History 296M - Asian American History (Matsumoto): Suggested Websites

This interactive UK National Archives Learning Curve provides documents and asks students to judge whether the figure in question is 'a hero or a villain?' The figures are: Winston Churchill, John F. Kennedy, Josef Stalin, Harry S. Truman, and Benito Mussolini.

Japanese-Americans and the U.S. Constitution. This site explores a period of U.S. history

"A museum of living history." The Academy of Achievement brings students face-to-face with the extraordinary leaders, the visionaries and the pioneers who have helped shape our world.

Free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience

Digital documents relevant to the fields of Law, History, Economics, Politics, Diplomacy and Government

Short chronology of events in American history and literature.

The Center for Oral History preserves the recollections of Hawai‘i’s people through oral interviews and disseminates oral history transcripts to researchers, students, and the general community.

Densho's mission is to preserve the testimonies of Japanese Americans who were unjustly incarcerated during World War II before their memories are extinguished. We offer these irreplaceable firsthand accounts, coupled with historical images and teacher resources, to explore principles of democracy and promote equal justice for all.

From the Center for Labor Education & Research at UH West Oahu, this site provides historical labor information, a timeline, biographies, and a glossary.

History information on events, people, and themes from the History Channel and A&E Television.

This site is intended to serve the needs of teachers and students in college survey courses in modern European history and American history, as well as in modern Western Civilization and World Cultures.

Primary sources related to development of the U.S. infrastructure.

Primary and secondary sources.

Programs focusing on American historical issues.

Themes include the following: World War II; nuclear arms race; Cold War in domestic and international politics; Korean War; civil defense; science, technology, and society.

Smithsonian magazine's in-depth coverage of history, science, nature, the arts, travel, world culture and technology.

The Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database comprises nearly 35,000 individual slaving expeditions between 1514 and 1866. Records of the voyages have been found in archives and libraries throughout the Atlantic world. They provide information about vessels, enslaved peoples, slave traders and owners, and trading routes. A variable (Source) cites the records for each voyage in the database. Other variables enable users to search for information about a particular voyage or group of voyages. The website provides full interactive capability to analyze the data and report results in the form of statistical tables, graphs, maps, or on a timeline.

The data and terminology presented in the Historical Census Browser are drawn directly from historical volumes of the U.S. Census of Population and Housing.

A unique virtual collection comprising over 650,000 individual pages from more than 3,100 books and trade catalogs, 900 archives and manuscript items, and 1,400 photographs. Women Working, 1800–1930 is a digital exploration of women's impact on the economic life of the United States between 1800 and the Great Depression. Working conditions, workplace regulations, home life, costs of living, commerce, recreation, health and hygiene, and social issues are among the issues documented in this online research collection from Harvard University.

The WDL makes it possible to discover, study, and enjoy cultural treasures and significant historical documents on one site, in a variety of ways. Content on the WDL includes books, manuscripts, maps, newspapers, journals, prints and photographs, sound recordings, and films. It can be browsed by place, time, topic, type of item, language, and contributing institution. The search feature can be used to search all of the metadata and descriptions and the full text of printed books on the site.

This archive of primary documents from World War One has been assembled by volunteers of the World War I Military History List (WWI-L). International in focus, the archive intends to present in one location primary documents concerning the Great War.