Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Honolulu Community College Library
Island Queens and Mission Wives: How Gender and Empire Remade Hawaii's Pacific World by
Call Number: DU627 .T45 2014
(Hawaii Pacific Collection)
Publication Date: 2014
"In the late eighteenth century, Hawai'i's ruling elite employed sophisticated methods for resisting foreign intrusion. By the mid-nineteenth century, however, American missionaries had gained a foothold in the islands. Jennifer Thigpen explains this important shift by focusing on two groups of women: missionary wives and high-ranking Hawaiian women. Examining the enduring and personal exchange between these groups, Thigpen argues that women's relationships became vital to building and maintaining the diplomatic and political alliances that ultimately shaped the islands' political future.
Male missionaries' early attempts to Christianize the Hawaiian people were based on racial and gender ideologies brought with them from the mainland, and they did not comprehend the authority of Hawaiian chiefly women in social, political, cultural, and religious matters. It was not until missionary wives and powerful Hawaiian women developed relationships shaped by Hawaiian values and traditions--which situated Americans as guests of their beneficent hosts--that missionaries successfully introduced Christian religious and cultural values. Incisively written and meticulously researched, Thigpen's book sheds new light on American and Hawaiian women's relationships, illustrating how they ultimately provided a foundation for American power in the Pacific and hastened the colonization of the Hawaiian nation."
HAWAII PACIFIC COLLECTION
Pono: A Hawaiian-Style Approach to Balance and Well-Being by
Call Number: BF204.6 .S689 2012
Pono is a Hawaiian word that means rightness, correctness, alignment, righteousness, goodness, excellence and well-being. This book is about aligning your identity, direction and energy so there's a Sense of Place, Purpose and Power. When all three are in agreement you are Pono. When you are Pono you are living in completeness and balance.
The Ancient Hawaiian State: Origins of a Political Society by
Call Number: DU624.5 .H66 2013
This is a study of the ancient Hawaiians' transformation of their Polynesian chiefdoms into primary state societies, un-influenced by pre-existing states. The emergence of primary states is one of the most revolutionary transformations in human history, and Hawai'i's metamorphosis was so profound that in some ways the contact-era Hawaiian states bear a closer resemblance to our world than to that of their closely-related Eastern Polynesian contemporaries, 4,000 kilometers to the south.
Ancestral Places: Understanding Kanaka Geographies by
Call Number: DU624.65 .K38 2014
explores the deep connections that ancestral Kānaka (Native Hawaiians) enjoyed with their environment. It honors the moʻolelo (historical accounts) of the ancestral places of their kupuna (ancestors), and reveals how these moʻolelo and their relationships with the ʻāina (land) inform a Kanaka sense of place.
Timeline Hawaii: An Illustrated Chronological History of the Islands by
Call Number: DU625 .H377 2013
This highly illustrated timeline, with over 300 photographs, moves readers through the history of Hawaiian Islands, telling a story point by point until a fuller picture emerges. In this volume are collected the dates and names of the men and women who have affected these Islands, some for the better, some for worse.
Hawaii's Story by Hawaii's Queen by
Call Number: DU627.2 .L72 2013
This new edition is based on the 1898 edition, enhanced with additional illustrations, and annotated by David W. Forbes. An introductory essay about the publishing history of the first edition includes portions of early drafts of the manuscript deemed too inflammatory to include by the publisher.
The Hawaiian Survival Handbook by
Call Number: GV200.54.H3 B76 2014
Maybe you'll never have to fight off a wild pig or find water in the wild. Maybe you'll never need to survive Hawaii's tropical jungle and shoreline. But you never know. The Hawaiian Survival Handbook is a just-in-case bush guide for when things go wrong-from flash floods to shark attacks, from rip tides to box jellyfish. Celebrated Hawaiian musician Brother Noland sees music as just one way to connect with his heritage and the 'aina. A steward of the land and Hawaiian culture, Noland is also a dedicated tracker. "We are and have always been hunters, trackers, and fishermen," he says. In The Hawaiian Survival Handbook, he shares the outdoor skills he has developed over a lifetime spent in Hawaii's forests and waters. These essential tips and tricks will prove handy for the casual day-hiker, intrepid seashore adventurer and hardcore overnight camper alike.
Voices of Fire: Reweaving the Literary Lei of Pele and Hi'iaka by
Call Number: PL6448 .H66 2014
Stories of the volcano goddess Pele and her youngest sister Hiʻiaka are most familiar as a form of literary colonialism - first translated by missionary descendants and others, then co-opted by Hollywood and the tourist industry. But far from quaint tales for amusement, the Pele and Hiʻiaka literature published between the 1860s and 1930s carried coded political meaning for the Hawaiian people at a time of great upheaval. Voices of Fire recovers the lost and often-suppressed significance of this literature, restoring it to its primary place in Hawaiian culture...The first book-length analysis of Pele and Hiʻiaka literature written by a Native Hawaiian scholar, Voices of Fire compellingly lays the groundwork for a larger conversation of Native American literary nationalism.
This Is Paradise: Stories by
Call Number: PS3611.A3455 T48 2013
"Elegant, brutal, and profound—this magnificent debut captures the grit and glory of modern Hawai'i with breathtaking force and accuracy...Exquisitely written and bursting with sharply observed detail, Kahakauwila’s stories remind us of the powerful desire to belong, to put down roots, and to have a place to call home."
Hawaiian Herbal Medicine by
Call Number: QK99.H3 G88 2013
"Hawaiian Herbal Medicine stands alone as a landmark book. Never out of print, it uses extensive research, historical documents, and interviews with Native Hawaiians who were experts in their field. The knowledge of many of these kahuna reaches back to ancient times when Hawaiian medical practices were based on rigorous training. This included mental and physical diagnosis, and the complex use of medicinal plants."
Facing Hawai'Is Future: Essential Information About GMOs by
Call Number: S494.5.G44 F33 2012
Facing Hawaii's Future: Essential Information about GMO's: Science, Policy, Farming, Community - Second Edition. This collection of essays by celebrated authors, researchers, lawyers, farmers and community activists covers "the big picture" of genetically engineered agriculture in Hawai'i and raises important questions about the future of this industry in our Islands.
874 Dillingham Boulevard, Honolulu, HI 96817
Email: firstname.lastname@example.org Web: http://honolulu.hawaii.edu/library