Suggested Websites - Geography 122 - Geography of Hawaiʻi - Research Guides at Honolulu Community College

Recommended Websites

Bishop Museum Publications This link opens in a new window
Articles and books from the Bishop Museum on topics about Hawaii.

Center for Oral History - UH Manoa
The Center for Oral History preserves the recollections of Hawai‘i’s people through oral interviews and disseminates oral history transcripts to researchers, students, and the general community.
Google Earth
Take a virtual journey to any location in the world. Explore 3D buildings, imagery, and terrain. Find cities, places and local businesses.
Google Maps Ocean View
Look underwater at the reefs in Hanauma Bay and Molokini Crater.
Hawaii Census 2010
Hawaii Department of Land and Natural Resources
Browse archives, publications, reports, educational material, and more.
Hawaii Labor History
From the Center for Labor Education & Research at UH West Oahu, this site provides historical labor information, a timeline, biographies, and a glossary.

Hawaii State Archives This link opens in a new window
Provides historic records of state government. These records date from the monarchy to the current legislative session, and also include the papers of individuals and organizations, photographs, maps, artifacts, rare books, 19th century newspapers.

Hawaii State Legislature
Browse through their archives, special studies, reports, bills, etc.

Hawaiian Legends Index This link opens in a new window
The Legends Index offers subject access to 77 publications of Hawaiian legends in English. Subjects indexed include: places, geographical features, plants, animals, and mythological and historical figures.
Ulukau: The Hawaiian Electronic Library This link opens in a new window
A digitized collection of dictionaries, books, newspapers, genealogical indexes, and curriculum resources in the Hawaiian and English languages.