Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Honolulu Community College Library
Social Media: Marketing Strategies for Rapid Growth Using: Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, Linkedin, Pinterest and Youtube by
Call Number: HF5415.1265 .W55 2016
Take your business to new heights with up-to-date social media marketing - Updated for 2017
Learn how to grow an engaged and supportive following on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, Pinterest, YouTube and LinkedIn. Tell your story and get your brands message across in a way that consumers enjoy and even look forward too. Develop the skills needed to turn media consumers into paying customers. Learn the key demographics of each social media platform and how to use this to your advantage. Learn how to target your marketing to very specific groups of people for increased engagement and conversion. Learn how to improve your bottom line with more efficient marketing and cheaper customer acquisition. Ideal for businesses of all sizes, brands and even personal pages.
What you'll find here...
Listed here are books in print on:
- Graphic Design
- Logos, Brand & Advertising
- Type & Typography
- Infographics & Information Visualization
- History of Graphic Design
- Work & Career Info
Brand & Advertising
Hit Makers: How to Succeed in an Age of Distraction by
Call Number: HC79.C6 T49 2018
NATIONAL BESTSELLER - Hit Makers takes readers on a tour through the last century of pop culture blockbusters and investigates the most valuable currency of the twenty-first - people's attention.
The Advertising Concept Book by
Call Number: HF5823 .B27 2016
This book is dedicated to the first and most important lesson: concept. Structured to provide both a complete course on advertising and a quick reference on specific industry topics...
Advertising: Concept and Copy by
Call Number: HF5823 .F43 2013
A classic text now in a new edition, George Felton's Advertising: Concept and Copy is an innovative approach to advertising creativity. It covers the entire conceptual process, from developing smart strategy to executing it with strong ads-from what to say to how to say it.
Strategic Thinking for Advertising Creatives by
Call Number: HF5823 .K38 2013
Structured according to the 11 essential elements of a classic advertising brief, it offers a simple, clear, universal template against which the student or young creative can map his or her current project...
Dynamic Identities by
Call Number: NC1002.L63 N47 2013
The visual book looks into design systems for brand identities that produces identities that are alive, meaning that they can change, generate new versions based on external data.
Twenty Ads That Shook the World by
Call Number: HF5811 .T9 2000
The author analyzes the century in advertising, focusing on the great campaigns, from P.T. Barnum to Nike's Just do it..
Sign Painters by
Call Number: HF5841 .L482012 2013
Sign Painters, the first anecdotal history of the craft, features stories and photographs of more than two dozen sign painters working in cities throughout the United States.
Sagmeister: Made You Look by
Call Number: NC999.6.A9 S24 2009
Just as film, art, music, and literature have the power to move people, Stefan Sagmeister's innovative work shows that graphic design, too, can cut to the emotional quick.
Beware Wet Paint by
Call Number: NC999.6.G7 F56 2004
A founder of the leading design firm Pentagram, Alan Fletcher is considered by many in the graphic design world to be a contemporary master, known for his sharp and unerring sense of style.
Color Design Workbook by
Call Number: NC1000 .S76 2006
Publication Date: 2008-03-01
Now in Paperback! Since color is such a important part of graphic design, designers need the most up to date as well as the most fundamental, information on the subject to have the tools needed to use color effectively. From the meanings behind colors to working with color in presentations, this book provides readers with the vital information needed to apply color creatively and effectively to their design work. Readers also receive guidance on talking with clients about color and selling color ideas. The science behind color theory is also explained in easily understood language, and case studies are included to show the effects some color choices had on both their clients and consumers.
Call Number: QC495 .Z45 2003
Publication Date: 2002-08-30
For introductory courses in Color and Color Theory in Art Design and in the studio curriculum. This fourth edition text is a valuable introduction to the art and science of color use in all artistic media in both fine and applied arts. It provides a solid and thorough foundation in the aesthetic, science, psychology, and history of color, with extensive illustrations covering all media and historical periods to the present time.
Call Number: NC1002.L63 H68 2013 (Reference Collection)
This reference guide features approximately 7,000 logos organised alphabetically, with information about the designers, year of creation, country, brand, and company.
Call Number: NC1002.L63 E83 2012 (Reference Collection)
Logotype is the definitive modern collection of logotypes, monograms, and other text-based corporate marks.
White Space Is Not Your Enemy by
Call Number: NC997 .G65 2013
Written for the beginner, White Space is Not Your Enemy, Second Edition, is a practical graphic design and layout guide that introduces the concepts and practices necessary for producing effective visual communication across a variety of formats--from web to print.
The Functional Art: An Introduction to Information Graphics and Visualization by
Call Number: T385 .C33875 2013
In this practical introduction to understanding and using information graphics, you'll learn how to use data visualizations as tools to see beyond lists of numbers and variables and achieve new insights into the complex world around us. Regardless of the kind of data you're working with-business, science, politics, sports, or even your own personal finances-this book will show you how to use statistical charts, maps, and explanation diagrams to spot the stories in the data and learn new things from it.
Type & Typography
The Elements of Typographic Style by
Call Number: Z246 .B74 2012
Renowned typographer and poet Robert Bringhurst brings clarity to the art of typography with this masterful style guide. Combining the practical, theoretical, and historical, this edition is completely updated.
