It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Geography 122 - Geography of Hawaiʻi: Find Articles
Full text access to Honolulu's local newspaper. Coverage includes - Honolulu Advertiser: November 30, 2002 - May 15, 2010 Honolulu Star-Bulletin: March 18, 1996 - June 6, 2010 Honolulu Star Advertiser: June 7, 2010 - present. (Newspaper archives prior to the above dates are available in microfilm format within the library.)
This index covers articles from 1989 to current from the Honolulu Advertiser, Star-Bulletin, and Star-Advertiser. Please note that this is an index only -- no full-text. Articles may be available on microfilm. Content maintained by the Hawaii State Public Library System.
The Hawaii Pacific Journal Index (HPJI) is a Voyager Online Catalog citation index to nearly 140 journals published in or about Hawaii and the Pacific. The HPJI covers all subject areas, and includes both peer-reviewed academic journals and "popular press" publications, most of which are not indexed anywhere else. Coverage dates back to the 1890s; all titles indexed are held in the print collections of Hamilton Library's Hawaiian and Pacific Collections.
ScholarSpace is an open-access, digital institutional repository for the University of Hawaii at Manoa community. ScholarSpace stores the intellectual works and unique collections of the UH at Manoa academic community and also provides a permanent web location for those accessing these resources.
These materials potentially include scholarly communications (articles and pre-prints), theses, dissertations, technical reports, and other textual material, which may itself include different formats such as multimedia clips, interactive teaching programs, data sets, and databases.
Before you Google, begin your research with the library's subscription databases. These databases will help you locate full text journal, magazine, and newspaper articles.
*If you access these electronic resources from off campus, you will be prompted to log in with your UH username and password.
Information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Content includes topics on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. Indexing and abstracts for more than 384,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,700 records.
Provides full-text access to a comprehensive archive of approximately 250* scholarly journals in key fields of the humanities, arts, social sciences and more. Journal titles extend back to their earliest issues. Full text varies by publication; the most recent 3-5 years may not available.
*Expanded access to archive journal collections, Artstor, and journals related to public health and COVID-19 continue through the end of 2020.
Selected full-text scholarly journal titles available from the following subject collections: business, management, accounting; earth/planetary sciences; health sciences; physics and astronomy; and agricultural and biological sciences.
Hawai‘i Sea Grant’s free biannual magazine celebrates the people and places across the Pacific region and our deep connection to all things related to the sea through vivid photographs and inspiring stories.
Current issue on display in the library, previous issues at the Circulation Desk. Recent issues available online via Sea Grant's website.
This journal covers the history of the Pacific Rim, including U.S. expansion to the Pacific and beyond, cross-cultural and comparative studies, race and ethnicity, history of empire and imperialism, environmental history, and historiography.
Current issue on display in the library, previous issues at the Circulation Desk