It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
History 152 - World History II (Patterson): Find Books
The Academic Complete collection contains over 70,000 ebooks from 16 key subject areas. All ebooks are readable online from a single easy-to-use interface & download ebrary content onto various devices.
*If you access e-books from off-campus, you will need to login with you UH username and password.
Full text from more than 1,620 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books, cover to cover full text for more than 150 leading history periodicals, nearly 57,000 historical documents, and more than 78,000 biographies of historical figures.
A user-friendly search tool that provides online access to hundreds of full-text reference ebooks (subject encyclopedias, handbooks, dictionaries) from the world's best publishers. Covers all subjects.
The initial focus of Ancient Greek Agriculture is firmly on the art of agriculture proper, the tools and the technique, the plants cultivated and the animals reared. Thereafter, the authors focus on the position of agriculture in the society of gods and men in the Greek city-states .
The author shows how locomotives work and how they were developed -- from the gargantuan beam engines condensing low-pressure steam inside enormous cylinders to the small, high-pressure-driven engines of the maverick miner Trevithick. He adapted the engines to power road carriages, but atrocious roads led him to build an engine that could run on rails.
A book centring on late Anglo-Saxon and Anglo-Norman canals may come as a surprise; it is generally assumed that no such things existed. Persuasive evidence has, however, been unearthed independently by several scholars, and has stimulated this first serious study of improved waterways in England between the eleventh and fourteenth centuries.
From the medieval farm implements used by the first colonists to the invisible links of the Internet, the history of technology in America is a history of society as well. Arguing that "the tools and processes we use are a part of our lives, not simply instruments of our purpose," historian Carroll Pursell analyzes technology's impact on the lives of women and men, on their work, politics, and social relationships.
From reed boats, papyrus, and amulets, to pyramids, pharaohs, and mummies, this book explores the fascinating lives of ancient Egyptians through more than 25 hands-on building projects and activities. Experience how the ancient Egyptians lived, cooked, worked, worshiped, and more.
The author provides a new perspective on archaeological studies of the urban and agricultural water supply and distribution systems of the major ancient civilizations of South America, the Middle East, and South-East Asia, by using modern computer analysis methods to extract the true hydraulic/hydrological knowledge base available to these peoples.
The authors identify two great scientific traditions: the useful sciences, patronized by the state from the dawn of civilization, and scientific theorizing, initiated by the ancient Greeks. They find that scientific traditions took root in China, India, and Central and South America, as well as in a series of Near Eastern empires, during late antiquity and the Middle Ages.
This title offers a comprehensive history of brewing in Holland from the beginnings of large scale production at the end of the first millennium through medieval expansion, the boom of the Renaissance, and the disastrous decline of the 17th and 18th centuries.
An in-depth examination of the oldest engineering process, The History of Grinding begins at the start of agriculture and outlines how size reduction developed over the centuries. Great technical achievements have led to the machines of today, which can grind solid particles at the rate of tens of thousands of tons per day.
A collaborative study of the uses of water and the technologies employed to use it in medieval Europe. Experts on different areas of water use and of the European continent contribute separate studies to it so as to produce the first comprehensive survey of the techniques people used to harness, and defend themselves from, water in western Christendom between 500 and 1500.