Elegantissima: The Design and Typography of Louise Fili by
Call Number: NC999.4.F55 A4 2012
Louise Fili has been an inspiration for designers around the world since the 1980s, when she raised the bar on book cover design, creating close to two thousand jackets as art director for Pantheon Books. Her lavish and elegant typography...
Mastering Type: The Essential Guide to Typography for Print and Web Design by
Call Number: Z246 .B68 2012
By breaking down the study of type into a systematic progression of relationships--letter, word, sentence, paragraph, page and screen--award-winning graphic designer and professor of communication design Denise Bosler provides a unique and illuminating perspective on typography for both print and digital media and for designers of all skill levels.
Call Number: Z246 .H445 2011
Aimed at all those who use type, whether by hand or on screen, this pleasing compendium stresses the importance of good typography at a time when reading habits are changing and celebrates a craft that has endured for centuries.
Just My Type: A Book About Fonts by
Call Number: Z250 .G228 2011
Beginning in the early days of Gutenberg and ending with the most adventurous digital fonts, Simon Garfield explores the rich history and subtle powers of type.
Using Type by
Call Number: Z250 .H368 2010
Using Type is a wide ranging and practical guide to typography. The book starts with an exploration of how to define type, where it is found and its many different uses. It goes on to examine layout and practice within a graphic design context...
Type: A Visual History of Typefaces and Graphic Styles, Volume 2 by
Call Number: Z250.A2 T953 2009 (Reference Collection)
This book offers a connoisseur's overview of typeface design, exploring the most elegant fonts from the history of publishing. Taken from a distinguished Dutch collection, this exuberant two-volume edition traces the evolution of the printed letter via exquisitely designed catalogs, showing type specimens in roman, italic, bold, semi-bold, narrow, and broad fonts.
Infographics & Information Visualization
The Wall Street Journal Guide to Information Graphics by
Call Number: HF5718.22 .W65 2013
In this book, you will learn: to choose the best chart that fits your data; the most effective way to communicate with decision makers when you have five minutes of their time; how to chart currency fluctuations that affect global business; how to use color effectively; and how to make a graphic "colorful" even if only black and white are available.
Envisioning Information by
Call Number: QA90 .T914 1990
The book provides practical advice about how to explain complex material by visual means, with extraordinary examples to illustrate the fundamental principles of information displays.
History of Graphic Design
Graphic Design: A New History
Call Number: NC998 .E85 2012
Now in its second edition, this innovative look at the history of graphic design explores its evolution from the 19th century to the present day.
100 Ideas That Changed Graphic Design
Call Number: NC998 .H4456 2012
This book demonstrates how ideas influenced and defined graphic design, and how those ideas have manifested themselves in objects of design.
Graphic Design and Architecture, a 20th Century History
Call Number: NK1390 .P67 2012
This innovative volume is the first to provide the design student, practitioner, and educator with an invaluable comprehensive reference of visual and narrative material that illustrates and evaluates the unique and important history surrounding graphic design and architecture.
Bibliographic: 100 Classic Graphic Design Books
Call Number: Z117 .G63 2011
This covers a huge range of historic titles from pioneering type foundries to the best of recent monographs from today's leading studios and provides a unique insight into the evolution of graphic design in the twentieth century.
Meggs' History of Graphic Design
Call Number: Z246 .M43 2012 (Reference Collection)
With more than 1,400 high-quality images throughout—many new or newly updated—Meggs' History of Graphic Design, Fifth Edition provides a wealth of visual markers for inspiration and emulation.
Useful Search Terms & Topics
|Brand / Branding
|Graphic Arts / Graphic Artists
|Graphic Design /
|Type / Typography
Creative Confidence by
Call Number: HD53 .K4534 2013
The authors identify the principles and strategies that will allow us to tap into our creative potential in our work lives, and in our personal lives, and allow us to innovate in terms of how we approach and solve problems. It is a book that will help each of us be more productive and successful in our lives and in our careers.
New Masters of Poster Design, Volume 2 by
Call Number: NC1806.9 .F67 2012
This second edition features the best poster designers currently working all over the world. Strong visuals accompanied by captions and profiles capture the essence of these collectible prints.
The Art of Looking Sideways by
Call Number: NK1505 .F54 2001
The Art of Looking Sideways is the ultimate guide to visual awareness, a magical compilation that will entertain and inspire all those who enjoy the interplay between word and image, and who relish the odd and the unexpected.
Making and Breaking the Grid: A Graphic Design Layout Workshop by
Call Number: Z246 .S23 2005
For designers working in every medium, layout is arguable the most basic, and most important, element. Effective layout is essential to communication and enables the end user to not only be drawn in with an innovative design but to digest information easily.
Layout and Graphic Design
Call Number: Z253.5 .B28 1970
Ballinger's book contains information about many different kinds of layout designs. As well as containing a large amount of techniques and tips for aspiring designers, Layout and Graphic Design brings to attention the properties of aesthetically pleasing qualities of well-done designs.
874 Dillingham Boulevard, Honolulu, HI 96817
Email: firstname.lastname@example.org Web: http://honolulu.hawaii.edu/library