Research Guides: Aviation Maintenance and Aeronautics : Articles & Magazines

AERO Magazines at HonCC Library

Magazines are great for keeping up-to-date.
Current issues of magazines are displayed on the 1st floor. Back issues may be requested at the Circulation Counter.

Aircraft Maintenance Technology (AMT)
Discusses the latest technology and maintenance best practices for aircraft maintenance professionals
Aviation Maintenance
News and articles about the international aviation maintenance field
Aviation Week and Space Technology
Aeronautics, aviation, and aerospace topics, with articles for both industry and general interest
Avionics
Covers the worldwide aviation electronics industry
Flying
Info and articles for private pilots, flying enthusiasts, and others interested in airplanes and aircraft instruments
General Aviation News
A bi-weekly newspaper for and about the U.S. aviation industry
Rotor and Wing
Articles about maintaining and flying helicopters and other rotorcraft

FINDING ARTICLES IN LIBRARY DATABASES

Consult these HonCC Library databases for current information, research, and articles from newspapers, magazines, trade publications, and journals.

When connecting from off-campus, you will be prompted to login with your UH username/password.

Vocational Studies Complete

Vocational Studies Complete
Comprehensive, full-text publications for vocational programs. This unique database covers varied topics geared toward career & technical education programs. Source content from magazines, academic journals, and a wide selection of trade publications in all vocational fields and occupations.

Research Databases: EBSCOhost

MasterFILE Complete
Articles from newspapers and magazines, both general-interest and industry-specific. Full-text for more than 2,000 publications, some dating as far back as 1922.
Military & Government Collection
Designed to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government, this database provides full text for nearly 300 journals and periodicals.
Vocational and Career Collection
Full text for nearly 340 trade and industry-related periodicals.
Academic Search Complete
A comprehensive, multi-subject database with full-text from over 8,500 periodicals, including over 7,000 peer-reviewed journals.

Research Databases: Gale INFOTRAC

CQ Researcher Reports

CQ Researcher
This resource offers in-depth reporting on current topics. For example, you may be interested in "Domestic Drones" or the "Future of the Airlines."

Local News & Reporting

Honolulu Newspapers
Read articles about airplanes, airlines, and aircraft maintenance and safety in Hawai'i.
ProQuest provides the full-text for the Honolulu Advertiser, Honolulu Star-Bulletin, and the Honolulu Star-Advertiser.

SIRS Knowledge Source

SIRS Issues Researcher
SIRS topics cover all subject areas with resources from articles, newspapers, primary source documents, websites, maps, charts, and illustrations. Includes pro/con arguments.

Aviation Maintenance Shortage?

Is there a shortage of AERO personnel? What does the future look like? What may affect the job market?
Check out this article from Aviation Maintenance magazine (October 27, 2017).

Shortage? What Shortage?