It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Social Work & Human Services: Find Books
Research assistance and library resources for students enrolled in the Human Services program. Social work related themes and issues covered.
*National Book Critics Circle Award Winner*
Acclaimed journalist Sam Quinones weaves together two tales of capitalism catastrophically run amok. The unfettered prescribing of pain medications during the 1990s reached its peak in Purdue Pharma's campaign to market OxyContin, its new, expensive--extremely addictive--miracle painkiller. Meanwhile, a massive influx of black tar heroin--cheap, potent, and originating from one small county on Mexico's west coast, independent of any drug cartel--assaulted small towns and midsize cities across the country, driven by a brilliant, almost unbeatable marketing and distribution system.
This compelling text explores family violence throughout the life course, from child abuse and neglect to intimate partner violence and elder abuse. Paying special attention to the social character and institutional causes of family violence, Hattery and Smith ask students to consider how social inequality, especially gender inequality, contributes to tensions and explosive tendencies in family settings. Students learn about individual preventative measures and are also invited to question the justice of our current social structure, with implications for social policy and reorganization. The second edition features a new chapter focusing on institutionalized violence affecting families of the military and police, as well as a discussion on sports and sexual abuse cases occurring on college campuses. Hattery and Smith also examine violence against women globally and relate this to violence in the United States. Unique coverage of same-sex and multicultural couples, as well as of theory and methods, make this text an essential element of any course considering the sociology of family violence.
Debunks the twenty-one most common myths and misperceptions about transgender issues. From Laverne Cox and Caitlyn Jenner to Thomas Beatie ("the pregnant man") and transgender youth, coverage of trans lives has been exploding--yet so much misinformation persists. Bringing together the medical, social, psychological, and political aspects of being trans in the United States today.
Should teens be tried as adults? Are adolescents different developmentally from adults? If under the age of 18 when convicted of crimes, should they get a second chance? In 2014, California passed Senate Bill 260, but most states continue to impose life sentences to juveniles, with no chance of parole. 
While the gravity of their crimes haunts every frame, these young men are still simply teenagers. Do they deserve a second change? The question is a societal conundrum beyond legislation and data. To their advocates, they're kids. To their critics, they're monsters.
Search across hundreds of reference ebooks. This collection includes 3 million entries from notable subject encyclopedias, handbooks, guides, companions and readers covering over 80 major subject disciplines and more than 6 million research concepts. Training Materials
Wise, honest, moving stories show how numerous other grandparents are surviving and thriving in their new roles. Updated throughout, and reflecting current laws and policies affecting families, the second edition features new discussions of kids' technology use and other timely issues.
Throughout, the book gauges the impact of the increasing number of single-parent families on the nation as a whole, particularly in regard to policies concerning family welfare, children's services and health care, schools, and other essential social institutions.
Who are the children of foster care? What, as a country, do we owe them? Cris Beam, a foster mother herself, spent five years immersed in the world of foster care looking into these questions and tracing firsthand stories.
Drawing on the author's experience working in the homeless community, this book presents some of their stories of loss, abuse, addiction, and marginalization through interviews, observations, and ethnographic research.
The author argues that all men have a role to play in preventing male violence against women. His basic assertion is that violence must be viewed as a social problem rooted in culture, not as the problem of troubled individuals. He urges men to directly confront the misogynistic attitudes and behavior of their peers.
A look at the parents and over two million children in the United States affected by current incarceration policy. [Arrest --- Sentencing --- Visiting --- Grandparents --- Foster care --- Reentry --- Legacy]
This book offers a perspective that recognizes differences over the long course of a family's interaction with the criminal justice system. Presenting an unparalleled view into the children's lives both before and after their mothers are imprisoned, this book reveals the many challenges they face from the moment such a critical caregiver is arrested to the time she returns home from prison.
Written in an engaging and accessible style this book and its innovative quality attempt’s to forge new models for practice which are relevant in changing contexts. This work is essential reading for students on qualifying and post-qualifying social work courses, as well as for practitioners.
Motivational interviewing (MI) offers powerful tools for helping social work clients draw on their strengths to make desired changes in their lives. This reader-friendly book introduces practitioners and students to MI and demonstrates how to integrate this evidence-based method into direct practice.
This crisp text, by one of social works most highly regarded commentators, offers the perfect entry point into the complex world of social work theory. Written in a clear conversational style and organized into short, clearly labelled chapters, students and practitioners will find this an invaluable point of refreshment and reference.
Written in an accessible style, this title introduces theory as an explanatory framework that is drawn upon by the social worker to inform their decision-making process, by helping to 'make sense' of what is going on.
The Academic Complete collection contains over 80,000 ebooks from 16 key subject areas. All ebooks are readable online from a single easy-to-use interface & download ebrary content onto various devices. There are hundreds of ebooks related to the field of social work.
Options include downloading a chapter, a range of pages or the full ebook. How-To Videos
This comprehensive model of detection, assessment, and intervention enables the practitioner first to identify the type of elder mistreatment, including physical, sexual, psychological, and financial. It then provides systematic and realistic interventions.
This is a practical and trans-disciplinary guide for professionals working with vulnerable adults, who include the frail elderly, those with mental health problems or physical disabilities, learning disabilities or serious physical illness.
This report summarizes the results of a study designed to describe the magnitude of military caregiving in the United States today, as well as to identify gaps in the array of programs, policies, and initiatives designed to support military caregivers.
This fully updated Reader provides a comprehensive review of recent research and legislation relating to domestic violence and its consequences for children, and identifies the implications for practice.
This book provides a comprehensive overview on what we know about drug abuse prevention and its effectiveness. Includes findings on the connection between low self-esteem and drug use, the role of schools, the reality of changing drug use in the population, and more.
Rethinking Domestic Violence reviews research in the area of intimate partner violence. The research crosses disciplinary lines, including social and clinical psychology, sociology, psychiatry, criminology, and criminal justice research.
Sexual orientation and gender identity are separate, distinct parts of people's overall identity. Equality and freedom from discrimination are human rights belonging to all people, however, lesbian, gay, bisexual, trans, gender diverse and intersex (LGBTI) people experience harassment and hostility in many areas of everyday life.
[Revised 2nd edition] This widely adopted text and practical guidebook presents the fundamentals of family-based intervention with clients struggling with chronic poverty-related crises and life stressors.
Revised and critically-acclaimed, this is an is essential work. The 400 articles in this four-volume set cover all aspects of social work. Topics include practice and interventions, social environments, social conditions and challenges, and social policy and history.
Provides comprehensive information on all of the various aspects of social work. Topics covered within the 146 chapters include crisis management, family therapy, treatment planning, disorders, case management, community services, and risk assessment.
This reference resource not only discusses many different kinds of crime--from perjury to terrorism--but also looks at law enforcement, legal procedures and penalties and the social causes and wide-ranging impact of crimes on society.
The coverage of the Encyclopedia is broad and diverse, encompassing the entire life span from infancy to old age. The entries include the traditional research areas, such as battered women, child abuse and dating violence.
Topics addressed include assault within marriage, courtship violence, abducted and runaway youth, violence against pregnant women, cyberspace violence, and sexual harassment of students and employees. This multivolume set promotes legislation to break the cycles of violence and dispels myths about victims and perpetrators.
Browse the Bookshelves
like to browse the bookshelves, some general call numbers to help you locate
books by broad popular topics are…
Social sciences. (general) – H
Social history and conditions. Social problems.
Social reform. – HN
The family. Marriage. Women. – HQ
Social pathology. Social & public welfare.
Criminology. – HV