Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

OESM 101: Articles

Introduction to Occupational Safety and Health

Databases

Databases can save you time searching. You can get articles that are not available in print. Login with your UH username and password from off-campus.

Multiple database search

Magazines and Journals

Current issues are on display. Request back issues at the Circulation Counter. Some articles are available full text online via our databases.

  • EHS today: the magazine for environment, health and safety leaders

               Full text online from 2000-present via Vocational and Career Collection  

  • Occupational Health and Safety

              Full text online from 2003-present via Free e-Journals.

  • Professional Safety

               Full text online from 1997-present via Academic Search Complete 

  • Safety + Health‚Äč

             Full text online from 2013-present via Free e-Journals (the library has print issues from 1987-present)

 

You can also Search for a magazine or journal on Primo. If you know the name but are looking for online access, simply search for that name using the Primo Search Box on the Library Home Page. Make sure you pick "HonCC Everything" on the drop down menu.primo search bar

Then, all you have to do is type in the name of the journal! For example, "Professional Safety," press search, and Voila! 

search results

This journal is available online and in print at the library, where the current edition will be on the shelf, and older volumes can be found by asking the Circulation desk staff.

Magazine vs. Journal...What's the difference?

MAGAZINES JOURNALS
Its purpose is to inform or entertain Its aim is to report on scholarly research
Articles typically short in length Longer articles with in-depth analysis
Written by a reporter, journalist, or staff writer Written by a scholarly expert or specialist (credentials provided)
Articles are reviewed by editorial staff Articles are peer-reviewed & critically evaluated by scholars
Little or no references are included as support Sources are always cited in a formal bibliography
Slick & attractive in appearance with advertisements & glossy photos Very structured format: abstract, methodology, literature review, results, conclusion. No frills.
Examples: People, National Geographic, Reader's Digest Examples: Young Children, New England Journal of Medicine, Harvard Business Review
Honolulu Community College Library
874 Dillingham Boulevard, Honolulu, HI 96817
Email: honcclib@hawaii.edu Web: http://honolulu.hawaii.edu/library