Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Honolulu Community College Library
Current issues of magazines are displayed on the 1st floor.
Back issues may be requested at the Circulation Counter.
See the Serials List for more information.
CQ Researcher offers topical reports on current issues. The reports are researched and written by experienced journalists and provide timeline, background information, pro-con discussions, and descriptions of the current situation.
Suggested CQ Researcher reports:
LGBTQA Student Services Office, University of Vermont
SIRS Knowledge Source
SIRS Knowledge Source (SKS) includes 4 databases: SIRS Issues Researcher, SIRS Government Reporter, SIRS Renaissance, and SIRS WebSelect. All of the articles are full-text. Photos, maps, and links to websites are also available.
For example, try hese SIRS topics:
Academic Search Complete
Research across all subject areas from more than 9,000 full text journals; over 13,800 indexed & abstracted journals. Selected PDF content dating back as far as 1887. Updated daily.
Consumer Health Complete
Covers all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to complementary, holistic and integrated medicine.
Contains full text for more than 250 of the world's most respected, scholarly law journals. Legal Collection is an authoritative source for information on current issues, studies, thoughts and trends of the legal world.
Newspaper Source Plus
Access to more than 860 full-text newspapers, providing more than 35 million full-text articles. In addition, the database features more than 857,000 television and radio news transcripts.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection
This database covers information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods. Access to over 500 full-text journals.
ProQuest Honolulu Newspapers
Find articles from Honolulu's newspapers.
Full text access to three of Honolulu's local newspapers (past & present):
Coverage - Honolulu Star-Advertiser: June 7, 2010 - present;
Honolulu Advertiser: November 30, 2002 - May 15, 2010;
Honolulu Star-Bulletin: March 18, 1996 - June 6, 2010.
Nov. 13, 2013 - Deb Cohn and Eileen McKee celebrated with State Senator Rosalyn Baker after Governor Abercrombie signed the bill granting gay and lesbian couples in Hawai‘i the right to marry.
Photo by Craig T. Kojima.
DePledge, Derrick. "Governor Signs Landmark Law'." Honolulu Star-Advertiser. 14 Nov. 2013. ProQuest.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Opposing Viewpoints in Context (OVIC) covers current, often-controversial topics. It contains different viewpoints on issues, pro-con debates, news, articles, and overview information. In addition, there may be graphics, statistics, primary source documents, and biographies. OVIC includes many essays from the Opposing Viewpoints books from Greenhaven Press.
For example, see these issues:
Tim Meyer, Mark Funk, and their three sons
Gale General OneFile
A large general-interest database covering most subject areas with more than 12,000 titles. Includes full-text articles to over 7,100 magazines, journals, and newspapers. Coverage: 1980-present
Academic OneFile Select
Covers a combination of full-text scholarly journals and select general interest titles, everything from art and literature to economics and the sciences.
Gale OneFile: Gender Studies
Provides balanced coverage of this significant aspect of culture and society. The database offers access to scholarly journals and magazines covering topics including gender studies, family and marital issues, and more.
Gale OneFile: Health & Medicine
Provides access to medical and professional periodicals, health and fitness magazines, and reference books and pamphlets. The database is designed for both nursing and allied health students as well as consumer health researchers.
Gale OneFile: LegalTrac
Students, law school faculty and legal researchers will all find the legal publications they need in LegalTrac®. Drawing on a wide variety of the most highly regarded legal publications.
Gale OneFile: Psychology
Provides access to academic journals and magazines that cover the study of emotions, personality, and the human mind. The database offers content of interest to both researchers and general users.
874 Dillingham Boulevard, Honolulu, HI 96817
Email: email@example.com Web: http://honolulu.hawaii.edu/library