Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Honolulu Community College Library
Find Articles in Research Databases
Before you Google, begin your research with the library's subscription databases. These databases will help you locate full text journal, magazine, and newspaper articles as well as maps, images, and primary source documents.
History Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Access to academic journals, magazines, and book reviews. Full text from more than 1,620 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books, cover to cover full text for more than 150 leading history periodicals, nearly 57,000 historical documents, and more than 78,000 biographies of historical figures.
Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
Environment Complete is a leading full-text database for environmental studies. It provides hundreds of top environment journals and monographs covering agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, public policy, sustainability and other related subjects. It also includes millions of records and an environmental thesaurus.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Content includes topics on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. Indexing and abstracts for more than 384,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,700 records.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Archival journal collections include more than 2,000 journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. JSTOR offers 15 Arts & Sciences collections that span 60 disciplines, and the Life Science Collection comprises more than 160 journals in the field sciences, and broad coverage of the health sciences. [For calendar year 2022.]
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Research across all subject areas from more than 9,000 full text journals; over 13,800 indexed & abstracted journals. Selected PDF content dating back as far as 1887. Updated daily.
Science Direct This link opens in a new window
Selected full-text scholarly journal titles available from the following subject collections: earth/planetary sciences; health sciences; physics and astronomy; and agricultural and biological sciences.
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) This link opens in a new window
DOAJ is an online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, scholarly peer-reviewed journals.
Finding Background Information
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Search across hundreds of reference ebooks. This collection includes 3 million entries from notable subject encyclopedias, handbooks, guides, companions and readers covering over 80 major subject disciplines and more than 6 million research concepts. Training Materials
Britannica Academic This link opens in a new window
High quality encyclopedia articles, videos, audios, with related Web links, magazines, newspapers/news feeds, atlas, statistics & biographical information. Site also includes the Merriam-Webster Collegiate Dictionary and integrates with Image Quest.
- DO NOT type sentences into search boxes. Use words or phrases (see examples below)
- AND, OR, NOT: use to narrow or broaden your search
- cyber bullying AND suicide (results have all words - narrow)
- natural disasters NOT hurricanes (results exclude word after NOT - narrow)
- “BP oil spill” OR “Deepwater Horizon oil spill” (results have either concept - broaden)
- (*): use to broaden your search or find similar forms of words
- Hawaii* = Hawaii, Hawaiian, Hawaiians
- “ ”: use to search for phrases or words you want to appear together in your results
- “freedom of speech” or “origin of life”
- Try using the Advanced Search, you'll have more options.
874 Dillingham Boulevard, Honolulu, HI 96817
Email: firstname.lastname@example.org Web: http://honolulu.hawaii.edu/library