Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Honolulu Community College Library
Credo Reference e-books
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Search across hundreds of reference ebooks. This collection includes 3 million entries from notable subject encyclopedias, handbooks, guides, companions and readers covering over 80 major subject disciplines and more than 6 million research concepts. Training Materials
History Reference Center
History Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Full text from more than 1,620 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books, cover to cover full text for more than 150 leading history periodicals, nearly 57,000 historical documents, and more than 78,000 biographies of historical figures.
Medieval & Early Modern Japan
Handbook to Life in Medieval and Early Modern Japan
Call Number: DS822.2 .D33 2007 (Reference, Library Use Only)
This handbook spans the beginning of the Kamakura period in 1185 through the end of the Edo (Tokugawa) period in 1868.
Organized thematically, the text covers: History; Land, Environment, and Population; Government; Society and Economy; Warriors and Warfare; Religion; Philosophy, Education, and Science; Language and Literature; Performing Arts; Art and Architecture; Travel and Communication; Daily Life.
Atlas of World History by
Call Number: D21.5 .A89 2010 (Reference, Library Use Only)
Traces 12,000 years of history from the origins of humanity to the present day. Truly international in scope and vividly narrated, the Atlas is an authoritative, comprehensive, and fascinating account of the history of the world."
Encyclopedias Online and in the Library
Reference Encyclopedias for History
Encyclopedia of Archaeology, Vol 1-2
Call Number: E-BOOK
Print edition: Call Number CC110 .E54 1999
(Reference, Library Use Only)
58 remarkable biographies written by some of the world's best-known archaeologists. These essays are arranged chronologically and thus constitute a history of archaeology from its beginnings in the Renaissance to the present day.
Reference materials are library use only.
Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World
Call Number: BP40 .E525 2004 (Reference, Library Use Only)
Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World looks at Islam's role in the modern world, doing so in the context of the religion's history and development over the last 13 centuries.
Great Lives from History, Ancient and Medieval
Call Number: CT113 .G74 1988
(Biography Reference, Library Use Only)
A five-volume set of biographical sketches, arranged alphabetically, of 470 individuals whose contributions influenced world culture and the social development of societies flourishing in earlier centuries.
Call Number: DS70.62 .N37 2007 (Reference, Library Use Only)
Info for Achaemenid Dynasty to Zoroastrianism
Atlas of the World's Religions, 2nd Ed.
Call Number: G1046.E4 A7 2007 (Reference, Library Use Only)
With text by leading experts, and lavishly illustrated with photographs, thematic maps, site reconstructions, and tables and charts, many in full color, the Atlas charts the origin, growth, and spread of all major faiths.
The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Clothing Through World History
Call Number: GT507 .G74 2008 (Reference, Library Use Only)
Looks at the history of clothing from prehistoric times to the present, and evaluates the influence of climate, cultural, political, social, economic, technological, and cultural factors.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Women in World History
Call Number: HQ1121 .O93 2008 (Reference, Library Use Only)
This encyclopedia contains over 1,300 signed articles covering six main areas: biographies; geography and history; comparative culture and society; organizations and movements; women's and gender studies; and topics in world history.
Call Number: VK15 .O84 2007 (Reference, Library Use Only)
"Covers the entire history of seafaring, from ancient Egyptian shipbuilders to the nuclear submarines and supertankers of today. Placing maritime affairs in their larger historical context, the Encyclopedia shows how seafaring has both reflected and influenced the major economic, cultural, military, and political developments in world history."
874 Dillingham Boulevard, Honolulu, HI 96817
Email: firstname.lastname@example.org Web: http://honolulu.hawaii.edu/library