .A49 2012
While community colleges give financially disadvantaged students a chance to open the door to education, simply walking through that door is not enough. Once there, many students feel completely alone on their journey. The author, Isa Adney, shares secrets for connecting with others that helped her win a $110,000 Jack Kent Cooke Foundation scholarship. This is the first book to combine a youthful and accessible author with networking strategies specifically targeted to first-generation and community college students.
Community College Companion: Everything You Wanted to Know about Succeeding in a Two-year School
Call Number: LB2343.32 .R684 2011
This book guides students through these areas and shows them how to make the most of the community college experience. This book also takes students beyond the early stages of their experience to set themselves up for success in college and their future careers. Readers learn how to make the most of online courses; take advantage of campus resources; avoid commuting inefficiencies; play it smart during the transfer process; and develop a career plan.
Early Childhood Education
Mind in the Making: The Seven Essential Life Skills Every Child Needs
Call Number: HQ781 .G35 2010
Bringing the work of more than a hundred scientists into a form that parents everywhere can use, Ellen Galinsky has divided this information into the seven skills she believes all children should learn, showing parents not only what children are capable of, but specifically how to develop those capabilities in their children from birth up until age eight.
Secrets of Diamond Head: A History and Trail Guide by
Call Number: DU629.D53 F39 2014
Traces the life of the crater from its birth to is use by hikers and the military today. The book includes a complete trail guide as well as information on the ancient Hawaiians who erected five religious temples on the slopes of the creater know as Le'ahi.
Voices of Our Kūpuna by
Call Number: DVD 356
Publication Date: 2011
This live program was presented by HPS in July 2005 on the island of Maui, and it features three beloved kūpuna Kumu Hula - Auntie Nona Beamer, Uncle George Naope, and Auntie Kahili Long Cummings - all of whom have spent their entire lives immersed in hula and music, educating countless people around the world about their beloved Hawaiian culture. (80 mins)
Fire and Emergency Services Administration: Management and Leadership Practices
Call Number: TH9158 .S64 2014
Covers the course objectives from the Fire and Emergency Services Higher Education's Bachelor's Core Level Fire and Emergency Services Administration model curriculum. Includes management and leadership of EMS operations, budgeting and financial strategies, guidance for hiring and diversity, training, education, and fire fighter safety.
How to Write It: A Complete Guide to Everything You'll Ever Write, 3rd Ed.
Call Number: HF5721 .L273 2011
Provides examples and advice on writing announcements, condolences, invitations, cover letters, resumes, recommendations, memos, proposals, reports, collection letters, direct-mail, press releases, and e-mail.
McGraw-Hill Handbook of English Grammar and Usage
Call Number: PE1112 .L463 2013
This book gives you bottom-line definitions, tips, and simple rules that summarize the essentials you need to know. The second edition includes a chapter dedicated to grammar and its usage in digital communication, including texting, e-mail, social media, and new technology, so you can communicate correctly in any format.
Essential Writing Skills for College and Beyond
Call Number: PE1408 .G55837 2014
Every student knows that writing a successful college paper is no small undertaking. To make the grade, you need to express your ideas clearly and concisely. So how do you do it? In this book, you'll learn down-to-earth strategies for organizing your thoughts, researching the right sources, getting it down on paper...and earning an A.
Terrorism in America
Call Number: HV6432 .T499 2009
Using existing FBI data and ethnographic data, this book compares and contrasts domestic sources of terrorism in the United States to those in other countries, while also discussing efforts by domestic terrorists to form alliances with foreign groups.
The App Generation: How Today's Youth Navigate Identity, Intimacy, and Imagination in a Digital World
Call Number: HQ799.9.I58 G37 2013
No one has failed to notice that the current generation of youth is deeply-some would say totally-involved with digital media. Professors Howard Gardner and Katie Davis name today's young people The App Generation, and in this spellbinding book they explore what it means to be "app-dependent" versus "app-enabled" and how life for this generation differs from life before the digital era.
874 Dillingham Boulevard, Honolulu, HI 96817
Email: email@example.com Web: http://honolulu.hawaii.edu/library