Research Guides: ECED 245 Child, Family and Community: ARTICLES

MAGAZINE vs. JOURNAL -- What's the difference?

MAGAZINES	JOURNALS
Its purpose is to inform or entertain	Its aim is to report on scholarly research
Articles typically short in length	Longer articles with in-depth analysis
Written by a reporter, journalist, or staff writer	Written by a scholarly expert or specialist (credentials provided)
Articles are reviewed by editorial staff	Articles are peer-reviewed & critically evaluated by scholars
Little or no references are included as support	Sources are always cited in a formal bibliography
Slick & attractive in appearance with advertisements & glossy photos	Very structured format: abstract, methodology, literature review, results, conclusion. No frills.
Examples: People, National Geographic, Reader's Digest	Examples: Young Children, New England Journal of Medicine, Harvard Business Review

Journals and Magazines

Journals

International Journal of Early Childhood
From 2004 - present with 1 year lag
Early Childhood Educational Journal
From 1997 - present with 1 year lag
Child Development
From 1930 - present with 1 year lag
Young Children
From 2002 - 2023
Child Development Perspectives
From 2007 - present with 1 year lag

Magazines of interest

Exchange: The Early Childhood Leaders' Magazin e
From 2003 - present
Good Housekeeping
From 1996 - present
Highlights
From 1993 - present (full text)
Parents
From 01/01/2017 - 04/01/2022
Child Development
From 1985 - present

Articles from Library Research Databases

Before you Google, begin your research with the library's subscription databases. These databases will help you locate full text articles from journals, magazines, newspapers, and more.

Academic Search Complete
Research across all subject areas from more than 9,000 full text journals; over 13,800 indexed & abstracted journals. Selected PDF content dating back as far as 1887. Updated daily.
ERIC (Educational Resource Information Center)
Provides access to education literature and resources. Includes more than 1 million records and links to more than 264,000 full-text documents.
Science Direct

Selected full-text scholarly journal titles available from the following subject collections: business, management, accounting; earth/planetary sciences; health sciences; physics and astronomy; and agricultural and biological sciences.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
This database provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines and Lexi-PAL Drug Guide with 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets and more than 4,700 brand names.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection
This database covers information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods. Access to over 500 full-text journals.
Historical Honolulu Newspapers
Full text access to Honolulu's local newspapers

Search Tips

DO NOT type sentences into search boxes. Use keywords or phrases.

AND, OR, NOT: use to narrow or broaden your search

cyber bullying AND suicide (results have all words - narrow)
natural disasters NOT hurricanes (results exclude word after NOT - narrow)
“BP oil spill” OR “Deepwater Horizon oil spill” (results have either concept - broaden)

[*]: use an asterix to broaden your search or find similar forms of words

Hawaii* = Hawaii, Hawaiian, Hawaiians

[“ ”]: use quotation marks to search for phrases or words you want to appear together in your results

“freedom of speech” or “origin of life”

Try using the Advanced Search, you'll have more options.

Limit documents to FULL TEXT when available.