Find Articles - History 296M - Asian American History (Matsumoto) - Research Guides at Honolulu Community College

Online Articles (Research Databases)

Before you Google, begin your research with the library's subscription databases. These databases will help you locate full text journal, magazine, and newspaper articles.

*If you access the databases from off campus, you will be prompted to log in with your UH username & password.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Archival journal and book collections include more than 2,000 journals and 7,000 books in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. JSTOR offers 15 Arts & Sciences collections that span 60 disciplines, and the Life Science Collection comprises more than 160 journals in the field sciences, and broad coverage of the health sciences.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Research across all subject areas from more than 9,000 full text journals; over 13,800 indexed & abstracted journals. Selected PDF content dating back as far as 1887. Updated daily.
Bishop Museum Publications This link opens in a new window
Articles and books from the Bishop Museum on topics about Hawaii.
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers This link opens in a new window
View newspaper pages from more than 20 states, including Hawaii. Coverage 1860-1922.
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) This link opens in a new window
DOAJ is an online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, scholarly peer-reviewed journals.
Hawaii Pacific Journal Index This link opens in a new window
HPJI is an index to articles about Hawaii and the Pacific, and to magazines and journals published in these areas. (Select "Hawaii Pacific Journal Index" from the Databases & Indexes menu.)
Honolulu Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Full text access to Honolulu's local newspaper. Coverage includes -
Honolulu Advertiser: November 30, 2002 - May 15, 2010
Honolulu Star-Bulletin: March 18, 1996 - June 6, 2010
Honolulu Star Advertiser: June 7, 2010 - present.
(Newspaper archives prior to the above dates are available in microfilm format within the library.)
Military & Government Collection This link opens in a new window
Designed to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government, this database provides full text for nearly 300 journals and periodicals.
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
Access to more than 860 full-text newspapers, providing more than 35 million full-text articles. In addition, the database features more than 857,000 television and radio news transcripts.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
This database covers information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods. Access to over 500 full-text journals.
Religion & Philosophy Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides extensive coverage of such topics as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy.
Science Direct This link opens in a new window
Selected full-text scholarly journal titles available from the following subject collections: business, management, accounting; earth/planetary sciences; health sciences; physics and astronomy; and agricultural and biological sciences.
Issues & Controversies This link opens in a new window
This database presents extensive, objective, and comprehensive coverage of today's hot-button issues—a credible resource that provides current context for research papers, debate preparation, and persuasive writing assignments.

History Reference Center

History Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Full text from more than 1,620 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books, cover to cover full text for more than 150 leading history periodicals, nearly 57,000 historical documents, and more than 78,000 biographies of historical figures.

Search Tips

DO NOT type sentences into search boxes. Use words or phrases (see examples below)

AND, OR, NOT: use to narrow or broaden your search

cyber bullying AND suicide (results have all words - narrow)
natural disasters NOT hurricanes (results exclude word after NOT - narrow)
“BP oil spill” OR “Deepwater Horizon oil spill” (results have either concept - broaden)

(*): use to broaden your search or find similar forms of words

Hawaii* = Hawaii, Hawaiian, Hawaiians

“”: use to search for phrases or words you want to appear together in your results

“freedom of speech” or “origin of life”

Try using the Advanced Search, you'll have more options.

Limit documents to FULL TEXT when available.

Magazines & Journals in the Library

American Heritage
Depicts US social, cultural, political, and military life past and present.

Previous issues at the Circulation Desk.
Partial full-text available through Academic Search Complete
American History
This magazine explores the rich texture of the American experience through engaging writing and outstanding photography and artwork.

Current issue on display in the library, previous issues at the Circulation Desk

8/1/1994-Present available online via Academic Search Complete
Current History
Provides a forum for leading scholars and specialists to analyze events and trends in every region of a rapidly changing world.

Current issue on display in the library, previous issues at the Circulation Desk
Not Available Online
National Geographic
The official journal of the National Geographic Society. Publishes articles on human society and culture around the world, exotic and endangered animals, modern explorations and adventures.

Current issue on display in the library, previous issues at the Circulation Desk
1/1/1995 to present (with a 3 Month delay) available online via Academic Search Premier
Pacific Historical Review
For over 70 years, the Pacific Historical Review has accurately and adeptly covered the history of American expansion to the Pacific and beyond, as well as the post-frontier developments of the 20th-century American West.

Current issue on display in the library, previous issues at the Circulation Desk
Not Available Online

History 296M - Asian American History (Matsumoto): Find Articles

Online Articles (Research Databases)

History Reference Center

Search Tips

Magazines & Journals in the Library