It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Provides a comprehensive overview of same-sex relations from ancient China and Greece to the contemporary world. Covers the gay rights movement, legal issues, and and court decisions. Includes a chronology, bibliography, and cross-referenced dictionary entries on specific countries and regions, influential historical figures, laws, historical terms, and contemporary events and legal decisions.
Who do we love? Who loves us? And why? Is love really a mystery, or can neuroscience offer some answers to these age-old questions? Based on recent studies and articles culled from the prestigious Scientific American and Scientific American Mind magazines, The Scientific American Book of Love, Sex, and the Brain offers a fascinating look at how the brain controls our loving relationships, most intimate moments, and our deep and basic need for connection.
In this innovative celebration of diversity and affirmation of individuality in animals and humans, Joan Roughgarden challenges accepted wisdom about gender identity and sexual orientation. She leads the reader through a fascinating discussion of diversity in gender and sexuality among fish, reptiles, amphibians, birds, and mammals, including primates. Evolution's Rainbow explains how this diversity develops from the action of genes and hormones and how people come to differ from each other in all aspects of body and behavior.
Sexual orientation and gender identity are separate, distinct parts of people's overall identity. Equality and freedom from discrimination are human rights belonging to all people, however, lesbian, gay, bisexual, trans, gender diverse, and intersex (LGBTI) people experience harassment and hostility in many areas of everyday life. This book explores issues involving sexual orientation, gender diversity, and intersex status; and explains what equality means for people who are often subjected to misunderstanding and homophobia.
On September 3, 1971, Michael McConnell and Jack Baker exchanged vows in the first legal same-sex wedding in the United States. Their story, and their long campaign for marriage equality and insistence on equal rights for all citizens, is told here for the first time.
The Right to be Parents provides a detailed history of how LGBT parents have turned to the courts to protect and defend their relationships with their children. Carlos A. Ball chronicles the stories of LGBT parents who, in seeking to gain legal recognition of and protection for their relationships with their children, have fundamentally changed how American law defines and regulates parenthood. With the efforts of these pioneering LGBT parents, the law increasingly recognizes the wide diversity in American familial structures.
This report examines the health status of LGBT populations at three life stages: childhood and adolescence, early/middle adulthood, and later adulthood. At each life stage, the Committee studied mental health, physical health, risks and protective factors, health services, and contextual influences.
Covering American transgender history from the mid-twentieth century to today, "Transgender History" takes a chronological approach to the subject of transgender history, with each chapter covering major movements, writings, and events.
For much of the 20th century, American gays and lesbians lived in fear that public exposure of their sexualities might cause them to be fired, blackmailed, or even arrested. Today, they are enjoying an unprecedented number of legal rights and protections. Wwhat caused this enormous change?
Presents the history of the gay and liberation movements through a cross-referenced dictionary with over 1000 entries on specific countries and regions, influential historical figures, laws that criminalized same-sex sexuality, historical terms, and contemporary events and legal decisions. Includes a comprehensive chronology and bibliography.
What is lesbian and gay studies? When did it emerge? And what are its achievements and research agenda? The gay and lesbian movement has emerged as a major political and cultural force. It poses a series of far reaching questions about the organization of identity, the operation of power, and the limits of tolerance.
What causes a child to grow up gay or straight? In this book, neuroscientist Simon LeVay summarizes a wealth of scientific evidence that points to one inescapable conclusion: sexual orientation results primarily from an interaction between genes, sex hormones, and the cells of the developing body and brain.
Lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender people face the same family issues as their heterosexual counterparts, but that is only the beginning of their struggle. The LGBT community also encounters legal barriers to government recognition of their same-sex relationships and relationships to their own children. This book addresses partner recognition, parenting, issues affecting children of LGBT parents, health care, discrimination, senior care and elder rights, and equal access to social services.
In 1992, Julie Tarney's only child, Harry, told her, "Inside my head I'm a girl." He was two years old. Julie had no idea what that meant. She felt disoriented. Could she do the right thing? What was the right thing?
Presents the stories of more than 30 Americans who identify as transgender. They range in age from 15 to 72; come from 25 different states and a wide array of racial, religious, and socioeconomic backgrounds; and identify across a vast spectrum of genders and sexualities.
Using interviews with openly gay and closeted team-sport athletes, Eric Anderson examines how homophobia is reproduced in sport, how gay male athletes navigate this, and how American masculinity is changing.
Richard Mohr assesses the logic and ethics of gay rights, fcusing on ideas and values. He applies ethical principles to issues such as same-sex marriage, AIDS, and gays in the military. He also shows how the struggle for gay rights and acceptance relates to mainstream American society, history, and political life.