Research Guides: OESM 101: Books in Print

Library Search

Library Search
Discover Books, Articles, & More

Remember to sign in using your UH login if using library resources off-campus. Forgot username or password?

Useful Keywords & Search Terms

occupational safety and health
accident prevention
environmental health
hazardous substances
industrial hygiene
industrial safety
safety ethics
safety measures
toxicology

Reference - Library Use Only

Accident Prevention Manual for Business and Industry: Administration & Programs by Gary R. Krieger; John F. Montgomery
Call Number: T55 .A333 1997 (Reference Collection)
Accident Prevention Manual for Business and Industry : Engineering & Technology by Gary R. Krieger; John F. Montgomery
Call Number: T55 .A333 1997b (Reference Collection)
2012 Emergency Response Guidebook : A Guidebook for First Responders... by U.S. Dept. of Transportation
Call Number: T55.3.H3 E437 2012 (Reference Collection)
Hazardous Substances Resource Guide by Richard P. Pohanish; Stanley A. Greene
Call Number: T55.3.H3 H444 1997 (Reference Collection)

Workbooks, Checklists, Manuals in Print

Safety Made Easy by John R. Grubbs; Sean M. Nelson Accident prevention signs -- Behavior-based safety (BBS) -- Bloodborne pathogens (exposure control ) -- Chains, slings, and cables -- Compressed gases -- Confined spaces -- Cranes -- Electrical safety -- Emergency action (contingency) planning -- Employee records (exposure and medical) -- Exit routes -- Fire extinguishers -- Fire prevention -- Flammable and combustible liquids -- Guarding floor and wall openings -- Hand and portable power tools -- Hazard communication program -- Hazardous chemicals (process safety management) -- Hazardous waste operations and emergency response (HAZWOPER) -- Ladders -- Lockout/tagout program -- Machinery & machine guarding -- Material handling -- Medical services and first aid -- Noise (hearing conservation) -- Personal protective equipment (PPE) -- Powered industrial vehicles -- Recordkeeping and reporting of occupational injuries and illnesses -- Respiratory protection -- Sanitation -- Scaffolds -- Stairs -- Ventilation -- Welding, cutting and brazing -- Appendix A. OSHA inspection -- Appendix B. OSHA regional offices -- Appendix C. State plan programs -- Appendix D. References -- Appendix E. Essential Internet resources -- Appendix F. Self-inspection checklist. Limited preview.
Call Number: KF3570.Z9 D38 2006
Preventing Occupational Disease and Injury by Levy, Wagner, Rest, etc.
Call Number: RC964 .P73 2005
Occupational Health Safety Technologist Home Study Workbook by SPAN International Training v. 1. General information. Math and science. Worksite assessment. Hazard control and loss prevention. Verification. Disaster planning and emergency response. Professional responsibility -- v. 2. Equations used most often. Practice examination number one. Practice examination number two.
Call Number: T55 .O37 2006, 2 vols
Hazardous Materials Handbook Hazardous materials : laws, regulations, and standards -- Hazardous materials : recognition and identification -- Hazardous materials : information resources -- Hazardous materials : personal protective equipment -- Hazardous materials : protective actions -- Product control and air monitoring -- Terrorism awareness.
Call Number: T55.3.H3 H3773 2008
Hazardous Materials Incidents by Christopher David Hawley Hazardous materials : laws, regulations, and standards -- Recognition and identification -- Information resources -- Protection -- Protective actions -- Product control and air monitoring -- Terrorism awareness -- HAZMAT and law enforcement -- Glossary -- Abbreviations.
Call Number: T55.3.H3 H3775 2004

Books on the shelf!

Essentials of Industrial Hygiene by Thomas P. Fuller
Call Number: HD7261 .F855 2015
Encyclopaedia of Occupational Health and Safety by Jeanne Mager Stellman
Call Number: RC963.A3 E53 1998, 4 vols (Reference Collection)
Fundamentals of Industrial Hygiene by Barbara A. Plog (Editor); Patricia Quinlan (Editor)
Call Number: RC967 .F85 2013 (Reserve Collection)
Industrial Hygiene Simplified: A Guide to Anticipation, Recognition, Evaluation, and Control of Workplace Hazards by Frank R. Spellman
Call Number: RC967 .S64 2006
Concise Guide to Workplace Safety and Health: What You Need to Know, When You Need It by Gary Chambers
Call Number: T55 .C496 2011
Safety and Environmental Management by Daniel Della-Giustina
Call Number: T55 .D44 2007
Fundamentals of Occupational Safety and Health by Mark A. Friend
Call Number: T55 .F75 2010
Keeping People Safe: The Human Dynamics of Injury Prevention by Josh Williams
Call Number: T55 .W56 2010
Safety Ethics: Cases from Aviation, Healthcare, and Occupational and Environmental Health by Manoj S. Patankar; Jeffrey P. Brown; Melinda Treadwell
Call Number: T55 |b .P32 2005
Occupational Safety and Health Simplified for the Construction Industry by Government Institutes Research Group Staff
Call Number: TH443 .O23 2007

Featured Books

Occupational Safety and Health for Technologists, Engineers, and Managers by David L. Goetsch
Call Number: T55 .G586 2015 (Reserve Collection)
The Thought of Work by John W. Budd
Call Number: HD4904 .B78 2011
What is work? Is it simply a burden to be tolerated or something more meaningful to one's sense of identity and self-worth? And why does it matter? In a uniquely thought-provoking book, John W. Budd presents ten historical and contemporary views of work from across the social sciences and humanities.
Agitate! Educate! Organize! American Labor Posters by Lincoln Cushing; Timothy W. Drescher
Call Number: NC1849.L3 C874 2009
A brief history of activist graphic media -- Dignity and exploitation -- Health and safety -- Women -- Race and civil rights -- War, peace, and internationalism -- Solidarity and organizing -- Strikes and boycotts...
Techniques of Safety Management: A Systems Approach by Dan Petersen
Call Number: T55 .P37 2003