Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Honolulu Community College Library
FEATURED HAWAI'I PACIFIC TITLES
Pathway of the Birds: The Voyaging Achievements of Maori and Their Polynesian Ancestors by
Call Number: DU510 .C76 2018
This book tells of one of the most expansive and rapid phases of human migration in prehistory, a period during which Polynesians reached and settled nearly every archipelago scattered across some 28 million square kilometres of the Pacific Ocean, an area now known as East Polynesia. Through an engaging narrative and over 400 maps, diagrams, photographs, and illustrations, Crowe conveys some of the skills, innovation, resourcefulness, and courage of the people that drove this extraordinary feat of maritime expansion. In this masterful work, Andrew Crowe integrates a diversity of research and viewpoints in a format that is both accessible to the lay reader and required reading for any serious scholar of this fascinating region.
Queen Liliʻuokalani, the Dominis Family, and Washington Place, Their home by
Call Number: DU627.18 .W555 2015
This book starts with the personal story of Queen Liliʻuokalani, tells of her husband and his family, and finishes with the story of a great house that has always been an important social and political hub. There is much new information about the Queen- such as bio's of her three hanai children, her own comments about her husband and their marriage, her late life almost-romance, her always precarious financial situation, her ability to mix Hawaiian and western cultural and religious beliefs, her kindness and caring along side her unpleasant comments about people.
Paradoxes of Hawaiian Sovereignty by
Call Number: DU627.8 .K38 2018
In Paradoxes of Hawaiian Sovereignty J. Kēhaulani Kauanui examines contradictions of indigeneity and self-determination in U.S. domestic policy and international law. She theorizes paradoxes in the laws themselves and in nationalist assertions of Hawaiian Kingdom restoration and demands for U.S. deoccupation, which echo colonialist models of governance. Kauanui argues that Hawaiian elites' approaches to reforming and regulating land, gender, and sexuality in the early nineteenth century that paved the way for sovereign recognition of the kingdom complicate contemporary nationalist activism today, which too often includes disavowing the indigeneity of the Kanaka Maoli (Indigenous Hawaiian) people. Problematizing the ways the positing of the Hawaiian Kingdom's continued existence has been accompanied by a denial of U.S. settler colonialism, Kauanui considers possibilities for a decolonial approach to Hawaiian sovereignty that would address the privatization and capitalist development of land and the ongoing legacy of the imposition of heteropatriarchal modes of social relations.
Tatau: A History of Sāmoan Tattooing by
Call Number: GT2346.S35 M35 2018
Tatau is a beautifully designed and richly illustrated retelling of the unique and powerful history of Samoan tattooing, from 3,000 years ago to modern practices. The Samoan Islands are virtually unique in that tattooing has been continuously practiced with indigenous techniques: the full male tattoo, the pe'a has evolved in subtle ways in its design since the nineteenth century, but remains as elaborate, meaningful, and powerful as it ever was. This cultural history is the first publication to examine Samoan tatau from its earliest beginnings. Through a chronology rich with people, encounters, and events it describes how Samoan tattooing has been shaped by local and external forces of change over many centuries. It is richly illustrated with historical images of nineteenth and twentieth century Samoan tattooing, contemporary tattooing, diagrams of tattoo designs and motifs, and with supplementary photographs such as posters, ephemera, film stills and artefacts.
Nā Wāhine Koa: Hawaiian Women for Sovereignty and Demilitarization by
Call Number: HQ1236.5.U6 A43 2018
Documents the political lives of four wāhine koa (courageous women): Moanike'ala Akaka, Maxine Kahaulelio, Terrilee Keko'olani-Raymond, and Loretta Ritte, who are leaders in Hawaiian movements of aloha 'āina. They narrate the ways they came into activism and talk about what enabled them to sustain their involvement for more than four decades. All four of these warriors emerged as movement organizers in the 1970s, and each touched the Kaho'olawe struggle during this period. While their lives and political work took different paths in the ensuing decades--whether holding public office, organizing Hawaiian homesteaders, or building international demilitarization alliances--they all maintained strong commitments to Hawaiian and related broader causes for peace, justice, and environmental health into their golden years. They remain koa aloha 'āina--brave fighters driven by their love for their land and country.
Paintings, Prints, and Drawings of Hawai'i from the Sam and Mary Cooke Collection by
Call Number: N8214.5.U6 F68 2016
Sam and Mary Cooke have assembled at Kualii, their Manoa Valley home, a cultural treasure unsurpassed by any other private collection in the islands. This collection of paintings, drawings, and prints of the Hawaiian Islands uniquely reflects the kamaaina appreciation the Cookes have for various locales throughout the islands, including generations-long associations with people and places, and a love of legends and history. In this book, historian and bibliographer David W. Forbes presents a selection of the collection's finest works.
