Microbiology: Books

The Atlas of Human Infectious Diseases provides a much needed practical and visual overview of the current distribution and determinants of major infectious diseases of humans. The comprehensive full-color maps show at a glance the areas with reported infections and outbreaks, and are accompanied by a concise summary of key information on the infectious agent and its clinical and epidemiological characteristics. Since infectious diseases are dynamic, the maps are presented in the context of a changing world, and how these changes are influencing the geographical distribution on human infections. This unique atlas: Contains more than 145 high quality full-color maps covering all major human infectious diseases Provides key information on the illustrated infectious diseases Has been compiled and reviewed by an editorial board of infectious disease experts from around the world The result is a concise atlas with a consistent format throughout, where material essential for understanding the global spatial distribution of infectious diseases has been thoughtfully assembled by international experts. Atlas of Human Infectious Diseases is an essential tool for infectious disease specialists, medical microbiologists, virologists, travel medicine specialists, and public health professionals. The Atlas of Human Infectious Diseases is accompanied by a FREE enhanced Wiley Desktop Edition - an interactive digital version of the book with downloadable images and text, highlighting and note-taking facilities, book-marking, cross-referencing, in-text searching, and linking to references and glossary terms.

The last four decades of human history have seen the emergence of an unprecedented number of 'new' infectious diseases: the familiar roll call includes AIDS, Ebola, H5N1 influenza, hantavirus, hepatitis E, Lassa fever, legionnaires' and Lyme diseases, Marburg fever, Rift Valley fever, SARS,and West Nile. The outbreaks range in scale from global pandemics that have brought death and misery to millions, through to self-limiting outbreaks of mainly local impact. Some outbreaks have erupted explosively but have already faded away; some grumble along or continue to devastate as nowpersistent features in the medical lexicon; in others, a huge potential threat hangs uncertainly and worryingly in the air. Some outbreaks are merely local, others are worldwide.This book looks at the epidemiological and geographical conditions which underpin disease emergence. What are the processes which lead to emergence? Why now in human history? Where do such diseases emerge and how do they spread or fail to spread around the globe? What is the armoury of surveillanceand control measures that may curb the impact of such diseases? But, uniquely, it sets these questions on the modern period of disease emergence in an historical context. First, it uses the historical record to set recent events against a much broader temporal canvas, finding emergence to be aconstant theme in disease history rather than one confined to recent decades. It concludes that it is the quantitative pace of emergence, rather than its intrinsic nature, that separates the present period from earlier centuries. Second, it looks at the spatial and ecological setting of emergence,using hundreds of specially-drawn maps to chart the source areas of new diseases and the pathways of their spread. The book is divided into three main sections: Part 1 looks at early disease emergence, Part 2 at the processes of disease emergence, and Part 3 at the future for emergentdiseases.

Essential Microbiology 2nd Edition is a fully revised comprehensive introductory text aimed at students taking a first course in the subject.  It provides an ideal entry into the world of microorganisms, considering all aspects of their biology (structure, metabolism, genetics), and illustrates the remarkable diversity of microbial life by devoting a chapter to each of the main taxonomic groupings. The second part of the book introduces the reader to aspects of applied microbiology, exploring the involvement of microorganisms in areas as diverse as food and drink production, genetic engineering, global recycling systems and infectious disease.   Essential Microbiology explains the key points of each topic but avoids overburdening the student with unnecessary detail. Now in full colour it makes extensive use of clear line diagrams to clarify sometimes difficult concepts or mechanisms. A companion web site includes further material including MCQs, enabling the student to assess their understanding of the main concepts that have been covered. This edition has been fully revised and updated to reflect the developments that have occurred in recent years and includes a completely new section devoted to medical microbiology.  Students of any life science degree course will find this a concise and valuable introduction to microbiology.

Compliant with CDC and WHO guidelines, this new A-to-Z reference provides an overview of 160 infectious diseases, from the common cold and otitis media to MRSA and other newer threats, including Bartonella quintana. Presented in a highly visual format, each disease is showcased in a two-page spread, formatted with consistent headings to make locating critical information easy. Headings include: #65533; Causes #65533; Complications #65533; Assessment Findings #65533; Diagnostic Tests #65533; Treatment #65533; Nursing Considerations