Book Reviews & Finding Articles - Banned Books Week (October 1 - 7, 2023) - Research Guides at Honolulu Community College

Censorship & Free Speech!

What's your definition of censorship?
Not sure? Find out more!

Courtesy of Culture Shock: PBS

Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Take advantage of this database's pro/con arguments to see both sides of the argument. Find resources on Book Banning.
Issues & Controversies This link opens in a new window
This database presents extensive, objective, and comprehensive coverage of today's hot-button issues—a credible resource that provides current context for research papers, debate preparation, and persuasive writing assignments.

Looking for info on BANNED BOOKS? Search for magazine or newspaper articles from one of the following databases:

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Research across all subject areas from more than 9,000 full text journals; over 13,800 indexed & abstracted journals. Selected PDF content dating back as far as 1887. Updated daily.
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
Access to more than 860 full-text newspapers, providing more than 35 million full-text articles. In addition, the database features more than 857,000 television and radio news transcripts.

New York Times (NYTimes.com) This link opens in a new window
Activate a complimentary Academic Pass to the New York Times online by clicking the link above. Account creation must be done using your UH email address. For information security purposes, use a DIFFERENT password from your UH Login to create your NYTimes.com account. Access is limited to only current HonCC students, faculty, and staff.
INFO & TROUBLESHOOTING GUIDE