Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Honolulu Community College Library
Articles from Library Research Databases
Before you Google, begin your research with the library's subscription databases. These databases will help you locate full text articles from journals, magazines, newspapers, and more.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Research across all subject areas from more than 9,000 full text journals; over 13,800 indexed & abstracted journals. Selected PDF content dating back as far as 1887. Updated daily. Excellent scholarly content!
ERIC (Educational Resource Information Center) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to education literature and resources. Includes more than 1 million records and links to more than 264,000 full-text documents.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
This database provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines and Lexi-PAL Drug Guide with 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets and more than 4,700 brand names.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
This database covers information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods. Access to over 500 full-text journals.
Science Direct This link opens in a new window
Selected full-text scholarly journal titles available from the following subject collections: business, management, accounting; earth/planetary sciences; health sciences; physics and astronomy; and agricultural and biological sciences.
Honolulu Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Full text access to Honolulu's local newspapers (past & present).
Honolulu Star-Advertiser: June 7, 2010 - present;
Honolulu Advertiser: November 30, 2002 - May 15, 2010;
Honolulu Star-Bulletin: March 18, 1996 - June 6, 2010.
- DO NOT type sentences into search boxes. Use keywords or phrases.
- AND, OR, NOT: use to narrow or broaden your search
- cyber bullying AND suicide (results have all words - narrow)
- natural disasters NOT hurricanes (results exclude word after NOT - narrow)
- “BP oil spill” OR “Deepwater Horizon oil spill” (results have either concept - broaden)
- [*]: use an asterix to broaden your search or find similar forms of words
- Hawaii* = Hawaii, Hawaiian, Hawaiians
- [“ ”]: use quotation marks to search for phrases or words you want to appear together in your results
- “freedom of speech” or “origin of life”
- Try using the Advanced Search, you'll have more options.
- Limit documents to FULL TEXT when available.
The State of Hawaii’s Babies
The State of Hawaii’s Babies: 2021 data
The State of Babies Yearbook is a national and state resource developed by ZERO TO THREE to tell the story of America’s babies through key indicators in the domains infants and toddlers need to thrive: Good Health, Strong Families, and Positive Early Learning Experiences.
MAGAZINE vs. JOURNAL -- What's the difference?
|Its purpose is to inform or entertain
||Its aim is to report on scholarly research
|Articles typically short in length
||Longer articles with in-depth analysis
|Written by a reporter,
journalist, or staff writer
|Written by a scholarly expert or specialist (credentials provided)
|Articles are reviewed
by editorial staff
|Articles are peer-reviewed &
critically evaluated by scholars
|Little or no references are included as support
||Sources are always cited in a formal bibliography
|Slick & attractive in appearance with advertisements & glossy photos
||Very structured format: abstract, methodology, literature review, results, conclusion. No frills.
|Examples: Parents, Good Housekeeping, Readers Digest
||Examples: Teaching Young Children Zero to Three, Harvard Business Review
Magazines & Journals: Online and Print
- Exchange - Exchange magazine the Early Childhood Leader's Magazine since 1978. Exchange is a bimonthly publication focused on the administration of programs for young children. Accessible in Flipster.
- Parents - Parents is written and edited for parents from 18 to 34, who have growing children. It focuses on family formation and growth including the daily needs and concerns of modern mothers. Accessible in Flipster.
- Teaching Young Children (TYC) - Published by the National Association for the Education of Young Children, this periodical is for the preschool professional.
- Young Children - The Journal of the National Association for the Education of Young Children. Accessible in Flipster.
- Zero to Three - A multidisciplinary resource on infants, toddlers, and families, intended to strengthen the critical roles of professionals, policymakers, and parents in giving young children the best possible start in life.
Print issues are on display and back issues are available. Seek assistance at Circulation Services counter.
874 Dillingham Boulevard, Honolulu, HI 96817
Email: firstname.lastname@example.org Web: http://honolulu.hawaii.edu/library