Research Guides: Hawaiian Literature Resources (HWST270): WEBSITES and more

Ethnographic Video Online - STREAMING VIDEOS

Ethnographic Video Online, Volume III This link opens in a new window
More than 660 streaming video titles that focus on indigenous perspectives and points of view. A comprehensive resource of documentaries, feature films and shorts made by and for indigenous people and communities. Primary content focus: Oceania, Australia, and New Zealand.

Then There Were None [26 mins]
More than half a million native Hawaiians were living in the islands at the time of European contact in 1778. Within 50 years, that population was cut in half as Western diseases claimed thousands of lives.
more...less...
A litany of events followed: American missionaries preached unfamiliar ideas and customs; sugarcane and pineapple plantations absorbed individual farmlands; waves of immigrant workers arrived, making Hawaiians a minority in their own land; and WWII brought a lasting military presence. University of Hawai'i sociologists estimate that the extinction of full-blooded Hawaiians could come within the next 45 years. To millions of travelers the world over, Hawai'i is an alluring picture postcard paradise. But to its Native Hawaiian people, nothing could be further from the truth. Their compelling story, of a race displaced and now on the verge of extinction, is brilliantly told in this award-winning documentary created by the great-granddaughter of Hawaiian high chiefs and English seafarers.
Holo Mai Pele: The Epic Hula Myth [54 mins]
Holo Mai Pele (Pele Travels) tells the epic saga of the rivalry between Pelehonuamea, goddess of the volcano, and her youngest and favorite sister Hi'iaka.
more...less...
The one-hour performance weaves together archetypal themes of creation, love, and betrayal into a sweeping dramatic performance. For the first time, a rare legacy of chants and dances as passed down through generations is presented by the Kumu Hula and performers of Halau o Kekuhi, in a stunning and exciting adaptation for PBS' Dance in America. Awards/Festivals: The Golden Eagle Award, CINE 2001, Aurora Awards Platinum Best of Show; 2002; Hawaii International Film Festival; Bishop Museum Hula Film Festival 2008.
The Land Has Eyes [1 hr, 27 mins]
Shamed by her village for being poor and the daughter of a convicted thief, Viki is inspired and haunted by the Warrior Woman from her island's mythology.
more...less...
The lush tropical beauty of Rotuma contrasts with the stifling conformity of island culture as Viki fights for justice, freedom, and the clearing of her father's name. This compelling narrative is the first of its kind to feature a predominantly Rotuman cast and contain dialogue spoken for the most part in the Rotuman language.
Keepers of the Flame: The Legacy of Three Hawaiian Women [57 mins]
This is the story of three extraordinary Hawaiian women who helped revive Hawaiian culture when it was perilously close to being lost.
more...less...
It was a time when the monarchy had been overthrown, the Hawaiian language banned from public places and schools, and the Hawaiian heartbeat of hula forced underground. Mary Kawena Pukui, ‘lolani Luahine and Edith Kanaka’ole combined commitment to Hawaiian history with art and aloha, to reignite the flame of tradition. Each planted seeds of the Hawaiian cultural renaissance. Kawena as a history and language expert, teacher and author, ‘lolani as a chanter, cultural icon and ‘high priestess of hula’ and Edith as a songwriter, teacher and founder of the traditional school of hula, Halau O Kekuhi. The lives of these three great women are described through heartfelt interviews with people who knew and were influenced by them, along with wonderful archival footage collected throughout the years.

Geography - Maps

AVA Konohiki - Land & Map Research
The location maps provided show the various land divisions of the Kingdom of Hawaii. These divisions were organized by Mokupuni (island), Moku (district), Ahupua'a, 'Ili and more.
The Early Mapping of Hawai'i
This Ulukau.com e-text is an overview of the history of mapping of Hawai'i from the time of European discovery in 1778 through the mid-19th century. This is not a definitive work on the subject.
Hawaii Maps, Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection
Includes city, state, island, and historic maps. Courtesy of the University of Texas at Austin. See also maps of Australia and the Pacific
Kipuka Database
OHA’s Kipuka Database is a geographical information system (GIS) that utilizes the latest mapping technologies to provide a window into native Hawaiian land, culture and history. The Map Database Project utilizes ArcGIS to display the data.
Land and Map Research (AVA Konohiki)
Online access to maps showing land divisions organized by Mokupuni (island), Moku (district), Ahupua'a, 'Ili and more. Information and data are still being added.
Old Maps Online
A web portal that allows users to search for historical maps available in digital form online. It indexes over 400.000 maps.
State of Hawaii, Land Survey Division
Provides access to historic maps across all islands including ahupuaa, homestead, fisheries, etc.
UH Manoa MAGIS - Hawai'i
Maps, Aerial Photographs, and GIS (MAGIS): holdings include more than 150,000 print maps and 100,000 aerial photo prints.
A Survey of Moloka‘i - The Maps and Photographs of John F.G. Stokes
John F.G. Stokes was a pioneer in the field of Hawaiian Archaeology. During the first decades of the 20th century, he travelled around the Hawaiian Islands and carried out extensive surveys, documenting cultural features, landscapes, and people with photography and mapping techniques.

Useful Internet Sites

Ulukau: The Hawaiian Electronic Library This link opens in a new window
This is an online bilingual library of Hawaiian language materials, which includes Hawaiian Dictionaries, Baibala Hemolele (The Hawaiian Bible), genealogy indexes and more. Full text of online books.

Literature of the Pacific (UH Manoa, Pacific Collection)
A guide to online and print sources related primarily to indigenous Pacific literature.
Link to UHM Pacific Subject Guides
Asia-Pacific Digital Library
Traditions of Oahu "presents stories of the this island before high-rises, freeways and hotels, before sugar plantations and pineapple fields, before churches and the Bible. The stories tell an ancient history of the island and of ancestors who created a society that valued and nurtured all forms of life and that bonded closely with the 'aina, or life-giving land." (Web content managed by KCC Library)
Bishop Museum, Library & Archives
The Library has one of the most extensive collections concerned with Hawai'i and the Pacific. Their holdings include books, periodicals, newspapers and special collections. They also provide high-quality copies of most photographs, artwork, manuscripts, maps, audiotapes, and videotapes.
Kamehameha Schools Archives
This site primarily provides historical information about Kamehameha Schools, however information from primary source documents is also supplied. Includes photographs, manuscripts, newspaper clippings, timelines, and access to the Polynesian Voyaging Society Archives.

Papakilo Database This link opens in a new window
The Office of Hawaiian Affairs’ (OHA’s) Papakilo Database consists of varied collections of data pertaining to historically and culturally significant places, events, and documents in Hawai'i’s history.

Hawaiian Legacy Foundation
Films noted on website are accessible through the library database: Ethnographic Video Online. Search by video titles.
ScholarSpace: University of Hawaii Press Publications
Selected open-access digital content from the UH Press. ScholarSpace stores the intellectual works and unique collections of the UH at Manoa academic community and also provides a permanent web location for those accessing these resources.
Huapala
Hawaiian Music and Hula Archives
Hawaiian Place Names = Inoa ʻāina (Ulukau.org)
The Hawaiian place names can be retrieved by word search, by browsing the collection, or by looking at the list of names.
more...less...
It is suggested that you first read the introduction, which explains the collection's purpose and method of construction, and also contains a wealth of information in its appendices.