Research Guides: Marine Biology: Articles

Research Databases Recommended for Finding Articles

Before you Google, begin your research with the library's databases. These databases will help you locate full text journal, magazine and newspaper articles.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Research across all subject areas from more than 9,000 full text journals; over 13,800 indexed & abstracted journals. Selected PDF content dating back as far as 1887. Updated daily.
Science Direct This link opens in a new window
Selected full-text scholarly journal titles available from the following subject collections: business, management, accounting; earth/planetary sciences; health sciences; physics and astronomy; and agricultural and biological sciences.
CTAHR Publication and Information Central This link opens in a new window
Research and studies from the College of Tropical Agriculture and Human Resources (UH Manoa). These documents are an unparalleled resource for Hawai'i agricultural and horticultural history
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) This link opens in a new window
DOAJ is an online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, scholarly peer-reviewed journals.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Content includes topics on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. Indexing and abstracts for more than 384,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,700 records.
Honolulu Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Search for topics and articles in the local Honolulu newspapers.

Science Reference Center

Science Reference Center This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive research database that provides easy access to a multitude of full text science-oriented content. Full text for nearly 640 science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, etc. Topics covered include: biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife.

Subject List of Magazines @ HCC

Magazines by Subject (Major)

The library subscribes to a wide variety of print newspapers and magazines.

Back issues of all print resources are held behind the Circulation Counter.

Some titles may be accessible online or in microfilm format. Inquire with the Reference Librarian for additional assistance.

Marine Biology Magazines in the Library

OverDrive Ebooks & Digital Magazines This link opens in a new window
Browse, search, borrow and read ebooks and digital magazines through HonCC Library. Download the Libby app to read across all your mobile devices.

Aquaculture Magazine
Partial full-text available through Academic Search Complete.
BioScience
Partial full-text available through Academic Search Complete.
Fish & Fisheries
Partial full-text available through Academic Search Complete.
Pacific Science
1/1/2004-present (with a 12 month delay) Available online through Academic Search Complete

1947-2011 available online via UH Manoa Scholar Space (http://scholarspace.manoa.hawaii.edu/handle/10125/364).

January 1947-October 1999 available in the Hawaii Pacific Reference Collection in the HCC Library.

Marine Biology: Articles

Research Databases *Recommended for Finding Articles*

Science Reference Center

Subject List of Magazines @ HCC

Marine Biology Magazines in the Library

Research Databases Recommended for Finding Articles