Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Honolulu Community College Library
Search for news articles, scholarly journal articles, and reports related to specific diseases.
The databases will provide you with citations, but not all have the option for Vancouver Style. Copy one of the available citations and then edit according to Vancouver Style, using the Vancouver Style Guide for assistance.
Research Databases *Recommended for Finding Articles*
Before you Google, begin your research with the library's databases. These databases will help you locate reports and journal, magazine and newspaper articles.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Research across all subject areas from more than 9,000 full text journals; over 13,800 indexed & abstracted journals. Selected PDF content dating back as far as 1887. Updated daily.
MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
Provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more.
PubMed Central This link opens in a new window
A free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).
AGRICOLA This link opens in a new window
Containing bibliographic records from the U.S. Department of Agriculture's National Agricultural Library, this source provides access to millions of citations. The citations are comprised of journal articles, book chapters, theses and much more, all relating to the field of agriculture.
Science Direct This link opens in a new window
Selected full-text scholarly journal titles available from the following subject collections: business, management, accounting; earth/planetary sciences; health sciences; physics and astronomy; and agricultural and biological sciences.
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) This link opens in a new window
DOAJ is an online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, scholarly peer-reviewed journals.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Content includes topics on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. Indexing and abstracts for more than 384,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,700 records.
- DO NOT type sentences into search boxes. Use words or phrases (see examples below)
- AND, OR, NOT: use to narrow or broaden your search
- cyber bullying AND suicide (results have all words - narrow)
- natural disasters NOT hurricanes (results exclude word after NOT - narrow)
- “BP oil spill” OR “Deepwater Horizon oil spill” (results have either concept - broaden)
- (*): use to broaden your search or find similar forms of words
- Hawaii* = Hawaii, Hawaiian, Hawaiians
- “”: use to search for phrases or words you want to appear together in your results
- “freedom of speech” or “origin of life”
- Try using the Advanced Search, you'll have more options.
- Limit documents to FULL TEXT when available.
874 Dillingham Boulevard, Honolulu, HI 96817
Email: email@example.com Web: http://honolulu.hawaii.edu/library