It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
History 151 - World History I (Matsumoto): Articles
Provides full-text access to a comprehensive archive of approximately 250* scholarly journals in key fields of the humanities, arts, social sciences and more. Journal titles extend back to their earliest issues. Full text varies by publication; the most recent 3-5 years may not available.
*Expanded access to journal collections, including Arts & Sciences I-XV, and primary sources has been extended through June 30, 2022.
Full text from more than 1,620 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books, cover to cover full text for more than 150 leading history periodicals, nearly 57,000 historical documents, and more than 78,000 biographies of historical figures.
Full text access to Honolulu's local newspapers (past & present).
Honolulu Star-Advertiser: June 7, 2010 - present;
Honolulu Advertiser: November 30, 2002 - May 15, 2010;
Honolulu Star-Bulletin: March 18, 1996 - June 6, 2010.
This database covers information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods. Access to over 500 full-text journals.
Provides extensive coverage of such topics as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy.
Selected full-text scholarly journal titles available from the following subject collections: business, management, accounting; earth/planetary sciences; health sciences; physics and astronomy; and agricultural and biological sciences.
Magazine vs. Journal
Its purpose is to inform or entertain
Its aim is to report on scholarly research
Articles typically short in length
Longer articles with in-depth analysis
Written by a reporter, journalist, or staff writer
Written by a scholarly expert or specialist (credentials provided)
Articles are reviewed by editorial staff
Articles are peer-reviewed & critically evaluated by scholars
Little or no references are included as support
Sources are always cited in a formal bibliography
Slick & attractive in appearance with advertisements & glossy photos
Very structured format: abstract, methodology, literature review, results, conclusion. No frills.
Examples: People, National Geographic, Reader's Digest
Examples: Young Children, New England Journal of Medicine, Harvard Business Review