Research Guides: Social Work & Human Services: Find Articles

Research Databases -- Find articles thru the library

Before you Google, try a library database!

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Research across all subject areas from more than 9,000 full text journals; over 13,800 indexed & abstracted journals. Selected PDF content dating back as far as 1887. Updated daily.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive database covering information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods. This is the world's largest full text psychology database offering full text coverage for nearly 400 journals.
Science Direct This link opens in a new window
Selected full-text scholarly journal titles available from the following subject collections: business, management, accounting; earth/planetary sciences; health sciences; physics and astronomy; and agricultural and biological sciences.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
This database provides 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Also featured are abstracts and indexing for nearly 850 journals.
Issues & Controversies This link opens in a new window
This database presents extensive, objective, and comprehensive coverage of today's hot-button issues—a credible resource that provides current context for research papers, debate preparation, and persuasive writing assignments.
Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
This database is the premier online resource covering today’s hottest social issues. Explore issues from all perspectives, including pro/con viewpoint essays, selected primary source documents, biographies, court case overviews, periodical articles, statistical tables, and more.
Honolulu Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Search for topics and articles in the local Honolulu newspapers.

MAGAZINE vs. JOURNAL -- What's the difference?

MAGAZINES	JOURNALS
Its purpose is to inform or entertain	Its aim is to report on scholarly research
Articles typically short in length	Longer articles with in-depth analysis
Written by a reporter, journalist, or staff writer	Written by a scholarly expert or specialist (credentials provided)
Articles are reviewed by editorial staff	Articles are peer-reviewed & critically evaluated by scholars
Little or no references are included as support	Sources are always cited in a formal bibliography
Slick & attractive in appearance with advertisements & glossy photos	Very structured format: abstract, methodology, literature review, results, conclusion. No frills.
Examples: Social Work Today, Psychology Today, National Geographic, Readers Digest	Examples: Social Service Review, New England Journal of Medicine, Harvard Business Review

Print Journals and Magazines

Print journal in the library...

Social Work Today - is a national newsmagazine committed to enhancing the entire social work profession by exploring its difficult issues, new challenges, and current successes.. [Current two issues are on display, previous issues held behind Circulation Counter]

OverDrive Ebooks & Digital Magazines This link opens in a new window
Browse, search, borrow and read ebooks and digital magazines through HonCC Library. Download the Libby app to read across all your mobile devices.