HAWAI'I PACIFIC COLLECTION
Making Micronesia: A Political Biography of Tosiwo Nakayama
Call Number: DU567 .H36 2014
This is the story of Tosiwo Nakayama, the first president of the Federated States of Micronesia (FSM). Born to a Japanese father and an island woman in 1931 on an atoll northwest of the main Chuuk Lagoon group, Nakayama grew up during Japan's colonial administration of greater Micronesia and later proved adept at adjusting to life in post-war Chuuk and under the American-administered Trust Territory of the Pacific Islands.
Filipinos in Hawaiʻi
Call Number: DU624.7.F4 G66 2011
Representing one-fifth of the state's workforce, Filipinos have been in Hawai'i for more than a century, turning the rough and raw materials of sugar and pineapple into billion-dollar commodities. This book traces a history from 1946--the last year that sakadas (plantation workers) were imported from the Philippines--to the centennial year of their settlement in Hawai'i.
Who You? Hawaii Issei
Call Number: DU624.7.J3 O3725 2018
"Who You?" For Japanese Americans of Hawaii, it is all about the Issei. On the journey to find identity they do not walk alone. The Issei walk with them. They will not lose their way. These stories that honor the Issei are shared by ...
The Archaeology of the Solomon Islands
Call Number: DU850 .W35 2017
This fascinating and very readable book is written for an archaeological audience but is also designed to be accessible to all readers interested in Pacific archaeology, anthropology, and history. Featuring more than a hundred maps and figures, Archaeology of the Solomon Islands represents a groundbreaking contribution to Pacific archaeology.
Speaking of Indigenous Politics: Conversations with Activists, Scholars, and Tribal Leaders by
Call Number: DU625 .N64 2010
On her radio program "Indigenous Politics", J. Kēhaulani Kauanui talked candidly and in an engaging way about how settler colonialism depends on erasing Native peoples and about how Native peoples can and do resist, bringing Indigenous activism to the mainstream. Collected here, these conversations speak with clear and compelling voices about a range of Indigenous politics that shape everyday life.
The Filipino Piecemeal Sugar Strike of 1924-1925 by
Call Number: HD5325.S852 1924 H3 1996
The 1924 Filipino sugar strike came as a shocking blow to Hawaii's self-image. The tragic deaths at Hanapepe were regarded as an anomaly in Hawaii's peaceful, idyllic image. Yet as Reinecke's research clearly indicates, the sugar industry was building to a climax in the 1920s.
Nā Wāhine Koa: Hawaiian Women for Sovereignty and Demilitarization
Call Number: HQ1236.5.U6 A43 2018
This book documents the political lives of four wāhine koa (courageous women): Moanike'ala Akaka, Maxine Kahaulelio, Terrilee Keko'olani-Raymond, and Loretta Ritte, who are leaders in Hawaiian movements of aloha 'āina. They narrate the ways they came into activism and talk about what enabled them to sustain their involvement for more than four decades.
Community Music in Oceania: Many Voices, One Horizon
Call Number: ML3774 .C66 2018
This makes a distinctive contribution to the field of community music through the experiences of its editors and contributors in music education, ethnomusicology, music therapy, and music performance.
Stars over Hawaii, 3rd Edition
Call Number: QB65 .B792 2015
Stars Over Hawai'i marries the knowledge of the masterful navigators and astronomers of ancient Hawai'i with today's astronomy experts to bring you an integrated view of Hawai'i's skies, past and present.
Living Pidgin: Contemplations on Pidgin Culture by
Call Number: PM7891.Z9 H395 2009
A collection of talks and concrete poems by Hawaii's "pidgin guerrilla," Lee Tonouchi. Included in the book are such essays as "Da State of Pidgin Address" and "That Pidgin Th-ang," which combine insight about Hawaiian Creole English (usually referred to as "pidgin") with Tonouchi's usual verve and wit.
NEW JUVENILE BOOK COLLECTION
The library received funding through Dean Keala Chock to purchase children's literature books in support of our Early Childhood Education Program. Please drop by to see our new juvenile collection.
The Autobiography of Malcolm X
Call Number: E185.97.L5 A3 1999
The story of Malcolm X, the man who became a leader of the Black Revolution, and of his assassination.
Killers of the Flower Moon by
Call Number: E99.O8 G675 2018
NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER. Presents a true account of the early twentieth-century murders of dozens of wealthy Osage and law-enforcement officials, citing the contributions and missteps of a fledgling FBI that eventually uncovered one of the most chilling conspiracies in American history.
