New Books in the Library 2017: Week of March 20

Nordic runes--the runes of Elder Futhark--comprise a potent and profoundly transformative divination system that gives us access to the ancient wisdom tradition of Northern European cultures. These runes have deep resonances within the Northern pagan world of gods and goddesses, giants, dwarves, warriors, and wizards, which have greatly influenced the work of J. R. R. Tolkien, among others.

Tells the story of how modernity emerged on the shores of the North Sea, uncovering a lost history of a thousand years rife with saints, spies, pirates, philosophers, artists, and intellectuals.

The author presents the history of the Viking world, including their explorations and established trading networks, as well as the Viking figures of Leif the Lucky, Ragnar Lodbrok, Eric Bloodaxe and Harald Hardrada.

Drawing on a wealth of written, visual, and archaeological evidence, Anders Winroth captures the innovation and pure daring of the Vikings without glossing over their destructive heritage. He not only explains the Viking attacks, but also looks at Viking endeavors in commerce, politics, discovery, and colonization, and reveals how Viking arts, literature, and religious thought evolved in ways unequaled in the rest of Europe.

Though infamous for their pirating and raiding, active Vikings were actually only a tiny fraction of the total Scandinavian population during the so-called Viking Age. This exploration of their culture goes beyond the myths into the prosaic realities and intimate details of family life; their attitude toward the more vulnerable members of society; their famed longships and extensive travels; and the role they played in the greater community. In addition to images and maps, a timeline lays out Viking history.

Viking marauders in their longships burst through the defences of ninth-century Europe, striking terror into the hearts of peasants and rulers alike for two centuries. But the Vikings were more than just marine warriors and this atlas shows their development as traders and craftsmen, explorers, settlers and mercenaries.

125 permission-free designs, taken from Celtic and Old Norse sources. Designs include birds, human figures, and mythological creatures, adapted from artwork found on ancient rune stones, religious symbols, furniture, manuscripts, mirrors, sword hilts, cooking utensils, and other artifacts.

This compilation features more than 175 dynamic, royalty-free motifs in a wide range of styles. Derived from the metalwork, woodwork, textiles, carvings, and ceramics of the Viking homelands of Norway, Denmark, and Sweden, they include sinuously intertwined patterns, mythological animals, dragon-slaying heroes on horseback, and many other striking images.

An illustrated lifestyle cookbook on the Swedish tradition of fika--a twice-daily coffee break--including recipes for traditional baked goods, information and anecdotes about Swedish coffee culture, and the roots and modern incarnations of this cherished custom.

*2016 James Beard Award nominee* Bringing the best of Scandinavian home-cooking into your kitchen, this cookbook offers over 100 delicious recipes that showcase this region's most beloved sweet and savory dishes.

The author brings to life the cuisines and customs of Norway, Sweden, Finland, and Denmark in this cookbook of authentic Scandinavian cooking.

The age-old legends and tales of Nordic mythology are a common heritage of German, Scandinavian, and Anglo-Saxon peoples. This very readable collection features a rich selection of these time-honored stories, retold in simple dramatic fashion by noted Irish author Padraic Colum.

Here are thirty-two classic myths that bring the Viking world vividly to life. The mythic legacy of the Scandinavians includes a cycle of stories filled with magnificent images from pre-Christian Europe. Gods, humans, and monstrous beasts engage in prodigious drinking bouts, contests of strength, greedy schemes for gold, and lusty encounters.

Norse Mythology explores the magical myths and legends of Norway, Sweden, Denmark, Iceland and Viking-Age Greenland--outlining along the way the prehistoric tales and beliefs from these regions that have remained embedded in the imagination of the world.

Classic stories and dazzling illustrations of gods, goddesses, heroes and monsters come to life in a stunning tableau of Norse myths, including those of the thunder god Thor, the one-eyed god and Allfather Odin, and the trickster god Loki. The lyrical storytelling of award-winning author Donna Jo Napoli dramatizes the timeless tales of ancient Scandinavia.

