Research Guides: ECED 115 Health, Safety & Nutrition for the Young Child: BOOKS

NEW BOOKS

Kid Food: The Challenge of Feeding Children in a Highly Processed World by Bettina Elias Siegel
Call Number: RJ206 .S57 2019
It has never been so difficult to raise a healthy eater in America. Along with the picky eating and public tantrums that have forever tested the limits of parental patience, today's parents also fend off sophisticated assaults from outside their kitchens: unhealthy food-marketing campaigns aimed at kids; misleading product labels aimed at parents; and a school-food program so starved for cash that it sells name-brand junk food to grade school students. In Kid Food, nationally recognized food writer Bettina Elias Siegel (New York Times, The Lunch Tray) explores the cultural delusions and industry deceptions that have made it all but impossible to raise a healthy eater in America.

Unlatched: The Evolution of Breastfeeding and the Making of a Controversy
Call Number: RJ216 .G687 2016
Since the rise of artificial formula, we have turned a biological process into a never-ending controversy: A mother breastfeeding her three-year-old son on the cover of Time magazine sets off a firestorm...Unlatched uncovers astonishing cultural, corporate, political, and technological factors at the heart of our contemporary breastfeeding disconnection.

Food Forensics: The Hidden Toxins Lurking in Your Food and How You Can Avoid Them for Lifelong Health
Call Number: RA784 .A33 2016
Through incredible high-resolution microscope images, Food Forensics shows us what we can't see on our own and test levels of lead, arsenic, cadmium, mercury, and more in common foods and additives, from cereals, soups, and other pre-packaged meals to fast food and medicinal herbs. Adams's tests reveal the differences between organic and non-organic foods, GMO and non-GMO certified foods, and more...

Let Them Eat Dirt: Saving Your Child from an Oversanitized World
Call Number: QR46 .F56 2016
In the two hundred years since we discovered that microbes cause infectious diseases, we've battled to keep them at bay. But a recent explosion of scientific knowledge has led to undeniable evidence that early exposure to these organisms is beneficial to a child's well-being. The authors explain how the trillions of microbes that live in and on our bodies influence childhood development; why an imbalance of those microbes can lead to obesity, diabetes, and asthma, among other chronic conditions; and what parents can do--from conception on--to positively affect their own behaviors and those of their children.

Co-Sleeping: Parents, Children, and Musical Beds
Call Number: BF723.S45 S74 2017
Co-sleeping - parents and children sharing a bed - can be a fraught topic for parents. Some experts recommend parents never bring children into bed with them, while other experts extol the benefits of parents and children sharing a sleep space. Given the importance of sleep to our well-being, the topic can generate such strong feelings...

Vaccines: What Everyone Needs to Know by Kristen A. Feemster
Call Number: RA638 .F44 2018
This book offers a scientifically grounded overview of the science, manufacture, and culture of vaccines in the United States and internationally. Aiming to offer an unbiased resource on this hotly debated subject, it provides accessible, authoritative overviews...

Library Search

Library Search
Discover Books, Articles, & More

Remember to sign in using your UH login if using library resources off-campus. Forgot username or password?

BOOKS AVAILABLE ON THE SHELF

Kids in the Syndrome Mix of ADHD, LD, Autism Spectrum, Tourette's, Anxiety, and More!
Call Number: RJ506.B44 K88 2014
The completely updated and expanded new edition of this well-established text incorporates DSM-5 changes as well as other new developments. The all-in-one guide covers the whole range of often co-existing neuro-behavioral disorders in children...
Flourishing with Food Allergies
Call Number: RC596 .A64 2008
20+ interviews with families and professionals that empower the reader with knowledge that will help them parent, treat, teach or care for a young child with food allergies.
Preventing Childhood Obesity in Early Care and Education Programs
Call Number: RJ399.C6 P743 2012
Preventing Childhood Obesity in Early Care and Education Programs is the new set of national standards describing evidence-based best practices in nutrition, physical activity, and screen time for early care and education programs.
Healthy Children, Healthy Lives: The Wellness Guide for Early Childhood Programs
Call Number: LB1140.5.H4 B47 2013
This series of checklists covers six components of wellness--nutrition and healthy eating habits; physical activity and fitness; emotional health and resilience; healthy care practices; safety and risk management; and leadership, management, and administration.
Rethinking Nutrition: Connecting Science and Practice in Early Childhood Settings
Call Number: RJ206 .R48 2010
This book provides information to help early childhood caregivers and educators meet and understand children's nutritional and developmental needs.
Screen Time: How Electronic Media...Affects Your Young Child
Call Number: HQ784.T4 G83 2012
Advocating a new approach to television and DVDs, the author focuses on infants to five-year-olds and goes beyond the headlines to explore what exactly is educational about educational media.
Promoting Positive Behavior: Guidance Strategies for Early Childhood Settings
Call Number: LB1060.2 .A33 2005
Written in an informal, accessible style, this practical book equips future teaching professionals to effectively support emotional well-being, reduce problem behavior, and enhance social competence in toddlers, pre-schoolers, and primary-grade children.
Challenging Behavior in Young Children: Understanding, Preventing, and Responding Effectively
Call Number: LB1060.2 .K35 2012
Award-winning writers Barbara Kaiser and Judy Sklar Rasminksy have penned the most up-to-date resource for pre- and in-service teachers struggling with the answers to understanding, preventing, and addressing challenging behavior in primary grades and in preschools or child care centers.
Me, You, Us: Social-emotional Learning in Preschool
Call Number: LB1072 .E67 2009
Social-emotional learning is key to every child's ability to manage feelings and to interact successfully with others. Early childhood educators say this skill set is as essential to school readiness as the academic learning areas.
Skills for Preschool Teachers
Call Number: LB1115 .B325 2012
The skills for working with young children are presented in 13 easily-readable, fact-filled chapters, each of which is based on one of the CDA "functional areas": safe, healthy, learning environment, physical, cognitive, communication, creative, self-concept, social, guidance, family, program management, and professionalism.
Unsmiling Faces: How Preschools Can Heal
Call Number: LB1117 .U57 2007
The first edition of this indispensable book set the standard for high-quality intervention and prevention programs in early childhood practice. emotional lives of the young children they serve.
Developmental Screening in Early Childhood
Call Number: LB1131 .M444 2005
This fifth edition covers the basics of screening used to identify which children may have learning problems or disabilities. Offers advice for selecting an appropriate screening instrument and for setting up a screening program.
Healthy Young Children: A Manual for Programs
Call Number: RJ102 .H43 2002
Written and reviewed by both health and early childhood professionals, this volume is used by early childhood programs to promote the health and safety of children, staff, and families.
Developmental Screening in Your Community
Call Number: RJ131 .B73 2013
This groundbreaking book helps your community establish an effective early detection system that's comprehensive and low-cost; encourages close collaboration among health, social service, and educational agencies; and meets each child's whole continuum of needs, from universal screening to community services.

Beginning your research - definitions and topics simply explained

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Search across hundreds of reference ebooks. This collection includes 3 million entries from notable subject encyclopedias, handbooks, guides, companions and readers covering over 80 major subject disciplines and more than 6 million research concepts. Training Materials

Ebooks from Ebook Central

Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
The Academic Complete collection contains over 70,000 ebooks from 16 key subject areas. All ebooks are readable online from a single easy-to-use interface & download ebrary content onto various devices.

*If you access e-books from off-campus, you will need to login with you UH username and password.
Options include downloading a chapter, a range of pages or the full ebook. How-To Videos