It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
History 232 - European History from 1815 to the Present (Smith): Find Articles
Before you Google, begin your research with the library's subscription databases. These databases will help you locate full text journal, magazine, and newspaper articles as well as maps, images, and primary source documents.
*If you access the databases from off campus, you will be prompted to log in with your UH username & password.
Provides full-text access to a comprehensive archive of approximately 250* scholarly journals in key fields of the humanities, arts, social sciences and more. Journal titles extend back to their earliest issues. Full text varies by publication; the most recent 3-5 years may not available.
*Expanded access to journal collections, including Arts & Sciences I-XV, and primary sources has been extended through June 30, 2022.
Provides extensive coverage of such topics as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy.
Selected full-text scholarly journal titles available from the following subject collections: business, management, accounting; earth/planetary sciences; health sciences; physics and astronomy; and agricultural and biological sciences.
Full text from more than 1,620 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books, cover to cover full text for more than 150 leading history periodicals, nearly 57,000 historical documents, and more than 78,000 biographies of historical figures.
DO NOT type sentences into search boxes. Use words or phrases (see examples below)
AND, OR, NOT: use to narrow or broaden your search
cyber bullying AND suicide (results have all words - narrow)
natural disasters NOT hurricanes (results exclude word after NOT - narrow)
“BP oil spill”OR “Deepwater Horizon oil spill” (results have either concept - broaden)
(*): use to broaden your search or find similar forms of words
Hawaii* = Hawaii, Hawaiian, Hawaiians
“”: use to search for phrases or words you want to appear together in your results
“freedom of speech” or “origin of life”
Try using the Advanced Search, you'll have more options.