John Bauer's original, evocative illustrations bring these classic Swedish folk tales to life. This collection comprises 29 stories...

A Penguin Classics Deluxe Edition of Hans Christian Andersen's famous tales, from award-winning translator Tiina Nunnally Hans Christian Andersen was the profoundly imaginative writer and storyteller who revolutionized literature for children.

On the bicentennial of Hans Christian Andersen's birth, this collection takes Andersen out of the nursery and places him squarely in the literary pantheon. While Andersen's tales continue to seize the imagination with their singular blend of simplicity, eccentricity, and charm, English-language readers have until now had to content themselves with inaccurate retellings and inadequate translations.

His autobiography also provides insights into the sources of many of his most famous tales. This highly readable and revealing account of the inner and public life of a literary genius will appeal to anyone who ever delighted in Andersen's fairy tales.

These Scandinavian fairy tales have had many interpretations through the years, but never have they been so beautifully illustrated as in this sumptuous edition.

Selfish and lazy, fourteen-year-old Nils learns kindness and wisdom after he is bewitched into an elf-sized boy and carried off by a barnyard goose to join the migration of wild geese across Sweden to Lapland.

An enticing, newly illustrated collection of the enduringly popular Pippi stories. The collection is an ideal introduction for anyone discovering Pippi for the first time, while confirmed fans will enjoy revisiting their favorite episodes and recalling some they've forgotten.

Let the beloved author of Pippi Longstocking take you on an adventure to Noisy Village!

Read the book that inspired Studio Ghibli's series, Ronja the Robber's Daughter! A thrilling adventure crafted by the author of Pippi Longstocking.

This beautifully illustrated collection of Andersen's best-loved fairy tales includes The Little Mermaid, The Snow Queen, Thumbelina, The Princess and the Pea and The Emperor's New Clothes.

The beloved tale of The Little Mermaid is faithfully reproduced in this new edition of Hans Christian Anderson's classic. Original art by critically acclaimed New York Times bestselling illustrator Charles Santore is masterfully reproduced using the most advanced technology to bring these breathtaking illustrations to life like never before.

A little sea princess, longing to be human, trades her mermaid's tail for legs, hoping to win a prince's love and earn an immortal soul for herself.

The strength of a little girl's love enables her to overcome many obstacles and free a boy, her beloved friend, from the Snow Queen's spell.

John Albert Bauer (4 June 1882 - 20 November 1918) was a Swedish painter and illustrator. His work is concerned with landscape and mythology, but he also composed portraits. He is best known for his illustrations of early editions of Bland tomtar och troll (Among Gnomes and Trolls), an anthology of Swedish folklore and fairy tales.

The world is full of breathtaking images, just waiting to happen. How to Shoot Everything shows you how to approach thrilling subjects and get the picture-perfect shot you're after. With 40+ chapters on subjects such as fashion, floral, concert, photojournalism, and aerial photography, this books helps you approach every subject on your bucket list and translate your vision into beautifully composed, technically sound images that you'll want to share again and again.

***A National Book Critics Circle Award Finalist, Nonfiction*** Countless books have been written about the civil rights movement, but far less attention has been paid to what happened after the dramatic passage of the Voting Rights Act in 1965 and the turbulent forces it unleashed. In this groundbreaking narrative history, Ari Berman charts both the transformation of American democracy under the VRA and the counterrevolution that has sought to limit it from the moment the act was signed into law.

Pele in therapy, Maui as superhero. The cannibal king O'ahu Nui in a world of shady deals and political corruption. The star-crossed naupaka lovers as Honolulu high-school sweethearts. In this one-of-a-kind anthology, old meets new as Hawaihi's best writers present favourite myths and legends in surprising contemporary settings. Here are 17 tales of old Hawari-lovingly reimagined and retold for the 21st century.