Find Articles - History 152 - World History II (Patterson) - Research Guides at Honolulu Community College

Online Articles (Research Databases)

Before you Google, begin your research with the library's subscription databases. These databases will help you locate full text journal, magazine, and newspaper articles as well as maps, images, and primary source documents. Each database contains different journals, so you will get different results in each. If you don't find an article that interests you in one database, try another. Read the description of the database to help you decide which ones to use. It is highly recommended that JSTOR and Academic Search Complete are used in addition to other databases.

*If you access the databases from off campus, you will be prompted to log in with your UH username & password.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Archival journal and book collections include more than 2,000 journals and 7,000 books in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. JSTOR offers 15 Arts & Sciences collections that span 60 disciplines, and the Life Science Collection comprises more than 160 journals in the field sciences, and broad coverage of the health sciences.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Research across all subject areas from more than 9,000 full text journals; over 13,800 indexed & abstracted journals. Selected PDF content dating back as far as 1887. Updated daily.
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) This link opens in a new window
DOAJ is an online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, scholarly peer-reviewed journals.
Religion & Philosophy Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides extensive coverage of such topics as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy.
Science Direct This link opens in a new window
Selected full-text scholarly journal titles available from the following subject collections: business, management, accounting; earth/planetary sciences; health sciences; physics and astronomy; and agricultural and biological sciences.
Issues & Controversies This link opens in a new window
This database presents extensive, objective, and comprehensive coverage of today's hot-button issues—a credible resource that provides current context for research papers, debate preparation, and persuasive writing assignments.

History Reference Center

History Reference Source This link opens in a new window
Full text from more than 1,620 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books, cover to cover full text for more than 150 leading history periodicals, nearly 57,000 historical documents, and more than 78,000 biographies of historical figures.

Search Tips

DO NOT type sentences into search boxes. Use words or phrases (see examples below)

AND, OR, NOT: use to narrow or broaden your search

cyber bullying AND suicide (results have all words - narrow)
natural disasters NOT hurricanes (results exclude word after NOT - narrow)
“BP oil spill” OR “Deepwater Horizon oil spill” (results have either concept - broaden)

(*): use to broaden your search or find similar forms of words

Hawaii* = Hawaii, Hawaiian, Hawaiians

“”: use to search for phrases or words you want to appear together in your results

“freedom of speech” or “origin of life”

Try using the Advanced Search, you'll have more options.

Limit documents to FULL TEXT when available.

History 152 - World History II (Patterson): Find Articles

Online Articles (Research Databases)

History Reference Center

Search Tips