Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Honolulu Community College Library
This African American family, from Selma, Alabama, was photographed circa 1893.
Source: Six African-American generations, 1890s. Photograph. Britannica ImageQuest, Encyclopædia Britannica, 25 May 2016. quest.eb.com/search/132_1351484/1/132_1351484/cite. Accessed 30 Sep 2021.
Journal, Magazine, and Newspaper Articles
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Research across all subject areas from more than 9,000 full text journals; over 13,800 indexed & abstracted journals. Selected PDF content dating back as far as 1887. Updated daily.
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers This link opens in a new window
View newspaper pages from more than 20 states, including Hawaii. Coverage 1860-1922.
History Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Full text from more than 1,620 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books, cover to cover full text for more than 150 leading history periodicals, nearly 57,000 historical documents, and more than 78,000 biographies of historical figures.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Archival journal collections include more than 2,000 journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. JSTOR offers 15 Arts & Sciences collections that span 60 disciplines, and the Life Science Collection comprises more than 160 journals in the field sciences, and broad coverage of the health sciences. [For calendar year 2022.]
Military & Government Collection This link opens in a new window
Designed to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government, this database provides full text for nearly 300 journals and periodicals.
US West Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Regional news content, as well as archives which stretch back to the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, and news sites in active full-text format. West Newsstream covers news sources from Alaska, California, Hawaii, Idaho, Nevada, Oregon, Utah, and Washington. Includes access to Hawaii newspapers: Honolulu Star-Advertiser, Honolulu Advertiser, and Honolulu Star-Bulletin; coverage varies for each title.
Encyclopedias and Hot Topics
Britannica Academic This link opens in a new window
High quality encyclopedia articles, videos, audios, with related Web links, magazines, newspapers/news feeds, atlas, statistics & biographical information.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Search across hundreds of reference ebooks. This collection includes 3 million entries from notable subject encyclopedias, handbooks, guides, companions and readers covering over 80 major subject disciplines and more than 6 million research concepts. Training Materials
Issues & Controversies This link opens in a new window
This database presents extensive, objective, and comprehensive coverage of today's hot-button issues—a credible resource that provides current context for research papers, debate preparation, and persuasive writing assignments.
Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
This database features continuously updated viewpoints (pro/con arguments), topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
Image Quest This link opens in a new window
2.5 million rights-cleared images for non-commercial and educational use from Britannica.
Many of the databases on this page (i.e. Academic Search Complete, Britannica Academic, Opposing Viewpoints, and more) have images in addition to journal, magazine, and newspaper articles.
© Associated Press
"Black Lives Matter Rally in Sacramento Protests March 2018 Shooting Death by Police." Gale Opposing Viewpoints Online Collection, Gale, 2018. Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints, https://link.gale.com/apps/doc/YMABCG208935307/OVIC?u=hawaii_honolulu&sid=OVIC&xid=ef91625a. Accessed 17 June 2020.
874 Dillingham Boulevard, Honolulu, HI 96817
Email: email@example.com Web: http://honolulu.hawaii.edu/library