It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Not since the days of Hemingway, Pound and Joyce has so much talent been invested in small book presses and little magazines in every part of the country and indeed the world. In order to bring these writers to a wider audience, the Pushcart Prize every year requests that editors from hundreds of presses nominate their year's best. Nominations are also made by Pushcart's staff of Contributing Editors, who then assist in the final choice. Pushcart Prize XLII is a celebration of a wide variety of poets, essayists and short story writers from more than 50 presses. As ever, most writers in this edition appear in the series for the first time. The Pushcart Prize has been honored with a Lifetime Achievement Award from the National Book Critics Circle and is acclaimed by writers, readers and reviewers internationally.
Short Story Defined
Short story: (noun) an invented prose narrative shorter than a novel usually dealing with a few characters and aiming at unity of effect and often concentrating on the creation of mood rather than plot.
Hold on tight for a literary thrill-ride into the wickedly clever, frightening, and exhilarating world of Top Suspense, a sizzling collaboration of twelve master storytellers at the peak of their powers in thirteen unforgettable tales.
Edited by the award-winning, best-selling author Richard Russo, this year’s collection boasts a satisfying “chorus of twenty stories that are by turns playful, ironic, somber, and meditative” (Wall Street Journal)
Intimate in detail and universal in theme, these stories give us the compelling voice of an exciting new author whose intelligence, insight, and wit impart a sense of grace to the bitter resentments and enduring ties that comprise family love. Even through the tensions the author creates so deftly, the peace and security that come from building and belonging to one's own community shine forth.
An innovative collection of stories from award-winning novelist and poet Cathryn Hankla. The figures in these stories struggle toward more truthful expressions of themselves, as outsiders whose dilemmas, emotions, and desires make them unmistakably human. As varied as they are vivid, they strive for closer connections of love and community.
Once deemed the "custodian of the twilight zone" by Southern Living, celebrated storyteller and ghost hunter Nancy Roberts returns to familiar subject matter in this newly expanded edition of her Ghosts of the Wild West, a finalist for the Spur Award of the Western Writers of America in its original edition.
Acerbic wit and luminous prose mark these shorts, while sickness and death lurk amidst the humor. Characters find their footing in these bizarre scenarios and manage to fall into redemption and rebirth. Museum of the Weird invites you into its hallways, then beguiles, bewitches, and reveals a writer who has discovered a manner of storytelling all her own.
Forty-year veteran of the novel, noted feminist, and author of over ten books, Sallie Bingham returns with Red Car, a collection written in her signature style—discreet, sly prose circling taboo subjects.
In these engaging and often gripping short stories, Fred Arroyo takes us into the lives of working-class Hispanic migrants and immigrants, who are often invisible while they work in plain sight across America.
Primo Search Use Primo to search our catalog for books, e-books, media, and more.
Introduction : traditions in modern Korean women's fiction writing / Yung-Hee Kim -- Kim Myŏng-sun : A girl of mystery (1917) -- Na Hye-sŏk : Kyŏngshŭi (1918) -- Kim Wŏn-ju : Awakening (1926) -- Han Mu-suk : Hydrangeas (1949) -- Kang Sin-jae : The mist (1950) -- Song Wŏn-hŭi : When autumn leaves fall (1961) -- Yi Sun : A dish of sliced raw fish (1979) -- Yi Sŏk-pong : The light at dawn (1985) -- Ch'oe Yun : Stone in your heart (1992) -- Pak Wan-sŏ : Dried flowers (1995)
Masterplots II: Short Story Series provides penetrating discussions of the content, themes, structure and techniques of 1,490 stories from every inhabited region in the world: North America (the majority), Africa, Asia, West Indies, Latin America, Australia, New Zealand, Great Britain and other European countries.
From Chinua Achebe and Sherwood Anderson to Edith Wharton and Virginia Woolf, The Art of the Short Story presents masterpieces of short fiction from 52 classic, contemporary and new voices. No other collection of short stories encompasses such a vast and enriching global and historical mix.
A chronology of Oscar Wilde -- Lord Arthur Savile's crime -- Sphinx without a secret -- Canterville ghost -- Model millionaire -- Happy prince -- Nightingale and the rose -- Selfish giant -- Devoted friend -- Remarkable rocket -- Portrait of Mr. W. H. -- Young King -- Birthday of the infanta -- Fisherman and his soul -- Star-Child -- Artist -- Doer of good -- Disciple -- Master -- House of Judgment -- Teacher of Wisdom
This collection of short stories chronicles the life of a Japanese American born and raised on the edge of Harlem after his family moved to New York following internment during World War II. Set largely in the neighborhood near Columbia University, it provides a unique perspective of a multicultural community in transition, navigating the issues of identity, death, the Vietnam War, drugs, military duty, and coming of age as a minority in a time of turmoil.
The steersman -- Sassy -- Born-again Hawaiian -- Luciano and da break room divas -- In the customer's hands -- Size 12 EEE -- Strawberry scented -- Swift blur of passing vehicles -- Hoku's world -- Dragon eyes -- The weight of water and color -- Islands linked by ocean
"Sixteen deceptively simple stories comprise Michelle Cruz Skinner's much-anticipated follow-up to Balikbayan and Mango Seasons, many of them about Filipinos tongue-tied and alienated in the motherland, or scattered across the map of heartaches and homesickness in the company of strangers called countrymen, family, lovers. A book of quiet gems definitely worth the wait"
"Undrawn Lines is an anthology of fifteen short stories written by fifteen different authors who call Hawai'i home, but do not necessarily write about Hawai'i. Their styles range from literary narrative to parody to science fiction...."
The snows of Kilimanjaro -- A clean, well-lighted place -- A day's wait -- The gambler, the nun, and the radio -- Fathers and sons -- In another country -- The killers -- A way you'll never be -- Fifty grand -- The short happy life of Francis Macomber
In his column for The Honolulu Advertiser, Mike Leidemann often wrote about Helen, his wife of 28 years, and their lives together. "This collection of columns is about the little moments that count the most, the ones that make you laugh, sigh, and sometimes cry. It's their story and maybe yours, too."--Back cover.