We Were Eight Years in Power: An American Tradegy by
Call Number: E907 .C63 2017
In these "urgently relevant essays,"* the National Book Award-winning author of Between the World and Me "reflects on race, Barack Obama's presidency and its jarring aftermath"--including the election of Donald Trump.
Rebel Threads: Clothing of the Bad, Beautiful & Misunderstood by
Call Number: GT596 .B874 2017
Featuring over 1300 examples of rare vintage clothing, from the swing, counterculture and blank generation eras, detailed photographs and factual stories of the clothes origins, alongside many previously unseen fashion and film stills.
Hillbilly Elegy: A Memoir of a Family and Culture in Crisis by
Call Number: HD8073.V37 A3 2018
#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER. Hillbilly Elegy is a passionate and personal analysis of a culture in crisis--that of poor, white Americans. The disintegration of this group, a process that has been slowly occurring now for more than forty years...
Everyday Sexism by
Call Number: HQ1237 .B38 2016
In a culture that's driven by social media, women are using this online space to come together, share their stories and encourage a new generation to recognise the problems that women face. This book is a call to arms in a new wave of feminism, and it proves sexism is endemic - socially, politically and economically - but women won't stand for it.
Karen Tei Yamashita: Fictions of Magic and Memory
Call Number: PS3575.A44 Z74 2018
Karen Tei Yamashita's novels, essays, and performance scripts have garnered considerable praise from scholars and reviewers, and are taught not only in the United States but in at least half a dozen countries in Asia, South America, and Europe. Her work has been written about in numerous disciplines in the humanities and social sciences.
The Disappearing Spoon: And Other True Tales of Madness, Love, and the History of the World from the Periodic Table of the Elements by
Call Number: QD466 .K37 2011
Incredible stories of science, history, finance, mythology, the arts, medicine, and more, as told by the Periodic Table...masterfully fuses science with the classic lore of invention, investigation, and discovery...
The Philippines: A Natural History by
Call Number: QH187 .R44 2016
Celebrates the extraordinary beauty and diversity of the Philippines' over 7,000 islands. Richly descriptive of the archipelago's topography, climate, and oceanography, along with its tectonic and geological history, this book also profiles many of Philippines' protected areas--landscapes and seascapes designed to staunch the profound imprint of human activity that threatens the country's biodiversity.
Nodding Off: The Science of Sleep from Cradle to Grave by
Call Number: RA786 .G75 2018
In Nodding Off, renowned sleep researcher Alice Gregory explores every aspect of sleep, from the different stages of sleep and how our sleeping patterns change throughout our lives, to what happens when things go wrong and getting some shut-eye becomes more of a trial than a pleasure. Using cutting-edge findings in the field...
You Have the Right to Remain Fat by
Call Number: RC628 .T683 2018
In concise and candid language, Virgie Tovar delves into unlearning fat phobia, dismantling sexist notions of fashion, and how to reject diet culture's greatest lie: that fat people need to wait before beginning their best lives.
The Case Against Sugar by
Call Number: RM237.85 .T38 2017
From the best-selling author of Why We Get Fat, a groundbreaking, eye-opening exposé that makes the convincing case that sugar is the tobacco of the new millennium: backed by powerful lobbies, entrenched in our lives, and making us very sick.
ANIME & MANGA
Interpreting Anime by
Call Number: NC1766.J3 B65 2018
For students, fans, and scholars alike, this wide-ranging primer on anime employs a panoply of critical approaches. Well-known through hit movies like Spirited Away, Akira, and Ghost in the Shell, anime has a long history spanning a wide range of directors, genres, and styles. Christopher Bolton's Interpreting Anime is a thoughtful, carefully organized introduction to Japanese animation...
Manga: An Anthology of Global and Cultural Perspectives by
Call Number: PN6710 .M26 2010
This book contains an important collection of essays by an international cast of scholars, experts and fans. It provides a one-stop resource for all those who want to learn more about Manga, as well as for anybody teaching a course on the subject. Once upon a time, one had to read Japanese in order to enjoy manga. Today manga has become a global phenomenon...
Manga! Manga! The World of Japanese Comics by
Call Number: PN6790.J32 S36 2012
Traces the history of the Japanese comics industry, describes the various manga genres, and introduces common themes and influential artists. It is virtually the bible' from which all studies and appreciation of manga begins.
874 Dillingham Boulevard, Honolulu, HI 96817
Email: firstname.lastname@example.org Web: http://honolulu.hawaii.edu/library